Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Kernel config question for a 4870

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    89

    Default Kernel config question for a 4870

    Any one know what does the following option does, the 4870 works well in debian testing with the open src driver. 3d was only openGL 1.5 but 2d was lightning fast so I did not try this option. Kernel is custom one built by myself.

    Enable modesetting on radeon by default - NEW DRIVER

    I have not been able to find much info on this setting on net and currently do not have the spare time availible to go through the src. Past experience shows that will take ages to decipher the driver.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    857

    Default

    All you need to know about configuring kernel modesetting is written here:
    http://wiki.x.org/wiki/radeonBuildHowTo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,937

    Default

    If you enable that option, you will get OpenGL 2.1, and a native-resolution framebuffer by default. The 3d performance might be slightly lower.

    Pretty much all the new development today is focused on the kernel modesetting codepath anyway.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,803

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat View Post
    If you enable that option, you will get OpenGL 2.1, and a native-resolution framebuffer by default. The 3d performance might be slightly lower.
    Actually last I tried 3D performance was faster with KMS than UMS on my HD3870.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,937

    Default

    That's even better.

    I haven't tested the UMS codepath for a long time now.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Another thing you get with KMS is DRI2.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Thanks for the replies, silly me I had a previous version of the radeonBuildHowto and i did not know that it had been updated. I have never had that much trouble with FGLRX but the OS driver is great, simply just works.

    Blacksmith

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •