Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 69

Thread: AMD Zacate E-350

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    142

    Default

    I did not say that clearly,

    The drive is dm-crypted. When the server boots it asks the administrator for a password. After Entering it, the drive is unlocked. No samba user nor nfs user even "knows" that his mounted shares are encrypted in any way.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fritsch View Post
    My E-350 also serves as a fileserver. NFS for the linux clients and samba for the windows world.

    As primary boot medium I use a Solid State Disk with 60GB. The files are stored on a 2TB WD20EARS drive. This drive is fully encrypted using dm-crypt AES XTS and 512 bit chiffre blocks.
    Hi,
    thanks for the input.
    That chip does 512bit AES at 40MBytes/sec? That's very good. 2x better than I was expecting.

    My current setup, with an "AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+" and aes-xts-plain 256bits returns this:
    $ sync ; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches ; dd if=backup117.bin of=/dev/null bs=1M
    233+1 records in
    233+1 records out
    244697088 bytes (245 MB) copied, 2.49109 s, 98.2 MB/s

    IIRC, with 512bit AES this setup did 40MBytes/sec too.

    Quote Originally Posted by fritsch View Post
    I could get approx 40MB/s transfered over Ethernet - but it is "that" slow because of the crypto stuff. I think unencrypted you really could get maximum of Gigabit Ethernet.

    I/O performance is quite good - let's wait for UVD3 full support on the other side.
    Let's wait for GPU assisted AES!!!! :-)

    Thanks,

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    142

    Default

    Just for the record:

    Code:
    root@host:~# cryptsetup status media
    /dev/mapper/media is active:
      cipher:  aes-xts-plain
      keysize: 512 bits
      device:  /dev/sda1
      offset:  4040 sectors
      size:    3907022904 sectors
      mode:    read/write
    Code:
    root@host:~# hdparm -tT /dev/mapper/media
    /dev/mapper/media:
     Timing cached reads:   1642 MB in  2.00 seconds = 820.48 MB/sec
     Timing buffered disk reads:  110 MB in  3.02 seconds =  36.38 MB/sec
    Approx 40MB/s - better 35MB/s ....

    I will retest over network, when the gigabit connection is back.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Not sure about using hdparm to test luks devices.

    My Athlon outputs this:

    Code:
    # hdparm -tT /dev/mapper/vol1
    
    /dev/mapper/vol1:
     Timing cached reads:   2010 MB in  2.00 seconds = 1005.43 MB/sec
     Timing buffered disk reads:  106 MB in  3.06 seconds =  34.65 MB/sec
    Maybe you can test with some files?
    Thanks,

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fritsch View Post
    When the server boots it asks the administrator for a password. After Entering it, the drive is unlocked. No samba user nor nfs user even "knows" that his mounted shares are encrypted in any way.
    Thank you.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    142

    Default

    Standard dd test (from /dev/zero onto the mounted dmcrypt device)

    Code:
    root@host:/media/data/tosort# dd if=/dev/zero of=test1gb.dat bs=1M count=1000
    1000+0 Datensätze ein
    1000+0 Datensätze aus
    1048576000 Bytes (1,0 GB) kopiert, 22,7055 s, 46,2 MB/s
    Copy 1GB File from SSD to dm-crypt ((file not in memory))
    Code:
    root@host:~# time cp test1gb.dat /media/data/tosort/
    
    real	0m31.584s
    user	0m0.060s
    sys	0m6.090s
    
    => 32.4MB/s
    Copy 1GB file from dm-crypt to ssd:
    Code:
    root@host:~# time cp /media/data/tosort/test1gb.dat /home/me/
    
    real	0m28.669s
    user	0m0.060s
    sys	0m6.520
    
    => 35.7MB/s

    It is clear to me, that these measurements are of no statistically relevance (hat to do at least 284 times the same, sum up and build average, with cleaning caches in between) - but the point into the correct direction :-)

    I think one should get reasonable values between 33MB/s and 45MB/s

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I also have just setup my Asus E35M1-M PRO. I installed debian and am running XBMC 10.0. The va-api does do wonders with my blu-ray quality (1080p) content however some lag does occur. I might try some overclocking or something. If anyone has any tips or questions ill be happy to reply.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default Acceralted Video

    Does VA-API work out of the box with the latest proprietary drivers and XBMC (stable or built from the latest git?)

    -Lyle

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by s0rce View Post
    Does VA-API work out of the box with the latest proprietary drivers and XBMC (stable or built from the latest git?)

    -Lyle
    Well it will work and display video however, there is a bug in version 10 where not enough surfaces are created. This causes some frames to skip back and forth. There is a bug report here that contains a patch. This is currently scheduled to be in release 11.0, but i applied it to 10.1 and video playback is very smooth now. This is a very capable chip. The only downside I find is when your watching blue-ray's and trying to move around the menu's things slow down and the cpu usage jumps up alot. This is to be expected thou and I am confident can be fixed eventually.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi all,

    I just bought this card in the hope of running a NAS + htpc config but so far I have had no luck. I have spent about 30 hours in the last 2 days with no success...

    I tried Sabayon distribution which gave me the best results: everything working out of the box, but once I updated the system it was no longer working...

    I am now running debian 6 because this is my every day's OS and feel at ease with it, however I am not a Linux power user.
    [*]Right now, I am using fglrx drivers 11.3 from ATI website, my desktop is in working in full HD with direct rendering activated. I have black borders, but used the "ugly fix" on my TV settings in order to remove those bars.
    [*]I don't have any sound, and in alsamixer in only shows the SPDIF "sound card". I wish I could use the sound over HDMI.
    [*]In XBMC, VAAPI is enabled in the settings but isn't working during playback: huge CPU load and stuff. I compiled and installed splitted desktop version of gstreamer, didn't help.

    I am totally clueless and willing to give all the command line outputs you want or need to help me.

    Thanks a lot in advance.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •