Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Unable to get direct rendering w/ HD 5770, Kernel 2.6.37 and mesa 7.10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    137

    Default Unable to get direct rendering w/ HD 5770, Kernel 2.6.37 and mesa 7.10

    Am using Arch-testing x86_64 on an i7 930, Gigabyte X58A-UD5 mobo and Gigabyte HD 5770. Arch's testing repo comes with/I have installed the 2.6.37 kernel and Mesa 7.10.

    My lsmod output:
    Code:
    icaria @ archbox ~
    $ lsmod
    Module                  Size  Used by
    ipv6                  280810  38 
    hid_logitech           12312  0 
    ff_memless              4979  1 hid_logitech
    joydev                 10183  0 
    snd_hda_codec_hdmi     22593  1 
    usbhid                 36375  1 hid_logitech
    hid                    77863  2 hid_logitech,usbhid
    usb_storage            43276  1 
    uas                     8170  0 
    snd_hda_codec_realtek   295557  1 
    snd_seq_dummy           1479  0 
    snd_seq_oss            29368  0 
    snd_seq_midi_event      5516  1 snd_seq_oss
    snd_seq                50594  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_seq_device          5281  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
    snd_hda_intel          21837  0 
    snd_pcm_oss            39669  0 
    snd_hda_codec          74609  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
    radeon                920204  2 
    snd_hwdep               6222  1 snd_hda_codec
    snd_mixer_oss          17858  1 snd_pcm_oss
    snd_pcm                72481  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_codec
    ttm                    52821  1 radeon
    ata_generic             3375  0 
    drm_kms_helper         26587  1 radeon
    uhci_hcd               22230  0 
    snd_timer              19537  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
    drm                   173731  4 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
    snd                    58938  12 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer
    firewire_ohci          26921  0 
    ide_pci_generic         2956  0 
    xhci_hcd               64394  0 
    iTCO_wdt               10925  0 
    evdev                   9361  4 
    r8169                  36286  0 
    i2c_algo_bit            4927  1 radeon
    firewire_core          49974  1 firewire_ohci
    ide_core               90265  1 ide_pci_generic
    soundcore               6161  1 snd
    i7core_edac            16266  0 
    i2c_i801                8230  0 
    ehci_hcd               37571  0 
    mii                     3842  1 r8169
    sg                     25972  0 
    wmi                     8061  0 
    i2c_core               19078  5 radeon,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2c_algo_bit,i2c_i801
    iTCO_vendor_support     1817  1 iTCO_wdt
    snd_page_alloc          7361  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    button                  4882  0 
    pcspkr                  1835  0 
    crc_itu_t               1313  1 firewire_core
    shpchp                 26725  0 
    serio_raw               4566  0 
    edac_core              35034  1 i7core_edac
    processor              25265  0 
    usbcore               139048  7 usbhid,usb_storage,uas,uhci_hcd,xhci_hcd,ehci_hcd
    pci_hotplug            24655  1 shpchp
    ext4                  334379  3 
    mbcache                 5802  1 ext4
    jbd2                   69898  1 ext4
    crc16                   1313  1 ext4
    sr_mod                 15402  0 
    cdrom                  36363  1 sr_mod
    sd_mod                 27120  6 
    ahci                   20369  0 
    libahci                17952  1 ahci
    ata_piix               21670  3 
    pata_jmicron            2464  0 
    pata_acpi               3296  0 
    libata                169364  6 ata_generic,ahci,libahci,ata_piix,pata_jmicron,pata_acpi
    floppy                 57559  0 
    scsi_mod              125814  6 usb_storage,uas,sg,sr_mod,sd_mod,libata
    My Xorg.0.log:
    http://pastebin.com/6TM6nmaH
    More succinctly:
    Code:
    icaria @ archbox ~
    $ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep -i disabled
    [   503.126] (II) RADEON(0): KMS Color Tiling: disabled
    [   503.410] (II) RADEON(0): GPU accel disabled or not working, using shadowfb for KMS
    [   503.414] (==) RADEON(0): Backing store disabled
    [   503.415] (WW) RADEON(0): Direct rendering disabled
    [   503.415] (II) RADEON(0): Acceleration disabled
    [   503.415] (II) RADEON(0): RandR 1.2 enabled, ignore the following RandR disabled message.
    [   503.415] (--) RandR disabled
    KMS is working but direct rendering and Xv are not. Glxinfo gives me:
    Code:
    icaria @ archbox ~
    $ glxinfo
    name of display: :0.0
    display: :0  screen: 0
    direct rendering: Yes
    server glx vendor string: SGI
    server glx version string: 1.4
    server glx extensions:
        GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, 
        GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, GLX_OML_swap_method, 
        GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_hyperpipe, 
        GLX_SGIX_swap_barrier, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_SGIX_pbuffer, 
        GLX_MESA_copy_sub_buffer, GLX_INTEL_swap_event
    client glx vendor string: Mesa Project and SGI
    client glx version string: 1.4
    client glx extensions:
        GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_import_context, 
        GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_MESA_copy_sub_buffer, 
        GLX_MESA_swap_control, GLX_OML_swap_method, GLX_OML_sync_control, 
        GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGI_swap_control, GLX_SGI_video_sync, 
        GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_SGIX_pbuffer, 
        GLX_SGIX_visual_select_group, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, 
        GLX_INTEL_swap_event
    GLX version: 1.4
    GLX extensions:
        GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_import_context, 
        GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_OML_swap_method, 
        GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_SGIX_pbuffer, 
        GLX_INTEL_swap_event
    OpenGL vendor string: Mesa Project
    OpenGL renderer string: Software Rasterizer
    OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10
    OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
    I'm in the video group and the root account gives me the same results. Any help would be appreciated.

    Also, I'm using this PC on a Samsung HDTV and the radeon driver underscans the image, despite the fact that this HDTV doesn't overscan the image. It's easy enough to disable in X using xrandr but that doesn't fix the kernel framebuffer's own underscanning, which makes text rather difficult to read. I imagine it's as simple as adding a line to /etc/modprobe.d/radeon-kms.conf but I have no idea what to add.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,571

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by etnlWings View Post
    Am using Arch-testing x86_64 on an i7 930, Gigabyte X58A-UD5 mobo and Gigabyte HD 5770. Arch's testing repo comes with/I have installed the 2.6.37 kernel and Mesa 7.10.
    First guess is that you are missing microcode files. Can you look in (or post) `dmesg | grep drm` and look for microcode load failures ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    137

    Default

    I had been wondering if Arch had an equivalent to Debian's linux-firmware-nonfree but I've been unable to find anything of that sort.

    Code:
    # dmesg | grep -i drm
    [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    [drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
    [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (JUNIPER 0x1002:0x68B8).
    [drm] register mmio base: 0xFBEC0000
    [drm] register mmio size: 131072
    [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=1024M, BAR=256M
    [drm] RAM width 128bits DDR
    [drm] radeon: 1024M of VRAM memory ready
    [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
    [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
    [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
    [drm] Loading JUNIPER Microcode
    [drm] ring test succeeded in 1 usecs
    [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
    [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
    [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
    [drm] Connector 0:
    [drm]   DisplayPort
    [drm]   HPD4
    [drm]   DDC: 0x6440 0x6440 0x6444 0x6444 0x6448 0x6448 0x644c 0x644c
    [drm]   Encoders:
    [drm]     DFP1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2
    [drm] Connector 1:
    [drm]   HDMI-A
    [drm]   HPD5
    [drm]   DDC: 0x6470 0x6470 0x6474 0x6474 0x6478 0x6478 0x647c 0x647c
    [drm]   Encoders:
    [drm]     DFP2: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2
    [drm] Connector 2:
    [drm]   DVI-I
    [drm]   HPD1
    [drm]   DDC: 0x6460 0x6460 0x6464 0x6464 0x6468 0x6468 0x646c 0x646c
    [drm]   Encoders:
    [drm]     DFP3: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1
    [drm]     CRT2: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC2
    [drm] Connector 3:
    [drm]   DVI-I
    [drm]   HPD6
    [drm]   DDC: 0x6450 0x6450 0x6454 0x6454 0x6458 0x6458 0x645c 0x645c
    [drm]   Encoders:
    [drm]     DFP4: INTERNAL_UNIPHY
    [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
    [drm] Internal thermal controller with fan control
    [drm] radeon: power management initialized
    [drm] fb mappable at 0xE0141000
    [drm] vram apper at 0xE0000000
    [drm] size 8294400
    [drm] fb depth is 24
    [drm]    pitch is 7680
    [drm] force priority to high
    [drm] force priority to high
    fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    drm: registered panic notifier
    [drm] Initialized radeon 2.7.0 20080528 for 0000:03:00.0 on minor 0
    [drm] force priority to high
    [drm] force priority to high
    [drm] force priority to high

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,332

    Default

    LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxinfo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    137

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,675

    Default

    Did you install the needed firmware and updated the initrd?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Did you install the needed firmware and updated the initrd?
    As I said, I was unable to find anything of that sort for Arch. The Arch wiki mentions nothing about firmware, so I'm guessing Arch still packages up the non-free bits with the linux-firmware package. Enabling all the optional repos in pacman.conf and updating, no extra firmware packages are available.

    As for init, it doesn't look like fiddling with that is necessary. lsmod seems to be listing everything needed and I've had a couple of kernel updates so far, which updates init for you. If you notice something I'm missing from the supplied info, please, point it out to me.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    137

    Default

    FYI, between this issue and ALSA refusing to work, I've given up on Arch for the time being. You can close this thread.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •