Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Several issues with phoronix test suite

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9

    Exclamation Several issues with phoronix test suite

    Hi, I used the test suite some time ago to compare some hardware, and wanted to do the same again now, but it seems things aren't working for me as well now as they did.

    First off it decided to force remove a crap load of packages when it tried to install a few dependencies without telling me.

    Second a couple of the files the universe-x group wanted to download failed to verify with the listed MD5SUM, some failed completely, while some took 2-3 tries, by the time it tried to download urbanterror for the fourth time, and padman for the second, I just decided to kill it, and try another suite of tests.

    Third, the mafft computational test died with glibc detected invalid pointer free()s, and crafty completely failed to download.

    If it helps, this is the openbenchmarking results for the computational run:
    http://openbenchmarking.org/result/1...IV-NATASHAQ649

    That said, I'm really looking for a way to compare the difference made by upgrading my Q6600 to a QX6800, if theres a good over all test I can run to compare the two configs, that would be great.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomasu View Post
    Hi, I used the test suite some time ago to compare some hardware, and wanted to do the same again now, but it seems things aren't working for me as well now as they did.

    First off it decided to force remove a crap load of packages when it tried to install a few dependencies without telling me.

    Second a couple of the files the universe-x group wanted to download failed to verify with the listed MD5SUM, some failed completely, while some took 2-3 tries, by the time it tried to download urbanterror for the fourth time, and padman for the second, I just decided to kill it, and try another suite of tests.

    Third, the mafft computational test died with glibc detected invalid pointer free()s, and crafty completely failed to download.

    If it helps, this is the openbenchmarking results for the computational run:
    http://openbenchmarking.org/result/1...IV-NATASHAQ649

    That said, I'm really looking for a way to compare the difference made by upgrading my Q6600 to a QX6800, if theres a good over all test I can run to compare the two configs, that would be great.
    Hi

    - Regarding the removal of packages, that would all be whatever your package management system is doing. PTS just tells the distribution's package management system the packages it needs for the given tests, not to uninstall anything.
    - MD5 failures occur when the hosting mirrors remove the files or change them otherwise and haven't yet been updated in the test profiles to reflect new mirrors.
    - Report the MAFFT problem upstream to that project.

    Some of my favorite CPU tests are: povray c-ray openssl build-linux-kernel mafft x264 etc.... basically look at some of the other CPU tests or Phoronix CPU articles.

    -- Michael

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Hi

    - Regarding the removal of packages, that would all be whatever your package management system is doing. PTS just tells the distribution's package management system the packages it needs for the given tests, not to uninstall anything.
    - MD5 failures occur when the hosting mirrors remove the files or change them otherwise and haven't yet been updated in the test profiles to reflect new mirrors.
    - Report the MAFFT problem upstream to that project.

    Some of my favorite CPU tests are: povray c-ray openssl build-linux-kernel mafft x264 etc.... basically look at some of the other CPU tests or Phoronix CPU articles.

    -- Michael
    Hi,

    About the uninstalling, it seems you're telling aptitude to /force/ install your packages, which can and will remove any conflicting packages if you unconditionally select the first option aptitude returns when it gets a little confused (it will provide alternatives if you don't like what it wants to do). It went and purged my KDE install. Luckilly I wasn't using that particular install of KDE, as I upgraded to 4.6 on that machine via kdesrc-build a while ago.

    And mafft, maybe the test should be disabled till its fixed? It's pretty much useless as it is and generates a bunch of potentially scary (to end users) error messages. That and the fact that it has that bug, leads me to think it may have more, and ones that may make it less than useful as a benchmark of any kind.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Got back to trying to benchmark this system, and it seems another test is also broken, the kernel compile.

    Started Run 1 @ 23:54:18
    The test exited with a non-zero exit status.
    Running Interim-Test Script @ 00:05:28
    Started Run 2 @ 00:05:33
    The test exited with a non-zero exit status.
    Running Interim-Test Script @ 00:16:29
    Started Run 3 @ 00:16:34
    The test exited with a non-zero exit status.
    Running Post-Test Script @ 00:27:36
    I wasn't able to find any place it might have saved some log files for the test runs, so I'm posting here in able to figure out what went wrong.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tomasu View Post
    Got back to trying to benchmark this system, and it seems another test is also broken, the kernel compile.



    I wasn't able to find any place it might have saved some log files for the test runs, so I'm posting here in able to figure out what went wrong.
    That should say "I wasn't able to find any place it might have saved some log files for the test runs, so I'm posting here in order to help me figure out what went wrong".

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Any luck with your error? I know it's been a while, but I hope you found a solution. I have the same error with the apache test on CentOS, but it works fine on Ubuntu. All the other tests I've tried seem to work, as well.

    Code:
    Apache Benchmark:
    pts/apache-1.3.0
    Test 1 of 1
    Expected Trial Run Count: 3
    Running Pre-Test Script @ 11:36:59
    Started Run 1 @ 11:37:04
    The test exited with a non-zero exit status.
    Started Run 2 @ 11:37:06
    The test exited with a non-zero exit status.
    Started Run 3 @ 11:37:09
    The test exited with a non-zero exit status.
    Running Post-Test Script @ 11:37:09
    
    Test Results:
    
    Average: 0 Requests Per Second
    This test failed to run properly.
    How does one debug this issue?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by abcd View Post
    Any luck with your error? I know it's been a while, but I hope you found a solution. I have the same error with the apache test on CentOS, but it works fine on Ubuntu. All the other tests I've tried seem to work, as well.

    Code:
    Apache Benchmark:
    pts/apache-1.3.0
    Test 1 of 1
    Expected Trial Run Count: 3
    Running Pre-Test Script @ 11:36:59
    Started Run 1 @ 11:37:04
    The test exited with a non-zero exit status.
    Started Run 2 @ 11:37:06
    The test exited with a non-zero exit status.
    Started Run 3 @ 11:37:09
    The test exited with a non-zero exit status.
    Running Post-Test Script @ 11:37:09
    
    Test Results:
    
    Average: 0 Requests Per Second
    This test failed to run properly.
    How does one debug this issue?
    No sorry, I haven't tried fixing the bugs in the phoronix test suite. Maybe it'll all "just work" some day.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    it seems another test is also broken


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    13

    Thumbs up

    In my case, it seems the pts/apache test didn't install properly. The installer didn't report any error, but looking in the /home/USER/.phoronix-test-suite/installed-tests/pts/apache-1.3.0/install.log file, I discovered that the installation failed. The last line in the log file is this:
    Code:
    /home/USER/.phoronix-test-suite/test-profiles/pts/apache-1.3.0/install.sh: line 17: patch: command not found
    I ran
    Code:
    yum install patch
    then I deleted the /home/USER/.phoronix-test-suite/installed-tests/pts/apache-1.3.0/ directory and installed the test again. The tests ran fine after that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •