Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Intel Linux DRM HDMI / DisplayPort Audio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,438

    Default Intel Linux DRM HDMI / DisplayPort Audio

    Phoronix: Intel Linux DRM HDMI / DisplayPort Audio

    While the open-source Radeon DRM/KMS (along with the closed-source Catalyst) drivers have had support for audio over HDMI / DisplayPort, patches are finally moving along by Intel's Zhenyu Wang for bringing up audio on Intel chipsets over these newest display interfaces...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=ODYyMQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Sweet. I have such a monitor, and i can't wait to get rid of another cable.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Am I missing something here? I already have a Core i3 530 working with HDMI audio/video together. This is connected to my TV, running Mythbuntu 10.10.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Well, at least I couldn't get it to work with DP. aplay -L only lists HDMI, but yeah, that seems to have been around for a while.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Micket View Post
    Well, at least I couldn't get it to work with DP. aplay -L only lists HDMI, but yeah, that seems to have been around for a while.
    *shrug* in either case, it's good to hear that the DP support is incoming.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    565

    Default

    Aside from home theater / HTPC setups where you can eliminate cables by having everything going to the receiver and then only one going to the TV from it, instead of audio cables going to the receiver and video cables going to the TV, for other uses like a standard desktop this is going to be mostly pointless. Most monitors don't have speakers (and if they do they are usually horrible) and you're not eliminating any cables in a normal setup as you still would need two. Nice capability to have if you do need or want it though.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomm3h View Post
    Am I missing something here? I already have a Core i3 530 working with HDMI audio/video together. This is connected to my TV, running Mythbuntu 10.10.
    Same for me.

    It looks like this is linked to i3/i5 proc? compared to on-board intel graphic cards?

    Tomm3h do you confirm that you can have 5.1? Is there a way to have True-HD?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by XabiX View Post
    Same for me.

    It looks like this is linked to i3/i5 proc? compared to on-board intel graphic cards?

    Tomm3h do you confirm that you can have 5.1? Is there a way to have True-HD?
    I suppose maybe the article does refer to older, non-i3/i5 graphics. It's not clear from Michael's article. Michael, can you confirm why this is news?

    XabiX, I seem to have 5.1 audio outputs, but only stereo speakers. I used '/usr/bin/speaker-test -t sine' to test my HDMI audio and it seemed to be playing to phantom channels (centre, rear, etc.) and they were quiet, because I had no speakers, but I think it works.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomm3h View Post
    I suppose maybe the article does refer to older, non-i3/i5 graphics. It's not clear from Michael's article. Michael, can you confirm why this is news?

    XabiX, I seem to have 5.1 audio outputs, but only stereo speakers. I used '/usr/bin/speaker-test -t sine' to test my HDMI audio and it seemed to be playing to phantom channels (centre, rear, etc.) and they were quiet, because I had no speakers, but I think it works.
    At least I can tell that the front left speaker works But I was not able to test the other ones with your cmd:

    -s,--speaker test de chaque haut parleur. Valeurs 1=gauche, 2=droite, etc
    -w,--wavfile Utilise le fichier WAV spécifié comme test son
    -W,--wavdir Spécifie le dossier contenant les fichiers WAV

    Les formats d'échantillonnage reconnus sont : S8 S16_LE S16_BE FLOAT_LE S32_LE S32_BE

    xabix@xabix-desktop:~$ /usr/bin/speaker-test -t sine -s 1

    speaker-test 1.0.22

    Le périphérique de lecture est default
    Les paramètres du flux sont 48000Hz, S16_LE, 1 canaux
    La frequence sinusoïdale est de 440,0000Hz
    Taux fixé à 48000Hz (demandé 48000Hz)
    Taille du tampon entre 192 et 2097152
    Taille de la periode entre 64 et 699051
    Utilisation du tampon maximal 2097152
    Périodes = 4
    La durée de la période à été définie= 524288
    La taille du tampon à été définie = 2097152
    - Avant Gauche
    ^C
    xabix@xabix-desktop:~$ /usr/bin/speaker-test -t sine -s 2

    speaker-test 1.0.22

    Paramètre invalide pour l'option -s.
    xabix@xabix-desktop:~$ /usr/bin/speaker-test -t sine -s 3

    speaker-test 1.0.22

    Paramètre invalide pour l'option -s.
    I don't know why but I can't access s 2 etc... without the s option, the sine is played several times on the same front left speaker. Strange.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by XabiX View Post
    At least I can tell that the front left speaker works But I was not able to test the other ones with your cmd:



    I don't know why but I can't access s 2 etc... without the s option, the sine is played several times on the same front left speaker. Strange.
    Sorry XabiX, my command was a little wrong.

    Here, try this one:

    Code:
    # speaker-test -t sine -c 5
    
    speaker-test 1.0.22
    
    Playback device is default
    Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 5 channels
    Sine wave rate is 440.0000Hz
    Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
    Buffer size range from 39 to 419430
    Period size range from 12 to 139810
    Using max buffer size 419428
    Periods = 4
    was set period_size = 104857
    was set buffer_size = 419428
     0 - Front Left
     1 - Front Right
     2 - Rear Left
     3 - Rear Right
     4 - Centre
    Time per period = 12.850245
    I was running as root, but I'm not sure you have to. Change '-c X' to 5, 6, 7, channels, etc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •