Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Wine 1.3.12 Brings Initial DOSBox Integration

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,788

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unimatrix View Post
    So on your planet people need to install Windows to run .NET stuff and DOS to run the old DOS executables.
    For DOS executables on Windows, on my planet we use the Windows version of DOSBox.

  2. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Not sure why this is useful. If I wanted to run a DOS program in DOSBox, I would not run it in Wine in the first place, I would run it in DOSBox
    Wine won't ship with DOSBox at all. Basically what this is all about is that when Wine encounters a DOS executable it will do 'dosbox appname.exe' (in a slightly smarter way). It is all about offloading work to a dosbox binary IF it is around. Just to make things more user friendly and it would allow us to get rid of our DOS code at some point (not sure if there are plans for that).

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    118

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
    i really wish the wine developers would focus more on directx than on things that can already be accomplished in other software. dosbox does not need to be implemented into wine. i haven't really used wine in about 2 years but from what i noticed, it barely got any better since the last time i used it.
    I agree with you. Dosbox isn't anything useful for me in Wine and nobody is eagerly waiting to see it in Wine.

    I also noticed that the fact that Wine is getting better very slow is that skilled developers continuously prefer to do easy tasks like
    Convert XYZ to ZYX
    or
    Pass 'something that is called XYZ' as 'the same but called ZYX'

    In my opinion both above tasks + dosbox is waste of human resources -> time -> money
    Last edited by NSLW; 01-22-2011 at 02:12 PM. Reason: lack of word

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    40

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Not sure why this is useful. If I wanted to run a DOS program in DOSBox, I would not run it in Wine in the first place, I would run it in DOSBox
    Not always. There is software for Windows that launches DOS programs or scripts for specific tasks. Almost anyone who has worked with Windows at some point would have occasionally seen a black box flash by. Others don't even try to hide it and just launch a DOS program when it needs to, sometimes even interactive. In Wine, that could have been a problem, but not anymore.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,102

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by W3ird_N3rd View Post
    Not always. There is software for Windows that launches DOS programs or scripts for specific tasks. Almost anyone who has worked with Windows at some point would have occasionally seen a black box flash by. Others don't even try to hide it and just launch a DOS program when it needs to, sometimes even interactive. In Wine, that could have been a problem, but not anymore.
    Launching a cmd.exe console is NOT the same as running a DOS program.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,130

    Default

    I agree with you. Dosbox isn't anything useful for me in Wine and nobody is eagerly waiting to see it in Wine.
    I am waiting for Dosbox integration, actually.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,102

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStar View Post
    I am waiting for Dosbox integration, actually.
    Out of curiosity, what for?

    It seems like a reasonable feature for Wine to implement, but I can't think of much it would actually affect.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Well, the idea behind DOSBox integration is that if it works well Wine doesn't have to implement / fix DOS support itself, VM86 support on 64-bit Linux in particular. Although pretty rare, there's still a reasonable amount of Win16 / Win32 applications that will spawn a DOS application at some point, e.g. during installation.

    Quote Originally Posted by NSLW View Post
    I also noticed that the fact that Wine is getting better very slow is that skilled developers continuously prefer to do easy tasks like
    Convert XYZ to ZYX
    or
    Pass 'something that is called XYZ' as 'the same but called ZYX'
    As opposed to complaining on the internet, I suppose. For the record, there are certainly more exciting things to work on than doing cleanups, but those need to happen at some point if you want to keep maintainable code.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chewi View Post
    Can someone explain this DOSBox integration in a little more detail? When would DOS not be supported natively? When running on a non-x86/x64 arch? But don't you run Wine through QEMU in this case?
    VM86 mode is not available from long mode (x64). It still works on x64 processors if running an x86 kernel, but it's not available when running an x64 one.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    219

    Default

    why does WINE need to do this. I mean Dosbox plus Launcher " at least whats available for the Haiku OS already does this automatically". you just double click the .exe and the program runs if its supported by dos box. Here I show this in the following screen shots.I am sure linux has similar capabilitys.

    I haven't used dosbox on linux yet but I plan to migrate most of my office machines to linux/wine to get them off windows. I have had my last bout with flash base viral intrusions into my data.








    http://www.dumpt.com/img/links.php?f...o8squzsyrt.png
    http://www.dumpt.com/img/links.php?f...hf07t5ddbw.png
    http://www.dumpt.com/img/links.php?f...g4te5vo2yz.png

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •