Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Open source "Radeon" driver: vsync, vblank_mode, tearing and (open)GL

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I think the default for the open source GL stack is sync-to-vblank disabled. There's a driconf utility to turn it on IIRC, are you using that ?

    Just going from memory here but I believe the default GL output option for mplayer still does quite a bit of processing on the CPU (eg colour space conversion aka CSC). There are sub-options to do CSC on the GPU as well, have you tried those ?
    Thank you for the suggestions. I've searched mplayer's man page and the 'online documentation' for the term "colorspace". The only thing I can find is a command line option "mplayer -vo gl:ati-hack" which does not work either.

    The utility you're talking about I think is "driconf". It generates a .drirc file in ~. I already adjusted the parameter "vblank_mode" from 0 to 1 as suggested on the 'net. Did not help. I'm still under the impression that the 'radeon' driver does not support vsync with GL.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,578

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Meneer Jansen View Post
    Code:
    do_wait: drmWaitVBlank returned -1, IRQs don't seem to be working correctly. Try adjusting the vblank_mode configuration parameter
    Sounds like open drivers with too old DRM. Might also want to move the question to open driver section of forum if this is really about them.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,578

    Default

    (specifically the most recent place I've seen that error with was r6xx/r7xx before agd5f implemented interrupts)

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,578

    Default

    ps. Dammit for the edit limit. This seems to be a problem with earlier chips, never mind that before. (Xpress 200M integrated graphics card)
    I really have no idea if interrupts should work with your setup or not.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default

    @nanonyme Thank you for your reply. I agree with you: I should move this question to the Open Drivers section. Unfortunately I don't know how to do this.

    About the remark about old DRM support. Does anybody know if this has been fixed (or ever will be)? And if so, in which 'radeon' driver version has it been fixed and how do I check my driver version.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,128

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Meneer Jansen View Post
    About the remark about old DRM support. Does anybody know if this has been fixed (or ever will be)? And if so, in which 'radeon' driver version has it been fixed and how do I check my driver version.
    No idea if this has been fixed but AFAIK you cannot get vsync without proper interrupt support. For what it's worth, vsync seems to work fine on my R500 card with the radeon driver (but obviously this doesn't mean anything, since you have a R300).

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Continued in the Open Source Drivers section (here) where this dis discussion belongs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •