Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 38

Thread: Wayland Looks To Do Multi-Monitor The Right Way

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elanthis View Post
    New windows are just as likely to pop up on your secondary, head-craning-required, not-even-turned-on display as they are to appear on the main display (in which the action that caused the window to open took place).
    I dont like it either that new windows pop up wherever the mouse pointer currently is.
    It makes you wait for slow-to-start programs to show their stupid window to avoid them popping up when you do other stuff in the meantime.
    Hell, GDM is even so ****ing stupid as to place the greeter window and panel on whichever monitor the cursor is currently on, including a "race condition" that allows the greeter to show up on one display and the panel to show up on another.
    The default display settings for gdm are fucked up. If they have a default for primary monitor, why showing greeter where the mouse is, which is in the middle, which depending on the widths of your monitor might end up on the wrong monitor (like in my case)?
    Then comes the fucked up resolution, that is totally not the sane value you chose in DisplayPreferences for your desktop.
    Now this becomes really FUBAR when you decide to rotate one of your screens. GDM is of course not rotated, so you might end up with the greeter window on the rotated screen.
    Why is it so hard to change settings for the gdm screen? Why not "apply for gdm screen" checkbox in Display Preferences aka gnome-display-properties (another fuck up, the naming).
    There is no much small things to fix in gnome2 and they waste time on that (probably useless) gnome3 thing.

    Oh, and just to top it off, the Linux r600 driver lists my displays in reverse order of Windows, so whenever I change OSes I need to swap cables to get the monitor that's actually in front of my face to be the primary display. Lovely.
    </rant>
    Sorry, but that's just retarded. I mean you. Not only can you place the screens using xrandr, you can do that in Display Preferences.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by md1032 View Post
    How is this better? There's nothing preventing an X11 driver from doing exactly the same thing to implement RandR's multi-screen support.
    Yes, I'm no specialist, but this should be implementable in X (one surface per screen to avoid hitting the render area limitations).

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    912

    Default

    I run E16 (sometimes play with E17) - that's rather well suited to dual monitors (or more I suppose). No xinerama though - I prefer running two instances of X. Still, it works like a charm, don't have any issues at all.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mirv View Post
    I run E16 (sometimes play with E17) - that's rather well suited to dual monitors (or more I suppose). No xinerama though - I prefer running two instances of X. Still, it works like a charm, don't have any issues at all.
    Two instances of X? How does it work, can you have a spanning desktop? can you move windows between monitors?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    912

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by misiu_mp View Post
    Two instances of X? How does it work, can you have a spanning desktop? can you move windows between monitors?
    No - windows are constrained to the monitor they're created on. Some programs support this kind of setup (gimp, for instance), but they're not common.
    It's not for everybody - I have no particular use for dragging windows across monitors (no reason - just tend to keep things where they are), and I doubt such a setup would play as nice with GNOME, KDE, etc, but for me it's so useful now that I wouldn't want it any other way. It also has no issue with different monitor resolutions.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    880

    Default

    While they're there I hope they have a look at how they do a multi-card, multi-monitor desktop. I'd be nice to be able to have a unified desktop across two or more video cards.

    It does sound like there'd be a basis for the compositor to deal with this in a sane way.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    332

    Default

    is it possible with this to write a simple application, that allows me cage the cursor to a specific area on the screen, like my wine window?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,738

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mugginz View Post
    While they're there I hope they have a look at how they do a multi-card, multi-monitor desktop. I'd be nice to be able to have a unified desktop across two or more video cards.

    It does sound like there'd be a basis for the compositor to deal with this in a sane way.
    there was discussion on the mailing list about this a while back and afaik it is something they looked into

    but there are so much things todo in wayland and there are not many devs working on it full time

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mirv View Post
    I run E16 (sometimes play with E17) - that's rather well suited to dual monitors (or more I suppose). No xinerama though - I prefer running two instances of X. Still, it works like a charm, don't have any issues at all.
    I'm curious as to how you got it working exactly. Last year I was trying to configure a box in a zaphod configuration, using two instances of X and got all sorts of errors (I had success to some degree with FreeBSD though).
    Can you go as far as using multiple X instances on different users, each with his/her keyboard and mouse?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elanthis View Post
    Oh, and just to top it off, the Linux r600 driver lists my displays in reverse order of Windows, so whenever I change OSes I need to swap cables to get the monitor that's actually in front of my face to be the primary display. Lovely.</rant>
    Right... ever considdered draging around the order of displays under Windows? Now you don't need to change cables anymore

    On Windows XP you can right-click the desktop -> properties -> screen resolution (or something)

    You now see multiple screens numbered. So if you have dual head you'll see a blue square with number 1 and a blue square with number 2 on it. Simply drag the squares left/right/up/down, relative from each other, and you've set your display order.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •