Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can't clone with X1600 and fglrx 8.37.6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default Can't clone with X1600 and fglrx 8.37.6

    I am running FC6 (2.6.20) with my ATI X1600, and fglrx 8.37.6. I have an LCD display on one head, and a projector on the other. No matter what I do, I cannot get the outputs to clone. My xorg.conf is below. Any ideas?

    As a clue, I have one line commented out in the ServerLayout section. With this line commented out, I get one BIG display that scrolls left-right onscreen. If I uncomment this line, I get one screen per display, and the cursor moves between them (split desktop).

    How can I get a clone?

    Thanks,
    Michelle


    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Multihead layout"
    Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]" 0 0
    # Screen 1 "aticonfig-Screen[1]" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    Option "Xinerama" "off"
    Option "Clone" "on"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe" # Double buffering
    Load "vnc"
    Load "extmod"
    # Next line is for ATI proprietary driver
    Load "glx"
    # Next line is for open source ati driver
    # Load "dri"
    EndSection

    # Test - do I need this?
    Section "DRI"
    Group 0
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

    # ATI does not support composite, so disable
    Section "Extensions"
    # Option "Composite" "disable"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    # Next line is to prevent error AIGLX error: dlsym for __driCreateNewScreen_20050727 failed
    Option "AIGLX" "off"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    # Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    # Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "VendorName" "Sony"
    Option "ModelName" "VPL-HS51"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    Modeline "1280x720_75" 74.48 1280 1336 1472 1664 720 721 724 746 +hsync
    Modeline "1280x720_60" 60.46 1280 1328 1456 1632 720 721 724 741 +hsync
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[1]"
    # Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    # Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "VendorName" "SilverstoneTek"
    Option "ModelName" "Internal Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    Modeline "1280x720_75" 74.48 1280 1336 1472 1664 720 721 724 746 +hsync
    Modeline "1280x720_60" 60.46 1280 1328 1456 1632 720 721 724 741 +hsync
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    Driver "fglrx"
    BusID "PCI:6:0:0"
    Option "OverlayOnCRTC2" "1"
    Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
    Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
    Option "DesktopSetup" "horizontal"
    Option "TexturedVideo" "on"
    Option "TexturedVideoSync" "off"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Device[1]"
    Driver "fglrx"
    BusID "PCI:6:0:0"
    Screen 1
    Option "OverlayOnCRTC2" "1"
    Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
    Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
    Option "DesktopSetup" "horizontal"
    Option "TexturedVideo" "on"
    Option "TexturedVideoSync" "off"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
    Device "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x720_75" "1280x720_60"
    EndSubSection
    Option "PasswordFile" "/home/mythtv/.vnc/passwd"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]"
    Device "aticonfig-Device[1]"
    Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[1]"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x720_75" "1280x720_60"
    EndSubSection
    Option "PasswordFile" "/home/mythtv/.vnc/passwd"
    EndSection

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    .ro/.ca
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Like I said last time....with ONE screen and monitor section you get clone mode by default. Also, you have a duplicate Device section for no reason!
    Here's a simple conf that I use on a laptop:
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "Simple Layout"
    	Screen      0  "Screen01" 0 0
    	InputDevice    "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    	InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    	RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    	FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
    	FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
    	FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    	FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
    	FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
    	FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
    	FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
    	FontPath     "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic/"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    	Load  "dbe"
    	SubSection "extmod"
    		Option	    "omit xfree86-dga"
    	EndSubSection
    	Load  "type1"
    	Load  "freetype"
    	Load  "glx"
    	Load  "dri"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Keyboard1"
    	Driver      "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Mouse1"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
    	Option	    "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "Acer"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "Acer"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Laptop Crap"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Mobility_9700"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    
    	Option	    "PseudoColorVisuals" "off"
    	Option	    "Capabilities" "0x00000800"
    	Option	    "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
    	Option	    "VideoOverlay" "on"
    
    	Option	    "DRI" "true"
    	Option	    "backingstore" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen01"
    	Device     "Mobility_9700"
    	Monitor    "Acer"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Notice the parts in bold. It works perfectly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    As you suggested, I removed the second DEVICE, SCREEN and MONITOR sections. ( I didn't see any bolded sections in your posting).

    The result is that I again have two separate displays and the mouse can travel between them (split desktop). The only difference is that display 0 & 1 are now reversed.

    Any other ideas? Thanks,
    Michelle

    Here's my latest xorg.conf

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
            Identifier     "Multihead layout"
            Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]" 0 0
    #       Screen      1  "aticonfig-Screen[1]" RightOf "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
            InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
            Option      "Xinerama" "off"
            Option      "Clone" "on"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
            ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
            Load        "dbe" # Double buffering
            Load        "vnc"
            Load        "extmod"
    # Next line is for ATI proprietary driver
            Load        "glx"
    # Next line is for open source ati driver
    #        Load        "dri"
    EndSection
    
    # Test - do I need this?
    Section "DRI"
            Group 0
            Mode 0666
    EndSection
    
    # ATI does not support composite, so disable
    Section "Extensions"
    #       Option "Composite" "disable"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
            # Next line is to prevent error AIGLX error: dlsym for __driCreateNewScreen_20050727 failed
            Option "AIGLX" "off"
    EndSection 
    
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier  "Keyboard0"
            Driver      "kbd"
            Option      "XkbModel" "pc105"
            Option      "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    #       Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    #       Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
            Option      "VendorName" "Sony"
            Option      "ModelName" "VPL-HS51"
            Option      "DPMS" "true"
            Modeline    "1280x720_75"   74.48  1280 1336 1472 1664  720 721 724 746 +hsync
            Modeline    "1280x720_60"   60.46  1280 1328 1456 1632  720 721 724 741 +hsync 
    EndSection
    
    #Section "Monitor"
    #       Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[1]"
    #       Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    #       Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    #       Option      "VendorName" "SilverstoneTek"
    #       Option      "ModelName" "Internal Monitor"
    #       Option      "DPMS" "true"
    #       Modeline    "1280x720_75"   74.48  1280 1336 1472 1664  720 721 724 746 +hsync
    #       Modeline    "1280x720_60"   60.46  1280 1328 1456 1632  720 721 724 741 +hsync
    #EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]"
            Driver      "fglrx"
            BusID       "PCI:6:0:0"
    Option "OverlayOnCRTC2" "1"
    Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
    Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
    Option "DesktopSetup" "horizontal"
    Option "TexturedVideo" "on"
    Option "TexturedVideoSync" "off"
    EndSection
    
    #Section "Device"
    #       Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[1]"
    #       Driver      "fglrx"
    #       BusID       "PCI:6:0:0"
    #       Screen      1
    #Option "OverlayOnCRTC2" "1"
    #Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
    #Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
    #Option "DesktopSetup" "horizontal"
    ##Option "TexturedVideo" "on"
    #Option "TexturedVideoSync" "off"
    #EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
            Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]"
            Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     24
                    Modes     "1280x720_75" "1280x720_60"
            EndSubSection
            Option     "PasswordFile"     "/home/mythtv/.vnc/passwd"
    EndSection
    
    #Section "Screen"
    #       Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[1]"
    ##      Device     "aticonfig-Device[1]"
    #       Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[1]"
    #       DefaultDepth     24
    #       SubSection "Display"
    #               Viewport   0 0
    #               Depth     24
    #               Modes     "1280x720_75" "1280x720_60"
    #       EndSubSection
    #        Option     "PasswordFile"     "/home/mythtv/.vnc/passwd"
    #EndSection

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    .ro/.ca
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Option "DesktopSetup" "horizontal"
    "horizontal" means Big Desktop. Either change it to "clone", "mirror" or remove it.

    From "aticonfig --help" (which you should use) :
    --desktop-setup=STRING
    Change the desktop setup for multiple display adapters.
    STRING can be one of:
    single 1 screen, second dark
    mirror 2 screens - same content, identical
    refresh rate/resolution
    Note: This option is NOT supported with Avivo
    clone 2 screens - same content, allows for
    different refresh rates/resolutions
    horizontal 2 screens - one framebuffer,
    screen 1 right of screen 0

    horizontal,reverse 2 screens - one framebuffer,
    screen 1 left of screen 0
    vertical 2 screens - one framebuffer,
    screen 1 above of screen 0
    vertical,reverse 2 screens - one framebuffer,
    screen 1 below of screen 0
    Last edited by Xipeos; 06-09-2007 at 01:34 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Unfortunately, as of the latest ATI driver, aticonfig crashes with a pointer error...so I have to configure by hand. I'll experiment with the settings above and report back if I can make this work. Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    269

    Default

    Add this in the xorg

    Code:
    Copy the following lines to your "Device" Section:
    Code:
    Option "DesktopSetup"  "clone" #Enable Big Desktop
    Option "Mode2"         "1280x1024" #Resolution for second monitor
    Option "DesktopSetup" "LVDS,AUTO" #the types of monitors that is connected LVDS = LCD, CRT, AUTO
    Option "EnablePrivateBackZ" "yes" #Enable 3d support <= May Not Work
    Option "HSync2" "65" #This sets the horizontal sync for the secondary display. 
    Option "VRefresh2" "60" #This sets the refresh rate of the secondary display.
    Of course, don't add this resolution if that's not your native resolution.
    Hopefully you have installed the fglrx dirvers while your LCD was actually connected to the laptop, otherwise you should reinstall them and then add those lines.
    Just letting you know that clone monitors suck. I can't watch video files without a choppy experience. I used to have flawless experience when using only the laptop screen, though. (Most of us can't even watch video files anyhow eversince their last two releases, hehe).
    Last edited by sundown; 06-12-2007 at 04:52 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    .ro/.ca
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sundown View Post
    Add this in the xorg

    Code:
    Copy the following lines to your "Device" Section:
    Code:
    Option "DesktopSetup"  "clone" #Enable Big Desktop
    Option "Mode2"         "1280x1024" #Resolution for second monitor
    Option "DesktopSetup" "LVDS,AUTO" #the types of monitors that is connected LVDS = LCD, CRT, AUTO
    Option "EnablePrivateBackZ" "yes" #Enable 3d support <= May Not Work
    Option "HSync2" "65" #This sets the horizontal sync for the secondary display. 
    Option "VRefresh2" "60" #This sets the refresh rate of the secondary display.
    Of course, don't add this resolution if that's not your native resolution.
    Hopefully you have installed the fglrx dirvers while your LCD was actually connected to the laptop, otherwise you should reinstall them and then add those lines.
    Just letting you know that clone monitors suck. I can't watch video files without a choppy experience. I used to have flawless experience when using only the laptop screen, though. (Most of us can't even watch video files anyhow eversince their last two releases, hehe).

    Mode2, EnablePrivateBackZ, HSync and VRefresh are irrelevant to screen cloning/mirroring.
    Also, from your config Option "DesktopSetup" "LVDS,AUTO" should be EnableMonitor not DesktopSetup which is "auto" by default (this is also irrelevant).

    And I already recommended DesktopSetup "clone"

    eh sorry for attacking you like this

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    I got clone to work....with the device setting as Xipeos & you mentioned above. (My aticonfig crashes due to a big in the latest version - thanks ATI).

    The choppiness comment is interesting. I'm still struggling with choppiness/jerky playback. I may turn off cloning just to see what happens. (Strangely, cloneing worked fine in Windows with smooth display)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •