Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: AMD Catalyst 11.3 Drops Support For Old X.Org

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,621

    Default AMD Catalyst 11.3 Drops Support For Old X.Org

    Phoronix: AMD Catalyst 11.3 Drops Support For Old X.Org

    With the month ending, Linux users were beginning to wonder where is this month's proprietary driver update, but AMD's web team has just uploaded the Catalyst 11.3 binary Linux driver. What's changed though in this month's update? Read on to find out...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=OTI2Nw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,123

    Default

    One of my movies (Avatar, only one in real 16:9, 1080p) is a bit corrupted now with XvBA over VAAPI with my E-350, but all other movies work fine. The fixes in this release look interesting to me, because I think I might experienced at least one of those bugs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    912

    Default

    Q was right again. He'd mentioned this a couple of months before about 11.3.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    432

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by d2kx View Post
    One of my movies (Avatar, only one in real 16:9, 1080p) is a bit corrupted now with XvBA over VAAPI with my E-350, but all other movies work fine.
    Please be more specific. Did this work before, e.g. with 11.2 drivers? What kind of corruption is it? Do you have captures for what you got before, what you get now, what you would expect? Can you reproduce that with some clip that you could make available somewhere?

    BTW, if you are using FFmpeg, git pull to update it as some fixes went there wrt. top|bottom fields that could have been mis-identified.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,613

    Default

    Do you still use ffmpeg not libav? I use libav for my vlc script.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    68

    Talking

    One improvement with 11.3 over 11.2 is that the Tear Free Desktop(tm) now seems to be using less graphics memory. 11.2 would complain about not enough video memory (HD5770 with 1GB) on a Eyefinity setup with 3x24" rotated LCDs running 3600x1920. 11.3 does not complain about this and it seems to be enabled and working. Can anyone else confirm this ?

    Thanks ATI !

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    416

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Do you still use ffmpeg not libav? I use libav for my vlc script.
    libav was a fork of ffmpeg. ffmpeg isn't deprecated by libav.
    The way I understand it is that some developers took ffmpeg over by using force, then after they lost control they forked and started libav. I don't know who is right, and who is wrong yet.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,123

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gbeauche View Post
    Please be more specific. Did this work before, e.g. with 11.2 drivers? What kind of corruption is it? Do you have captures for what you got before, what you get now, what you would expect? Can you reproduce that with some clip that you could make available somewhere?

    BTW, if you are using FFmpeg, git pull to update it as some fixes went there wrt. top|bottom fields that could have been mis-identified.
    I made a small video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfK73-TlTY0

    What you see there is that I start watching Avatar and have a somewhat "blocky" corruption. I think you can see it in the video even with my crap quality HTC camera. Then at around 1:00 I restart the movie from the beginning and this time the blocky corruption isn't there but it flickers very fast (faster than my 30fps video indicates). At the end, I begin a different movie which works fine, like all other movies do.

    This is with:

    AMD Catalyst 11.3
    libva 0.31.1+sds4
    xvba-video 0.7.8
    XBMC-git, 5 days old
    AMD Fusion E-350 APU (Radeon HD 6310)

    Rest is stock Ubuntu 10.10.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,123

    Default

    Edit limit, go die a painful death.

    I should mention that I did not have this problem with Catalyst 11.2.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    353

    Default

    AMD & NVidia keep noting OpenSuse support in first place on their main release page while ignoring that by now and for the past few years Ubuntu is the Linux desktop king so they should mention _it_ in the first place, not flame bait nor trolling, just a remark of their corporate specific behavior.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •