Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: HELP!!! FGLRX causing screen hardlocks

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    69

    Unhappy HELP!!! FGLRX causing screen hardlocks

    My problem is unique, and no one has been of any help so far. I have tried posting in fedora forum as well as other linux forums. I own a MSI X1800 XT (Model RX1800XT-VT-2D-512E) 512 MB graphics card. Versions upto 8.32.5 of fglrx run without a hitch on it. Versions from 8.33.6 onwards always result in a black screen upon reboot, and the system hangs. I cant even press Ctrl+Alt+F4/F1 etc. to get in to the console. I have tried all versions till the latest 8.37.6. The problem is not unique to fedora alone, as the same problem creeps up even if I use OpenSuse, Ubuntu or any other distro. The problem is newer kernels require newer fglrx versions, and so I am unable to get hardware acceleration in any of the new kernel ( 2.6.19 onwards) based distros.

    My configuration is as follows:

    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
    Gigabyte GA-K8N51-GMF9 Motherboard (Nforce 430/Geforce 6100)
    1 GB DDR400 RAM
    MSI X1800XT 512 MB graphics
    Cooler master 600W PSU
    Samsung Syncmaster 793s 17" CRT display
    OS: Fedora core 6 x86, Ubuntu Feisty fawn x64

    I have tried doing the following:-

    1. Manually running the .run file, building rpms/debs with the --Fedora/FC6 option and then editing xorg.conf and disabling composite extension to get DRI.
    2. Downloading pre-built kernel modules from livna using yum
    3. Using apt to download restricted drivers in ubuntu feisty fawn

    All drivers from 8.33.6 to 8.37.6 just cause the same problem on restart. The xorg.0.log shows some DRM module error. Please help me.

    Regards,

    Karthik Ramgopal
    India

  2. #2

    Default

    You should check the /var/log for kernel logs. I think fglrx may have caused a kernel panic.

    That's probably the only thing I can surmise from this.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    .ro/.ca
    Posts
    232

    Default

    It may be that your X Server crashes without restoring your display. It should return to the console even though you can't see it, so try for example "shutdown -r now" or ssh from a different computer. You may also want to try "RSEISUB" (hold alt+sysrq while typing rseisub) if your kernel is compiled with Magic SysRq support (which, as far as I know, doesn't work after a kernel panic).

    Even is this is not the case, you'll have to post your whole Xorg.log, and check that syslog like niniendowarrior said.
    Last edited by Xipeos; 06-20-2007 at 01:32 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default

    here i am attaching part of my xorg log where the error occurs.. its on ubuntu 7.04 with the apt restricted fglrx drivers... and yes i hav tried ssh/telnet/ftp etc.. the computer does not respond at all and the connection times out..

    drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
    drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
    drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
    drmOpenDevice: Open failed
    drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
    drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
    drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
    drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
    drmGetBusid returned ''

    please help..

    regards,

    Karthik

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    .ro/.ca
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karthikrg View Post
    drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
    drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
    drmOpenDevice: open result is -1, (No such device or address)
    drmOpenDevice: Open failed
    drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
    drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
    drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
    drmOpenDevice: open result is 7, (OK)
    drmGetBusid returned ''
    That's not an error, just DRM pooling all ports for a video card (noticed that it says OK?)

    I doubt anyone can help you unless you give more info (as before, post or check the logs yourself). Try "grep EE Xorg.log" for errors or WW for warnings (credits to lenrek).
    Last edited by Xipeos; 06-20-2007 at 03:47 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default

    But there is no option to attach files.. []

    I have tarred my xorg.conf as well as xorg.0.log as one file. The problem is how to send it 2 u?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    .ro/.ca
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karthikrg View Post
    But there is no option to attach files.. []

    I have tarred my xorg.conf as well as xorg.0.log as one file. The problem is how to send it 2 u?
    You can paste them on something like pastebin.com and then paste the link here.

    LATER EDIT:
    Your Xorg.log kinda ends abruptly. If that's everything, then the kernel panic that niniendowarrior suggested is likely the cause. The kernel panic trace should be somewhere in /var/log
    Last edited by Xipeos; 06-20-2007 at 04:20 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Here is the link to an attachment of the same i posted on fedora forums..

    http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/att...chmentid=11964

    save it as a tar.gz file and open it..

    Regards,

    Karthik

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    69

    Default

    http://pastebin.com/932446 --> xorg.conf
    http://pastebin.com/932444 --> xorg.0.log

    Links to the conf files.

    Regards,
    Karthik

  10. #10

    Default

    I had the same problem before, I manage to solve it after reading from somewhere about how to set device section. Below is my setup:

    Code:
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Card0"
            Driver      "fglrx"
            VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
            BoardName   "ATI Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE)"
            Option      "DesktopSetup" "single"
            Option      "ScreenOverlap" "0"
            Option      "GammaCorrectionI" "0x06419064"
            Option      "GammaCorrectionII" "0x06419064"
    # === OpenGL specific profiles/settings ===
            Option      "Capabilities" "0x00000000"
            Option      "CapabilitiesEx" "0x00000000"
    # === Video Overlay for the Xv extension ===
            Option      "VideoOverlay" "on"
    # === OpenGL Overlay ===
            Option      "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
    # === Center Mode (Laptops only) ===
            Option      "Centermode" "off"
    # === Pseudo Color Visuals (8-bit visuals) ===
            Option      "PseudoColorVisuals" "off"
    # === QBS Management ===
            Option      "Stereo" "off"
            Option      "StereoSyncEnable" "1"
    # === FSAA Management ===
            Option      "FSAAEnable" "on"
            Option      "FSAAScale" "1"
            Option      "FSAADisableGamma" "no"
            Option      "FSAACustomizeMSPos" "no"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosX0" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosY0" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosX1" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosY1" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosX2" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosY2" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosX3" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosY3" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosX4" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosY4" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosX5" "0.000000"
            Option      "FSAAMSPosY5" "0.000000"
    # === Misc Options ===
            Option      "UseFastTLS" "2"
            Option      "BlockSignalsOnLock" "on"
            Option      "UseInternalAGPGART" "yes"
            Option      "ForceGenericCPU" "no"
            Option      "ForceMonitors" "notv"
            Option      "TexturedVideo" "on"
            Option      "no_accel" "no"
            Option      "no_dri" "no"
            BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
    EndSection
    I also found from here where its setup looks almost like mine, and also reported as able to solve the hard lock issue.

    Code:
    Section "Device"
       Identifier  "card0"
       Driver      "fglrx"
       Option       "no_accel" "no"
       Option       "no_dri" "no"
       Option       "DynamicClocks" "on"
       Option       "mtrr" "on"
       Option       "DesktopSetup" "Single"
       Option       "ScreenOverlap" "0"
       Option       "Capabilities" "0x00000000"
       Option       "CapabilitiesEx" "0x00000000"
       Option       "VideoOverlay" "on"
       Option       "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
       Option       "CenterMode" "off"
       Option       "PseudoColorVisuals" "off"
       Option       "Stereo" "off"
       Option       "StereoSyncEnable" "1"
       Option       "FSAAEnable" "no"
       Option       "FSAAScale" "1"
       Option       "FSAADisableGamma" "no"
       Option       "FSAACustomizeMSPos" "no"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosX0" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosY0" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosX1" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosY1" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosX2" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosY2" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosX3" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosY3" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosX4" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosY4" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosX5" "0.000000"
       Option       "FSAAMSPosY5" "0.000000"
       Option       "UseFastTLS" "0"
       Option       "BlockSignalsOnLock" "on"
       Option       "UseInternalAGPGART" "no"
       Option       "ForceGenericCPU" "no"
       Option       "KernelModuleParm" "agplock=0"
       Option       "PowerState" "1"
       BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    You may want to use both of our configurations as references, and try if they can solve your problem.

    Good luck!
    Last edited by lenrek; 06-20-2007 at 05:25 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •