Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: GTS450 can I overclock it?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    126

    Default GTS450 can I overclock it?

    Hello people

    I've just got this inno3d gts450. Its a stock card with standard clock speeds and as far as I can tell it doesn't get hot too much (70 C max in tropics demo all settings full). I wonder can I and how much can I overclock this card? And I'll be gratefull if you can add instructions how to do that coz I've no idea, its my first nvidia on linux. Is it safe to do it? Thank you so much in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    It is your first nvidia on linux.
    And your question being your 53's post.
    With previous 52 posts trolling how bad opensource radeon is, and how good nvidia blob is without ever using nvidia on linux.

    Dude, you suck. Sorry to say that. Now google for "coolbits" and please stop trolling.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,532

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    Dude, you suck. Sorry to say that. Now google for "coolbits" and please stop trolling.
    Coolbits doesn't work on Fermi GPU's yet.

    To answer the original posters question. OC'ing in linux on Fermi based cards at the moment cannot be done via the drivers. If you want to overclock in linux you will have to currently flash the bios with the new values.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Thanks, I'll wait till its supported then. The performance of the card in ubuntu is identical to or higher than the factory overclocked cards in windose anyway.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    It is your first nvidia on linux.
    And your question being your 53's post.
    With previous 52 posts trolling how bad opensource radeon is, and how good nvidia blob is without ever using nvidia on linux.

    Dude, you suck. Sorry to say that. Now google for "coolbits" and please stop trolling.
    My thoughts exactly. I won't even bother wasting time on his future posts anymore.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    i have nvidia 570 gtx and i cannot overclock

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Device0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Option "Coolbits" "1" ---------- is here!!
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24

    and i reply about nvclock fails to work
    http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...d=1#post182057

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    i have nvidia 570 gtx and i cannot overclock

    Code:
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "Coolbits" "1"     ----------  is here!!
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
    and i reply about nvclock fails to work
    to thread: People willing to test nvclock

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Torrington, Ct. USA
    Posts
    150

    Default

    @dj--alex - As mentioned before in this thread, you currently cannot overclock a Fermi card (GTX(s)4xx, GTX5xx) using coolbits. Your only option right now is to flash your bios using nvflash.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •