Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 102

Thread: S3TC => r600{c,g}

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    122

    Default

    afaik, s3tc works in mesain two ways:

    1)rgb/rgba texture compressed with help of libtxc_dxtn and sent to gpu

    2) s3tc compressed texture sent to gpu

    so, why not just skip compression in first case, and change texture type to GL_RGB/RGBA

    in second case - decompress texture, chnage type and send to gpu

    so bye bye s3tc then

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    122

    Default

    by "bye bye" I mean - problem with s3tc supprot by specific card will be solved forever, not about patents

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whizse View Post
    The bad news is that S3TC isn't the only patented stuff in GL3:
    http://www.x.org/wiki/Events/XDC2009...OpenGL3andMesa
    Oh, speak of the devil... Luca Barbieri have implemented floating point textures and render targets, will be interested to see how the patent side of things will be handled.

    Of course also interesting since it's another large part of GL3 - and especially exciting for everyone who lusts after Unigine on free drivers

    http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive...st/002562.html

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,933

    Default

    Go OpenGL3 in Mesa, go go go!

  5. #45
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whizse View Post
    Interesting, except for NWN I have played all those games with S3TC enabled on r300g, and I never noticed anything screwed up.

    Is there a bug report open for this?
    I'm happy to say that I'm wrong. I don't know when this was resolved, but doom3 and ut2004 both ran just fine here with r300g + s3tc. Now I can only hope the same happens for r600 (classic or gallium) sometime soon.

    Adam

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,757

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adamk View Post
    I'm happy to say that I'm wrong. I don't know when this was resolved, but doom3 and ut2004 both ran just fine here with r300g + s3tc. Now I can only hope the same happens for r600 (classic or gallium) sometime soon.
    Wonder if it requires RE work.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,933

    Default

    Anyone tried Doom3 on r600c recently?

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat View Post
    Anyone tried Doom3 on r600c recently?
    Doom3:

    Intro movies : OK
    Menu : OK
    Hang after loading level.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RavFX View Post
    Doom3:

    Intro movies : OK
    Menu : OK
    Hang after loading level.
    If you are running recent/git kernel it could be -

    r600 CS parser fixes

    Which seems to regress doom3 demo and ut2004 demo (dies at nvidia ad that it starts with).

    It's a known issue on the mailing list.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Similiar error causes Heroes of Newerth to crash as well

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •