Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Where do I report this bug?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    137

    Question Where do I report this bug?

    • distro: Arch Linux
    • kernel: 2.6.37 rc8
    • driver: radeon git 20110117
    • libdrm: git 20110117
    • gfx card: sapphire radeon HD 3870


    I can't get a signal on my monitor using my card's DVI to output to my monitor's HDMI port (using a suitable cable), but if I connect my card's DVI to my monitor DVI it works fine.

    Where should I report this? I already have debug logs ready to submit.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdias View Post
    • distro: Arch Linux
    • kernel: 2.6.37 rc8
    • driver: radeon git 20110117
    • libdrm: git 20110117
    • gfx card: sapphire radeon HD 3870


    I can't get a signal on my monitor using my card's DVI to output to my monitor's HDMI port (using a suitable cable), but if I connect my card's DVI to my monitor DVI it works fine.

    Where should I report this? I already have debug logs ready to submit.

    Thanks.
    i have a simmilar bug in the past and i report it multiple times to bridgman directly.

    if i use the dvi port of my card and goes into the dvi input of my hdmi monitor then the x crash on startup.

    the radeon fail if on dvi if the monitor can handle hdmi but its forced to dvi by port or adapter.

    i fix that for me by using an hdmi cable pluged into the hdmi input of my monitor and vga card.

    means the bug still exists.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Doesn't look like the same bug.

    X doesn't crash, in fact I can see the GDM login screen on my second old monitor (should display on both) which is connected using a DVI->VGA cable.

    I get a blank image (monitor doesn't even respond to pressing it's buttons) on my main monitor as soon as KMS initiates in the boot process. The second display displays the boot process flawlessly.

    Using the DVI input of my monitor results in all-good situation and I can see the boot process in both monitors as expected.

    Thank you for trying to help anyway

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdias View Post
    Doesn't look like the same bug.

    X doesn't crash, in fact I can see the GDM login screen on my second old monitor (should display on both) which is connected using a DVI->VGA cable.
    bugs.freedesktop.org - maybe file under xorg, component -> driver/radeon

    Please do not report bugs to me personally via P.M.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    980

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    i have a simmilar bug in the past and i report it multiple times to bridgman directly.
    Oh, I always report my Linux bugs to Bill Gates.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mdias View Post
    Doesn't look like the same bug.

    X doesn't crash, in fact I can see the GDM login screen on my second old monitor (should display on both) which is connected using a DVI->VGA cable.

    I get a blank image (monitor doesn't even respond to pressing it's buttons) on my main monitor as soon as KMS initiates in the boot process. The second display displays the boot process flawlessly.

    Using the DVI input of my monitor results in all-good situation and I can see the boot process in both monitors as expected.

    Thank you for trying to help anyway
    i only use 1 monitor means i can not see the difference between 1 monitor don't display or an crash

    maybe i use wrong words. i found out an software workarround if i start in init3 save mode first and then restart with init 6 then the monitor works on dvi input.

    maybe its not the same bug

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by monraaf View Post
    Oh, I always report my Linux bugs to Bill Gates.
    you can't thats why windows suck.

    But i can send a bug-report to Linus Torvald.

    this is on of the point thats make linux a winner

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Please do not report bugs to me personally via P.M.
    maybe because of the 1 minute edit limit ?
    or because your 100 message message box is all-ways full ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    bugs.freedesktop.org - maybe file under xorg, component -> driver/radeon

    Please do not report bugs to me personally via P.M.
    I know, that's why I didn't bother you

    Thanks for your help, I reported the bug.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •