Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: vaapi / xvba error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    288

    Default vaapi / xvba error

    Hi,

    I started this thread a while ago: http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24885 and i got that fixed by simply using the a package from someone else.

    Now i found out that the instruction on http://www.splitted-desktop.com/~gbeauchesne/libva/ is wrong on archlinux. If i do "autoreconf" i will get compile errors, but if i do "autoreconf -vif" it will compile just fine. @gbeauche, please fix this in your compile instructions since i might same someone hours to figure it out.

    Anyway, i got it to compile now but have the next issue when typing "vainfo" :
    Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
    libva: va_getDriverName() returns 0
    libva: Trying to open /usr/lib/va/drivers/fglrx_drv_video.so
    libva: va_openDriver() returns -1
    vaInitialize failed with error code -1 (unknown libva error),exit
    I admit, it's better then a segmentation fault, but still not really useable for playing video

    ATI driver version : 10.9
    Graphics series : 4xxx (onboard)
    Kernel : 2.6.35.5
    Dist : ArchLinux
    XvBA version : 0.7.4

    I hope someone could help me getting this fixed.

    Regards,
    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    42

    Default

    I have the same problem on Ubuntu with ati 3200HD.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markg85 View Post
    Now i found out that the instruction on http://www.splitted-desktop.com/~gbeauchesne/libva/ is wrong on archlinux.
    Archlinux people already have correct packages BTW.

    If i do "autoreconf" i will get compile errors, but if i do "autoreconf -vif" it will compile just fine. @gbeauche, please fix this in your compile instructions since i might same someone hours to figure it out.
    OK

    Anyway, i got it to compile now but have the next issue when typing "vainfo" :
    It looks like you have not installed xvba-video (and the symlinks) at all, or at the right location. Make sure you have something as /usr/lib/va/drivers/fglrx_drv_video.so, then run $ XVBA_VIDEO_DEBUG=1 vainfo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    47

    Default

    @markg85
    it's quite simple in Archlinux, just use the repos for the catalyst driver:

    [catalyst]
    Server = http://catalyst.apocalypsus.net/repo/catalyst/x86_64/

    In this repos you find: catalyst catalyst-utils xvba-video
    You need all three of them, otherwise you just need libva and mplayer-vaapi from extra and you are done. You will avoid a lot of compiling and other trouble.
    However, this way you will get all the stuff you need though no guaranty that XvBA will work. :-D

    @gbeauche
    XvBA works on my RV635 only for VC-1 files, h264 files lead to a total system freeze (the fglrx kernel module crashes). I posted some error logs a couple of days ago in the other threat (post 911, 912, 914 in http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showpost.php?p=149412).

    Is this a xvba-video bug and if is there a chance you will fix it? As offered already, I would test it and give feedback.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    288

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gbeauche View Post
    Archlinux people already have correct packages BTW.



    OK



    It looks like you have not installed xvba-video (and the symlinks) at all, or at the right location. Make sure you have something as /usr/lib/va/drivers/fglrx_drv_video.so, then run $ XVBA_VIDEO_DEBUG=1 vainfo
    It was indeed not installed correctly..
    I removed all the parts i had and reinstalled it. My xvba libs are here:
    /usr/lib/dri/xvba_drv_video.so
    /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/xvba_drv_video.so
    However when trying vainfo again (with all of it reinstalled) i suddenly get:
    libva: libva version 0.31.1
    Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
    libva: va_getDriverName() returns 0
    libva: Trying to open /usr/lib/dri/fglrx_drv_video.so
    libva: va_openDriver() returns 0
    vainfo: VA API version: 0.31
    vainfo: Driver version: Splitted-Desktop Systems XvBA backend for VA API - 0.7.4
    vainfo: Supported profile and entrypoints
    VAProfileMPEG2Simple : VAEntrypointIDCT
    VAProfileMPEG2Main : VAEntrypointIDCT
    VAProfileH264High : VAEntrypointVLD
    VAProfileVC1Advanced : VAEntrypointVLD
    So now i still don't know exactly where it went wrong and where it got fixed.. --_--

    A question about deinterlacing.. Can i simply use the mplayer -vf (yadif or another deinterlacer) filters to deinterlace?

    And is there any possibility for you to use the ati hardware deinterlace stuff?

    Thanks,
    Mark

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Armin View Post
    XvBA works on my RV635 only for VC-1 files, h264 files lead to a total system freeze (the fglrx kernel module crashes). I posted some error logs a couple of days ago in the other threat (post 911, 912, 914 in http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showpost.php?p=149412).

    Is this a xvba-video bug and if is there a chance you will fix it? As offered already, I would test it and give feedback.
    I am afraid those older chipsets are not quite well supported. Nobody is really testing this part of the driver. Someone reported the same system crash to me. I also tried, it froze the system. It sounds like a regression in the driver since it used to work some time ago.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by markg85 View Post
    A question about deinterlacing.. Can i simply use the mplayer -vf (yadif or another deinterlacer) filters to deinterlace?
    No, you can't since (i) this is not implemented, and (ii) this would require a download of the decoded frames from the GPU, thus being slower. i.e. suboptimal.

    And is there any possibility for you to use the ati hardware deinterlace stuff?
    If ATI exposes advanced deinterlacers, yes. But, this currently is not the case. Neither in the GL part, nor in the PCOM2 part. The OpenGL backend is unlikely to get advanced deinterlacing though. i.e. the "best" thing would be bob deinterlacing, which now should be fixed by current drivers. PCOM2 is on par with Windows features, but the code was not properly tested and the developer (me ) did not get the updated headers yet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •