Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Post your working kernel .config & xorg.conf for git drm-radeon-testing & xorg

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default Post your working kernel .config & xorg.conf for git drm-radeon-testing & xorg

    Post a link to your working kernel .config & xorg.conf (no checklist of what I need to type"y" to) for git drm-radeon-testing & git xorg.

    I am having seg faults with the newest opengl stuff. I doubt I have all the right options checked in the drm-radeon-testing kernel. By the way the default config should be configured for radeon use if possible in that kernel.

    Also the last time modesetting was woking on this machine (HD3850/RV670) was with the R600_rlc.bin firmware. Now I disable modesetting by the kernel command line to get my display to post otherwise the kernel hangs maybe for 30 seconds at startup and a garbled screen is produced. Then I log in with a black screen and reboot.

    I've done a quick search but am not sure how to discover the pid for this card.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,320

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by charlie View Post
    Also the last time modesetting was woking on this machine (HD3850/RV670) was with the R600_rlc.bin firmware. Now I disable modesetting by the kernel command line to get my display to post otherwise the kernel hangs maybe for 30 seconds at startup and a garbled screen is produced.
    Sounds like your initrd is missing the firmware, or if you are not using an initrd, the kernel is not able to find the firmware.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I do not use an initrd. Kernel options under Generic Driver Options:

    (R600_rlc.bin R600_me.bin R600_pfp.bin RV670_me.bin RV670_pfp.bin) External firmware blobs to build into the kernel binary

    (firmware/radeon) Firmware blobs root directory
    Note: I've compiled the kernel with R600_rlc.bin and RV670_me.bin by themselves.

    The ati drivers have corrupted my monitor's EDID at some point. DVI no longer works but the RBG connection still works.

    Unplugging the monitor cable and booting gives me a black screen even after I plug the cable back in and produces this dmesg:

    [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC5] enabled at IRQ 16
    radeon 0000:02:00.0: PCI INT A -> Link[APC5] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
    radeon 0000:02:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (RV670 0x1002:0x9505).
    [drm] register mmio base: 0xFDBE0000
    [drm] register mmio size: 65536
    radeon 0000:02:00.0: Invalid ROM contents
    If the RGB connecter is still connected (with no DVI connection) when booting dmesg gives this message repeated a few times (and the screen is garbled):

    [drm:drm_edid_block_valid] *ERROR* EDID checksum is invalid, remainder is 208
    [drm:drm_edid_block_valid] *ERROR* Raw EDID:
    <3>d0 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 4c 2d 91 00 31 32 42 4e ........L-..12BN
    <3>16 0d 01 03 80 2b 20 a0 2a d0 c4 a1 5a 4b 97 23 .....+ .*...ZK.#
    <3>17 4f 57 bf ef 80 a9 40 81 80 01 01 01 01 01 01 .OW....@........
    <3>01 01 01 01 01 01 ed 32 40 a0 60 b0 23 40 30 20 .......2@.`.#@0
    <3>24 00 b0 44 11 00 00 1a 00 00 00 fd 00 38 4b 1e $..D.........8K.
    <3>51 0e 00 0a 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 fc 00 53 Q... .....S
    <3>79 6e 63 4d 61 73 74 65 72 0a 20 20 00 00 00 ff yncMaster. ....
    <3>00 48 34 4a 57 35 30 32 32 32 39 0a 20 20 00 23 .H4JW502229. .#

    radeon 0000:02:00.0: DVI-I-1: EDID block 0 invalid.
    [drm:radeon_dvi_detect] *ERROR* DVI-I-1: probed a monitor but no|invalid EDID

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Is a corrupt EDID on my monitor the reason for opengl segfaults with the latest drivers?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,320

    Default

    The drivers didn't corrupt your EDID, newer kernels are just more strict about checking EDID checksums which are very often wrong. It's a core drm issue that should be relaxed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,320

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by charlie View Post
    radeon 0000:02:00.0: Invalid ROM contents
    That's the problem. The driver is not able to get the vbios for your card. Make sure pci quirks are enabled in your kernel config. pci rom fetching needs them.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I enabled pci quirks in the the kernel and now the "Invalid ROM contents" message is gone but the firmware still fails to load:

    radeon 0000:02:00.0: irq 40 for MSI/MSI-X
    radeon 0000:02:00.0: radeon: using MSI.
    [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
    [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
    [drm] Loading RV670 Microcode
    r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R600_rlc.bin"
    [drm:r600_startup] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!
    radeon 0000:02:00.0: disabling GPU acceleration
    radeon 0000:02:00.0: ffff88015fd7e800 unpin not necessary
    radeon 0000:02:00.0: ffff88015fd7e800 unpin not necessary
    failed to evaluate ATIF got AE_BAD_PARAMETER
    [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
    [drm] Connector 0:
    [drm] HDMI-A
    [drm] HPD1
    [drm] DDC: 0x7e60 0x7e60 0x7e64 0x7e64 0x7e68 0x7e68 0x7e6c 0x7e6c
    [drm] Encoders:
    [drm] DFP1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_TMDS1
    [drm] Connector 1:
    [drm] VGA
    [drm] DDC: 0x7e50 0x7e50 0x7e54 0x7e54 0x7e58 0x7e58 0x7e5c 0x7e5c
    [drm] Encoders:
    [drm] CRT2: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC2
    [drm] Connector 2:
    [drm] DVI-I
    [drm] HPD2
    [drm] DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
    [drm] Encoders:
    [drm] CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
    [drm] DFP2: INTERNAL_LVTM1
    I'm going to try some different ACPI settings due to that, "AE_BAD_PARAMETER" message.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,320

    Default

    Ignore the "AE_BAD_PARAMETER" message, it's not relevant. The issue is still that the driver is not picking up the firmware. If you are using an initrd, you need to include the firwmare in the initrd. if you build the driver into the kernel, you need to build the firmware in as well.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I will enable some additional debugging messages in the kernel. Perhaps there are some particular ones that I should enable? I will enable most of them in the mean time.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Ignore the "AE_BAD_PARAMETER" message, it's not relevant. The issue is still that the driver is not picking up the firmware. If you are using an initrd, you need to include the firwmare in the initrd. if you build the driver into the kernel, you need to build the firmware in as well.
    I use this command to build the kernel (from my .bashrc):

    Code:
    alias cdkm='cd /usr/src/linux && sed -i "s@\(export.*INSTALL_PATH\) ?= /boot@\1=/boot@g" Makefile && make all && make modules_install && make firmware && make firmware_install && make install && sed -i "s@\(export.*INSTALL_PATH\)=/boot@\1 ?= /boot@g" Makefile'

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •