Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to support 1366x768 in mips bios?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default How to support 1366x768 in mips bios?

    I'm working on mips platform, our bios is called pmon, the display mode is set by call int10(port from XFree86 int10 module), but there isn't 1366x768 resolution in int10, i want to know how to support it in pmon easier, please help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    122

    Default

    if u want to do it via int10, then u will need to edit card's bios - http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/ind...owtopic=211294

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by netkas View Post
    if u want to do it via int10, then u will need to edit card's bios - http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/ind...owtopic=211294
    I can't add new mode Follow the link, it seems that it doesn't fit atombios, i find another way to add new mode, analyze the atombios, replace mode 1024x768 with 1366x768, i will try the new vbios tomorrow,
    hope it will be ok.

    Thanks all the same.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,566

    Default

    Is it a matter of "doesn't fit AtomBIOS" or "doesn't fit the hardware" ? IIRC the hardware likes the H resolution to be a multiple of something - 8 or 16 maybe. You might have more luck trying to set 1360x768, which is an integer multiple of both 8 and 16.

    I didn't see any mention of AtomBIOS-related issues in the link, did I miss something ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    If you are using vbe/int10 you are limited to the modes supported by vbe. If you want to program modes other than the ones in the vbe mode list, you really need to use a real driver.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,802

    Default

    You probably could do a miniature driver capable of only modesetting if you were doing it on an embedded platform though, right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nanonyme View Post
    You probably could do a miniature driver capable of only modesetting if you were doing it on an embedded platform though, right?
    Yes, i think this should be the correct way, but that beyond my knowledge, too hard for me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •