Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 95

Thread: KDE SC 4.6 Release Candidate 1 Makes It Out

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Have a good day.
    Posts
    678

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Apopas View Post
    I expected KDE 4.6 to bring different panels in each activity, but alas they may not come even with 4.7
    Ah! So it's not my lack of patience with the TERRIBLE KDE's UI to configure activities: the option doesn't actually exist, right?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStar View Post
    This sentence is surreal.
    [...]
    How come?

    Quote Originally Posted by Adarion View Post
    As we say in .de the devs should come back to the carpet (from being afloat) and style a running KDE for the average hardware/software stack that people are running today. That would not exclude optional fancy stuff.
    Uhm that is actually how it works in KWin.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kayosiii View Post
    Out of curiosity which graphics drivers are you using. The key difference I am aware of with kwin is that it requires some new features than compiz which some drivers don't do overly well.
    This is on the nvidia blob (260.29 or something like that). I san compiz --replace and performance jumped back up to where it should be. Now, I'm trying to find a way to keep window decorations with Compiz on KDE - holy convoluted configuration batman.

    I'd still prefer to a fixed KWin, though.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mat69 View Post
    How come?
    You don't need nepomuk for akonadi.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Have a good day.
    Posts
    678

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mat69 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Adarion
    As we say in .de the devs should come back to the carpet (from being afloat) and style a running KDE for the average hardware/software stack that people are running today. That would not exclude optional fancy stuff.
    Uhm that is actually how it works in KWin.

    Uhm, not so sure about it. You may remember that big bug/request about fake transparency (not a KWin example, I guess). The problem was that the only way to get that kind of eye candy is through compositing. The answer from KDE people was around the lines of "abandon your ancient hardware and buy a new graphics card". They only had to add: "and develop the drivers". They even got a patch to add this feature--which I happened to like and use in KDE 3.5 times--but they didn't accept it. It has to be said that KDE4 has some nice effects here and there that don't require compositing, though.

    Similar story with KWin's compositing effects. They are slow and some of them need I don't know what super-advanced features. Compiz people somehow got it right. I understand that the developer of KWin is a volunteer, and unfortunately he doesn't know how to implement those features in such a way that most people would enjoy an optimal desktop experience. But at least let's get the record straight.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KDesk View Post
    they speak of merging kdelibs and Qt, which will make KDE 5 or 6, with more problems.
    Did the Qt devs say something about that idea?
    Neither Nokia/Qt nor the majority of KDE people were in favor of a merger.

  7. #27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStar View Post
    This sentence is surreal.

    As for KDE 4.6, I wish KWin would somehow double in performance. Kwin is the greatest stumbling block when moving from Gnome/Compiz to KDE: with the former, Opera, Firefox and Chrome scroll 100% smoothly (85fps on my monitor). With the latter, all three browsers fall to half or one third that rate and feel awful.
    Do you have 4GB of RAM or more without MTRR cleanup enabled in the kernel? The issue is that the MTRR registers are not being properly configured by the BIOS, such that MTRR cleanup needs to be done by the kernel to fix them:

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/linux/+bug/210780

  8. #28

    Default

    By the way, if you are one of those people, try booting with "enable_mtrr_cleanup mtrr_spare_reg_nr=1" added to your kernel commandline parameters.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Adarion View Post
    I use 4.4.5 / 4.4.7
    Hey genius, this thread is about SC 4.6. No one cares about your outdated software lineup.

    Quote Originally Posted by Adarion View Post
    And: Kick that g'dam HAL out! Make "semantic-desktop" optional.
    WTF are you talking about? SC 4.6 kicked HAL!! And the semantic features are optional since day 1!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Adarion View Post
    I don't remember correctly
    Yeah, that's evident throughout your whole post.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    945

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr James View Post
    No shit. There is a bug with the ATI proprietary driver that causes the mother of all annoyances - minimmmize a window and restore it, tada: X crashes. Solution? Disable (took me a while to figure this one) minimize effects in KWin.
    This happens with 4.6? In 4.5.3 I can minize and restore all I want with whatever animation I choose and nothing bad happens.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •