Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 40

Thread: Mobility HD2400 + ubuntu 10.10

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    21

    Question

    Could it be that there is a stray file left from fglrx installation which would mess up with mesa?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,132

    Default

    CAFEDEAD... Heh... I wonder if Garrett's Zalgo patch got merged.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Grenoble - Franša
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    CAFEDEAD... Heh... I wonder if Garrett's Zalgo patch got merged.
    I really don't know whats happen here...
    Sometimes my gdm cannot up. I must reboot and reboot and reboot and sometime it ups! I've noted that compiz dont load your effects anymore.

    Seems that my installation gone dead!
    Should I format and reinstall ubuntu? Or have something to do and fix it?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    21

    Thumbs up

    Before reinstalling could you try Ubuntu 10.10 LiveCD and see if hardware acceleration works.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Grenoble - Franša
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pallokala View Post
    Before reinstalling could you try Ubuntu 10.10 LiveCD and see if hardware acceleration works.
    So, Im in LiveCD and the out of glxinfo | grep OpenGL is:

    Code:
    ~$: glxinfo | grep OpenGL
    OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV610 94C9) 20090101 x86/MMX/SSE2 TCL DRI2
    OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.9-devel
    OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
    OpenGL extensions:
    I think its right, right?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Grenoble - Franša
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Ive Been REinstalled sucessfully the Ubuntu 10.10

    now, the tearing is gone, the vsync work perfectly with default configs including video driver.

    glxinfo | grep OpenGL:
    Code:
    niccola@niccola-laptop:~$ glxinfo | grep OpenGL
    OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RV610 94C9) 20090101 x86/MMX/SSE2 TCL DRI2
    OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.9-devel
    OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
    OpenGL extensions:
    niccola@niccola-laptop:~$
    dmesg | grep drm:

    Code:
    dmesg | grep drm
    [   13.825225] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    [   13.891965] [drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
    [   13.891969] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    [   13.896159] [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (RV610 0x1002:0x94C9).
    [   13.896290] [drm] register mmio base: 0xD8000000
    [   13.896293] [drm] register mmio size: 65536
    [   13.897554] [drm] Clocks initialized !
    [   13.898512] [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=128M, BAR=128M
    [   13.898517] [drm] RAM width 64bits DDR
    [   13.898657] [drm] radeon: 128M of VRAM memory ready
    [   13.898659] [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
    [   13.898798] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
    [   13.898802] [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
    [   13.899390] [drm] Loading RV610 Microcode
    [   13.941531] [drm] ring test succeeded in 0 usecs
    [   13.941755] [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
    [   13.941863] [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
    [   13.941866] [drm] Enabling audio support
    [   13.941912] [drm] Default TV standard: NTSC
    [   13.942114] [drm] Default TV standard: NTSC
    [   13.942117] [drm] Default TV standard: NTSC
    [   13.942151] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
    [   13.942153] [drm] Connector 0:
    [   13.942155] [drm]   VGA
    [   13.942158] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
    [   13.942160] [drm]   Encoders:
    [   13.942162] [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
    [   13.942165] [drm] Connector 1:
    [   13.942166] [drm]   HDMI-A
    [   13.942168] [drm]   HPD1
    [   13.942170] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e50 0x7e50 0x7e54 0x7e54 0x7e58 0x7e58 0x7e5c 0x7e5c
    [   13.942172] [drm]   Encoders:
    [   13.942174] [drm]     DFP1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_TMDS1
    [   13.942176] [drm] Connector 2:
    [   13.942177] [drm]   LVDS
    [   13.942180] [drm]   DDC: 0xac0 0xac0 0xac4 0xac4 0xac8 0xac8 0xacc 0xacc
    [   13.942182] [drm]   Encoders:
    [   13.942183] [drm]     LCD1: INTERNAL_LVTM1
    [   13.942185] [drm] Connector 3:
    [   13.942187] [drm]   DIN
    [   13.942188] [drm]   Encoders:
    [   13.942190] [drm]     TV1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC2
    [   14.039472] [drm] Internal thermal controller without fan control
    [   14.039557] [drm] radeon: power management initialized
    [   14.519547] [drm] fb mappable at 0xD0141000
    [   14.519550] [drm] vram apper at 0xD0000000
    [   14.519552] [drm] size 4096000
    [   14.519554] [drm] fb depth is 24
    [   14.519556] [drm]    pitch is 5120
    [   14.952933] fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    [   14.952935] drm: registered panic notifier
    [   14.953016] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.5.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
    This line [ 14.952935] drm: registered panic notifier
    are correct? It says Registered Panic Notifier.. Whats this?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    Compiz doesn't start because you have no 3d acceleration. All the rendering is done in software, which is typically too slow.

    I don't know why gdm is not starting. Did it work properly before?

    I don't think that reinstalling is necessary. A fresh install will probably give you working 3d out of the box, but it can probably be fixed rather easily, if we can just figure out what is wrong.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    Disregard my last post.

    It looks like it works -- you have 3d acceleration. Congratulations!

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,375

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Niccola View Post
    This line [ 14.952935] drm: registered panic notifier
    are correct? It says Registered Panic Notifier.. Whats this?
    If you get a kernel panic, the drm will switch to the console so you can view the panic.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Grenoble - Franša
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    If you get a kernel panic, the drm will switch to the console so you can view the panic.
    Ok, I got the thing!!
    Thank you to clarify to me it!

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat View Post
    Disregard my last post.

    It looks like it works -- you have 3d acceleration. Congratulations!
    When I see the acceleration in LiveCD I know that some configuration that I made when ran some GL benchmarks for compare fglrx vs radeon on my hw.
    So, I think that the stuff get broken, then I reinstalled the system
    I want to share it with you:

    I ran glmark2 and glmark2-es2. Two simple benchmark for opengl and opengl 2.0.
    When I got in fglrx, the score point is 173 and with the radeon score point (with drm KMS and compiz off) are 1058 (yeah, almost 10 times greater than fglrx)
    But now, with radeon driver default, the benchmark score is 178 (it drops a lot).

    So, I want to know with you, guys experienced with ati cards:
    1 - What additional plugins or I could add to my driver for
    improve their performance?
    2 - Is there some setting that I can do to improve
    performance?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •