Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33

Thread: ATI HD6870 driver and GPU! can't get it to work

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    just want to chime in and say with catalyst 10.11 and 10.12 the 6870 and 6950 work fine on my system.

    For ati stream sdk, you need to use 2.3 which also works on both the cards mentioned above.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FunkyRider View Post
    It means fglrx is a lie and your card will not work properly for another 2 years at best, until Gallium 3D or so matures.

    It's been like this situation for more than 5 years, not a single bit has changed. Fglrx is still a lie.
    No, no, wait for the *next* driver...

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    257

    Default

    I really don't know very much about this problem, but the true fact is, it isn't very hard even for an ordinary Linux user to generate a basic "aticonfig" xorg.conf file (there are even some samples properly configured in pastebin)... and allow a HD69xx series to work properly on Linux. (since Catalyst 10.10 these cards are listed in the amdpcsdb file...).

    Cheers

    p.s. More interesting now is the fact you can turn a HD6950 card into a HD6970 one, if you're lucky!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    997

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evolution View Post
    I really don't know very much about this problem, but the true fact is, it isn't very hard even for an ordinary Linux user to generate a basic "aticonfig" xorg.conf file (there are even some samples properly configured in pastebin)... and allow a HD69xx series to work properly on Linux. (since Catalyst 10.10 these cards are listed in the amdpcsdb file...).

    Cheers

    p.s. More interesting now is the fact you can turn a HD6950 card into a HD6970 one, if you're lucky!
    I thought you didn't need xorg.conf files anymore. But, you still need to create your own because ATI/AMD won't support their own cards in Linux?!?

    FunkyRider is right, ATI/AMD will take two years to support the card with the blob driver and probably four years (double the time) to support the FOSS side. Yay, AMD/ATI with their great Linux support!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Panix
    [stuff]

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    257

    Wink The last to laugh...

    Quote Originally Posted by Panix View Post
    I thought you didn't need xorg.conf files anymore. But, you still need to create your own because ATI/AMD won't support their own cards in Linux?!?

    FunkyRider is right, ATI/AMD will take two years to support the card with the blob driver and probably four years (double the time) to support the FOSS side. Yay, AMD/ATI with their great Linux support!
    Yes, but doesn't nVidia proprietary driver also needs one (xorg.conf file, OC)?
    Yes, maybe 3D support needs some more extra time, but I don't expect it to work only 2 years later... (maybe on nouveau that's more a reality )

    Cheers

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evolution View Post
    Yes, but doesn't nVidia proprietary driver also needs one (xorg.conf file, OC)?
    Nope it doesn't. It hasn't for quite a while now, at least a year.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    trolls indeed. wow huh.

    My xorg.conf is empty and other than setting resolution, there's nothing in my /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-screen.conf or 50-device.conf that's very relevant (resolution/depth settings mostly). I use opensuse 11.3 x86_64 and the tumbleweed repo... kde 4.5.90 something from kde factory as well.

    fglrx, as much as you may hate it works pretty well on 68xx and 69xx. Aside from flicker with compositing and mplayer w/ vo=gl. They could also improve 2d performance still but its working pretty well.

    Also, I flashed my 6950 to a 6970 using freedos and atiflash... works perfect.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStar View Post
    Hey I know that guy.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    997

    Default

    BlackStar probably shouldn't be posting his picture in the Forum. It's not an appropriate place.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •