Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 63

Thread: KDE 4.6.0 Has Arrived

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    557

    Default

    Strike that:
    There's one issue that I am aware of between nVidia (?) and KDE (most likely KDE related).
    Somehow the display on two of my 4.6rc machine simply refuses to go to sleep. [1]
    In-order to solve it, I'm forced to:
    Code:
    $ sleep 30s; xset dpms force suspend
    Ctrl-Alt-L
    - Gilboa
    [1] https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=261005
    DEV: Intel S2600C0, 2xE52658V2, 32GB, 4x2TB, GTX680, F20/x86_64, Dell U2711.
    SRV: Intel S5520SC, 2xX5680, 36GB, 4x2TB, GTX550, F20/x86_64, Dell U2412..
    BACK: Tyan Tempest i5400XT, 2xE5335, 8GB, 3x1.5TB, 9800GTX, F20/x86-64.
    LAP: ASUS N56VJ, i7-3630QM, 16GB, 1TB, 635M, F20/x86_64.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gilboa View Post
    Strike that:
    There's one issue that I am aware of between nVidia (?) and KDE (most likely KDE related).
    Somehow the display on two of my 4.6rc machine simply refuses to go to sleep. [1]
    In-order to solve it, I'm forced to:
    Code:
    $ sleep 30s; xset dpms force suspend
    Ctrl-Alt-L
    - Gilboa
    [1] https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=261005
    I remember something about PowerDevil power profiles changing format in this version. Maybe it is related to this. Maybe resetting the power profiles to default ones helps fixing the problem?

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,099

    Default

    Yeah, had to redo my power profiles because they stopped working properly.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsiolkovsky View Post
    I've seen some blog posts and reports that KWin 4.6 works much better with NVidia drivers as they have put in some workarounds the problems that these drivers have. But I can't say first-hand since it has been quite some time since I had a NVidia card, all AMD/ATI here and all work fine with open source drivers, even the old Radeon 9600 in my 6 year old computer.
    Thanks for the info. I like KDE a lot and KDE 4.5 seemed like a step in the right direction as far as it working better with Nvidia. I was hoping they were still working on it.

    The problem with Nvidia open source graphics is that you get no 3D support. Desktop effects, 3D games and other assorted things won't work. I'm a gamer, so that doesn't sit well with me, I always have to install the proprietary drivers for my Nvidia card.

    Quote Originally Posted by gilboa
    I'm not aware of any outstand issues between KDE 4.x and nVidia.
    There were a lot of problems, especially with the earlier 4.X builds. It's been discussed quite a bit on the KDE forums. The plasma desktop didn't play nice with the Nvidia proprietary drivers and, as I said above, Nvidia graphics adapters don't work all that well with the open source drivers. I haven't experienced as bad of problems as some people have (depends on your card) but I can't say it performs as well as when I used to use the Intel graphics adapter built into my motherboard.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SciFiDude79 View Post
    Does anybody know if it plays nice with Nvidia graphics cards?
    If you're unlucky NVidia drivers 260 and newer can cause Plasma crashes. 256.x is not affected.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Awesomeness View Post
    If you're unlucky NVidia drivers 260 and newer can cause Plasma crashes. 256.x is not affected.
    Sounds fun. I guess I'll just have to do a little testing with KDe 4.6 and see how my card handles it.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,126

    Default

    Oh great, I upgraded my Arch installation and now Plasma crashes as soon as I open any maximized window. R600c here.

    Way to go, KDE!

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,779

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStar View Post
    Oh great, I upgraded my Arch installation and now Plasma crashes as soon as I open any maximized window. R600c here.

    Way to go, KDE!
    Works OK with r600g here.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    94

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Works OK with r600g here.
    Also works just fine here with r600g (mesa from trunk) on Gentoo

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,582

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tsiolkovsky View Post
    Also works just fine here with r600g (mesa from trunk) on Gentoo
    Indeed, looks like Blackstar is pointing fingers at the wrong group again.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •