Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: suspend-to-ram & catalyst 10.7 work again ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    642

    Default suspend-to-ram & catalyst 10.7 work again ?

    Anyone tried catalyst 10.7 and whether it works again with suspend-to-ram ?

    for me it stopped working since >10.5 (10.4 worked on Arch, 10.1 worked on Gentoo)

    10.2-10.4 didn't work at all on Gentoo for me

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,674

    Default

    Can't you try it yourself?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Can't you try it yourself?
    I can and will try it out but since this is my production system which needs to be always working (including suspend-to-ram)

    this won't be too soon and in the weekend (probably not even the coming weekend)

    so I wanted to take a shortcut and see whether anybody else uses s3 and can report if it works or not - this would save me an additional un-masking, upgrading - testing and if it doesn't work - masking, downgrading

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    105

    Default

    I'm still having the same issues with suspend to ram that I have been having for the past two or three releases, what a pain in my ass

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,002

    Default

    Suspend-to-ram works fine here. The only issue I had the past release was that sometimes during resume the system started swapping heavily, thus making resume very slow. I haven't seen that yet with 10.7, but it's too early too tell.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    105

    Default

    my issues are that after resuming the system opengl doesn't work right...videos through the gl output stop working, I use cairo-dock with opengl and it slowly starts starts to freeze up, and eventually the whole desktop will freeze up

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    DG, IL, USA
    Posts
    213

    Default

    It's working OK here so far HD5770...
    I've experienced some opengl slowdown usually at 1st login on kde 4.5 rc2 composite enabled.. Opening the Desktop effects>Advanced and checking the Enable Direct Rendering box hit apply then Selecting return to previous config clears it up until my next log-out/reboot.
    Occasionally quitting a game will have the same effect.
    Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety,deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
    Ben Franklin 1755

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    642

    Default

    confirmed !

    it (suspend-to-ram) works here, too wtth catalyst 10.7

    both with openSUSE 11.3 x86_64 and Gentoo with an 2.6.35-zen kernel

    thanks for all of your help

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by monraaf View Post
    Suspend-to-ram works fine here. The only issue I had the past release was that sometimes during resume the system started swapping heavily, thus making resume very slow. I haven't seen that yet with 10.7, but it's too early too tell.
    The heavy swapping is still there. I just use "swapoff -a" before suspend.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    105

    Default

    really, no one else is having any opengl problems after you resume? When I resume, using the gl output for video just doesn't work, along with other things....I have been using ubuntu 10.04 with both generic kernel (2.6.32), and also the zen-stable 2.6.34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •