Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Switching to ogl fullscreen mode in Eyefinity

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default Switching to ogl fullscreen mode in Eyefinity

    I use a 3 monitor setup 3x 1680*1050 (eyefinity) with catalyst 10.8.
    Btw. it reports 10.7, how hard can it be to change a version number?
    Anyways it works fine as long as i don't try to run a full screen ogl application, if i do the application will run on one screen with a max resolution of 1680*1050. And when i exits it dose not return to a 3x 1680*1050 but remains in single head mode, until I restart x. This is with xcinerama off, but still with one singel x display (i assume FGLRX uses a propriety method similar to twin-view to achieve this). if i turn xcinerama on it works as expected with the ogl application stretching to a full 5040*1680. but i loose composing, also as expected.

    Is this a bug or a unimplemented feature? I do realize that a Linux user with a tipple-head ati setup is a pretty far corner case, so im happy that it works at all.

    This is on PCLOS with a default FGLRX 10.8 install from the ati installer with a hd5850.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    Sometimes a wrong version number is a typo in the driver code, other times it means you didn't do a full uninstall before installing the new driver and are actually running a mix of old and new files (which can bring problems).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    11

    Default

    My installation of fglrx reports 10.8 as the version number. Maybe there went something wrong on the installtion.
    Try to make a clean install again.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    uninsulated catalyst, clean reinstalled it after reboot and deletion of all ati files i could find with "search | grep ati". it now sayes 10.8 but the issue remains the same.

    for instance sauerbraten:

    Code:
    Unable to create OpenGL screen: No video mode large enough for 5040x1050
    works fine in windows and in 1680*1050

    same thing goes for a short irrlicht test app i made.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    768

    Default

    There's an ancient X extension for modesetting, as simple as "get list of supported resolutions, pick one". It doesn't really understand multiple screens.

    I'm not sure if there's a simple fix for the issue. There's no mechanism for defining available multi-screen modes (like TwinView does). And those cannot be automatically added, because (unlike Xinerama), XRandR doesn't have permanently defined monitor positions (like DVI-1 right of DVI-0); with XRandR those can change on the fly.

    A workaround may be to run the application windowed with the desired resolution, tell your window manager to display that window alway on top and borderless.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    another (somewhat) unrelated question: what makes xcinerama and composing mutually exclusive? it doesn't make sense to me, because i do have ogl acceleration on all screens in xcinerama.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,595

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IM back! View Post
    uninsulated catalyst, clean reinstalled it after reboot and deletion of all ati files i could find with "search | grep ati". it now sayes 10.8 but the issue remains the same.

    for instance sauerbraten:

    Code:
    Unable to create OpenGL screen: No video mode large enough for 5040x1050
    works fine in windows and in 1680*1050

    same thing goes for a short irrlicht test app i made.
    I suspect you're bumping into the 4096x4096 limit. (which I recall to be a hardware limit on at least r600 for some size whose name I don't remember) Just a guess though.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,595

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nanonyme View Post
    I suspect you're bumping into the 4096x4096 limit. (which I recall to be a hardware limit on at least r600 for some size whose name I don't remember) Just a guess though.
    Mind, fglrx might and could have a workaround for that, I honestly wouldn't know.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    cant be a hardware limit on windows the same thing works fine. a big evergreen is eyefinity wich supports huge resolutions.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I meant to say: Cant be a hardware limit as on windows the same thing works fine. A big point of evergreen is eyefinity which supports huge resolutions.

    damn you edit limit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •