Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Poor 2D performance with AMD Graphics

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default Poor 2D performance with AMD Graphics

    I have a problem with the 2D performance, especially with CAD programms like Eagle (www.cadsoft.de).

    Zooming into a little bit more complex graphics is really slow, even with the free Radeon driver or FGLRX, even with a AMD Athlon II X4

    Compared with an old AMD Athlon XP 2000+ and GeForce 6200GS it is much slower. Also Intel Onboard Graphics (GMA950) is better than my newest AMD machine.

    Will this issue be fixed in the near Future?

    Regards
    burli

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    257

    Default

    I've some few questions to ask you:

    1- What is your Linux Distro / Catalyst version?
    Newer Catalyst versions work quite well with 2D Acceleration...

    2- What is the output of your "cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log"?

    3- What is your output of "dmesg"?

    If there's nothing strange in your outputs, it might be a problem from Eagle, not from ATI/AMD drivers...

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Ubuntu 10.10 x86_64 with the default driver from this distribution

    my Xorg Log http://pastebin.ca/1999749

    the output from dmesg | grep fglrx http://pastebin.ca/1999751

    And Eagle uses Qt4 and OpenGL. I think, than many Qt4 programms should have this problem

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by burli View Post
    Ubuntu 10.10 x86_64 with the default driver from this distribution

    my Xorg Log http://pastebin.ca/1999749

    the output from dmesg | grep fglrx http://pastebin.ca/1999751

    And Eagle uses Qt4 and OpenGL. I think, than many Qt4 programms should have this problem
    try to upgrade to kde 4,6 its much faster

    the radeon driver with the newest kernel 2.6.37 and newest xorg-edgers is also faster than the radeon driver.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I use Ubuntu, not Kubuntu. Only Eagle is using Qt4

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by burli View Post
    I use Ubuntu, not Kubuntu. Only Eagle is using Qt4
    sorry i use the wrong words...

    use the QT libs from the KDE4,6 release..

    upgrade to ubuntu 11.4 the QT lib in 11.4 is the kde4.6 one.

    kde4.6 fix some speed bugs its really faster.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    sorry i use the wrong words...

    use the QT libs from the KDE4,6 release..

    upgrade to ubuntu 11.4 the QT lib in 11.4 is the kde4.6 one.

    kde4.6 fix some speed bugs its really faster.
    There is no kde 4.6... The lastest kde is 4.5.3.

    You sure mean qt-core(qt-lib) which is 4.7.1 now.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    944

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    There is no kde 4.6...
    ...yet. I think Qaridarium is talking about the latest 4.6 beta which should have been released in November.

    @burli

    I have a similar system (Athlon II X4, 785G) and I also don't notice bad 2D performance in my CAD software. I use a different CAD program though - Bricscad. You may want to give QCad a shot as it has awesome 2D performance (on my system) and if you still get bad performance with it then the problem is somewhere in the system. If performance is good then it's Eagle's fault.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by devius View Post
    ...yet. I think Qaridarium is talking about the latest 4.6 beta which should have been released in November.

    @burli

    I have a similar system (Athlon II X4, 785G) and I also don't notice bad 2D performance in my CAD software. I use a different CAD program though - Bricscad. You may want to give QCad a shot as it has awesome 2D performance (on my system) and if you still get bad performance with it then the problem is somewhere in the system. If performance is good then it's Eagle's fault.
    right kde4.6beta

    be sure its a QT problem the 4,5kde do have known speed bugs

    your other cad software simple do not use KDE technique--

    i'm a kde user i know that

    i do not use kde stuff for 1 single app..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    There is no kde 4.6... The lastest kde is 4.5.3.

    You sure mean qt-core(qt-lib) which is 4.7.1 now.
    4.6beta ;-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •