Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: ATI crashes and changes resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default ATI crashes and changes resolution

    I posted this issue on the Mint forums but got no reply. So I apologize for cross posting.

    This was observed on Tux Racer (or whatever name it goes by), running on the new Mint Debian edition (which is basically Debian Squeeze).

    Hardware is T30 Thinkpad, Radeon 7500, screen resolution is 1024x768.

    When I start Tux Racer, everything looks fine, music plays, menu works. However, when I initiate a race, it crashes, blank screen for a moment, and suddenly my system is now set to 800x600.

    If I run in a terminal, I see this:

    %%% etracer warning: Attempt to bind to Texture unloaded texture: `b-herring_run_icon'

    drmRadeonCmdBuffer: -12. Kernel failed to parse or rejected command stream. See dmesg for more info.

    Checking dmesg doesn't tell me anything:

    [ 193.838254] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Failed to parse relocation -12!

    I'd like to learn about what's happening, and if there's a fix.

    John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    768

    Default

    Sounds like a driver bug. If it still happens with the latest kernel, libdrm and mesa, it would be useful to file a bug.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    The mode change is due to the 3D app changing the mode and then exiting without changing it back due to the command stream getting rejected by the kernel. You can use xrandr to change the mode back. I'd try a newer mesa or kernel and see if that helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rohcQaH View Post
    Sounds like a driver bug. If it still happens with the latest kernel, libdrm and mesa, it would be useful to file a bug.
    Kernel is 2.6.32-5-686. Figuring out how to install a later kernel is probably beyond what I am able/willing to do. But I do appreciate the input, to shed some light on the problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    The mode change is due to the 3D app changing the mode and then exiting without changing it back due to the command stream getting rejected by the kernel. You can use xrandr to change the mode back. I'd try a newer mesa or kernel and see if that helps.
    So the mode change is not really relevant, because if it hadn't crashed, I would never have noticed that this particular portion of the app runs at 800x600. Thanks for the info.

    John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    933

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nesredep View Post
    Kernel is 2.6.32-5-686. Figuring out how to install a later kernel is probably beyond what I am able/willing to do.
    It's pretty easy if it's debian based: http://liquorix.net/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darkbasic View Post
    It's pretty easy if it's debian based: http://liquorix.net/
    Ok, I might just use Clonezilla or Redo to save a copy of my system, and go to liquorix to see what I can learn. Thanks.

    John

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darkbasic View Post
    It's pretty easy if it's debian based: http://liquorix.net/
    How about that, the ATI/kernel problem goes away when using the latest Liquorix kernel! I dunno what downsides might appear, since Liquorix is geared for modern desktops, and I'm using an aged Thinkpad laptop.

    Many thanks to all on Phoronix who helped me.

    John

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    933

    Default

    You don't need clonezilla, when you install a new kernel from liquorix you will still be able to choose your old kernel from grub.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darkbasic View Post
    You don't need clonezilla, when you install a new kernel from liquorix you will still be able to choose your old kernel from grub.
    Yes, but in the past I have broken my carefully customized systems often enough that I'm paranoid. A few minutes spent making a backup seems a small price to pay.

    In any case, the liquorix kernel seems to work fine.

    John

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •