Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 122

Thread: Working r600g games list

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,908

    Default

    Any s3tc game will not work for the same reasons, like Quake4.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,024

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marek View Post
    Torcs calls the function glDrawElements once for each triangle.
    ... wait, seriously ?

    How does even a hobbyist think that's remotely the right way to do things?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    596

    Default

    It is not so obvious from the Torcs code. There is a loop over strips of primitives (could be triangle strips) and it renders each strip using glDrawElements. The problem is some models have one strip per triangle. They don't seem to optimize their models enough.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,567

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marek View Post
    It is not so obvious from the Torcs code. There is a loop over strips of primitives (could be triangle strips) and it renders each strip using glDrawElements. The problem is some models have one strip per triangle. They don't seem to optimize their models enough.
    Do they have some kind of a bug tracker you could tell this on?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,721

    Default

    Aren't there automatic tools for that? ACTC?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,567

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Aren't there automatic tools for that? ACTC?
    I have no idea what ACTC is but usually telling people directly is the fastest way to get them to do something. And honestly that sounded like a bug to me.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,721

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    596

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nanonyme View Post
    Do they have some kind of a bug tracker you could tell this on?
    No, I don't. Concerning Torcs, I have patches that improve performance of r300g from 9 fps to 19 fps in one particular situation, and now the game runs somewhere between 15 and 120 fps, being mostly smooth and fun. A few of those patches are state tracker changes and should speed up r600g as well, but some additional changes must be made in r600g before the patches can be used.

    If you start the game, how many fps do you have at the starting position in the track called Forza on r600g?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Torcs caused my Juniper (5750) and X instance to lock up badly. Dmesg nor Xorg.log showed nothing of interest.
    kernel 2.6.37-rc7
    git -mesa, -libdrm and -xf86-video-ati
    xorg-server 1.9.2
    driver r600g

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pallokala View Post
    Torcs caused my Juniper (5750) and X instance to lock up badly.
    Lockup happened in the main menu after clicking the startup image.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •