Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Results 61 to 70 of 70

Thread: KWin Now Supports Suspended Compositing

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,102

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStar View Post
    As I said, my Win7 menu doesn't even hesitate when clicked, it fires up instantly. I'm using a run-of-the-mill 1TB hard drive, 4GB memory and a Phenom II 555 (2-core, 3.2GHz).
    Yeah, me too. I've never noticed even the tiniest delay in the Win7 menu. The only times i've seen it acting slow were when i was searching for something in the text box and it didn't come up immediately, and that's the results within the menu coming up slow not the menu itself or the buttons in it.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    684

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanjo View Post
    Especially since not everyone wants to run a composited desktop.
    Yeah kwins compositing has always been HORRIBLY slow on my ati card (hd2600) with both fglrx and oss drivers, downright unusable.

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bwat47 View Post
    Yeah kwins compositing has always been HORRIBLY slow on my ati card (hd2600) with both fglrx and oss drivers, downright unusable.
    I don't know, the only time I tried (I was about to install arch for a friend, he wanted KDE and I didn't want to disappoint my friend while switching to linux :P) it just worked (TM) in my radeon mobile hd 3200... (tested with kubuntu live)

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    945

    Default

    It does work, but if you start opening many windows in various workspaces things start to get really slow. With just one window on-screen it's usually fine in lower class hardware like that. Maybe it has something to do with the amount of shared memory.

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by devius View Post
    It does work, but if you start opening many windows in various workspaces things start to get really slow. With just one window on-screen it's usually fine in lower class hardware like that. Maybe it has something to do with the amount of shared memory.
    Then, you must make clear statements; if you say "it runs horribly slow", I'll take the "horribly" like "I can not maximize a window without brutal lag!"; that IS horribly slow. Obviously, if I will test a DE I will not use, I'll just test it works OK and it is stable and fast for non intensive tasks, as that is what the actual user (my friend, I don't mean it general) will do with Linux. Also, he uses medium to high gamma hardware, so the only concern I had was about stability :P

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrugiero View Post
    Then, you must make clear statements; if you say "it runs horribly slow", I'll take the "horribly" like "I can not maximize a window without brutal lag!"; that IS horribly slow. Obviously, if I will test a DE I will not use, I'll just test it works OK and it is stable and fast for non intensive tasks, as that is what the actual user (my friend, I don't mean it general) will do with Linux. Also, he uses medium to high gamma hardware, so the only concern I had was about stability :P
    Emmm, I'm not sure if you even made the first statement, so my apologizes if you are not the one I must tell that.

  7. #67
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    684

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by devius View Post
    It does work, but if you start opening many windows in various workspaces things start to get really slow. With just one window on-screen it's usually fine in lower class hardware like that. Maybe it has something to do with the amount of shared memory.
    My video card has 512mb dedicated gddr3 which should be more than enough for a composting window manager. KDE is very unresponsive. The animations lag, menus are slow to load (especially the main menu). Its just all around sluggish on a machine that should be able to run it fine.

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    945

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bwat47 View Post
    My video card has 512mb dedicated gddr3 which should be more than enough for a composting window manager. KDE is very unresponsive. The animations lag, menus are slow to load (especially the main menu). Its just all around sluggish on a machine that should be able to run it fine.
    That seems more serious than what I experience on my HD4200. Are you sure 3D acceleration is enabled and you're not using XRender instead?

  9. #69
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    684

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by devius View Post
    That seems more serious than what I experience on my HD4200. Are you sure 3D acceleration is enabled and you're not using XRender instead?
    Yeah, I just tested the latest kde 4.6.2 and I have full 3d acceleration. Its not as quite as bad as it used to be in the latest kde, but still very noticeably slower than compiz, mutter, or xfwm on my system.

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    945

    Default

    I can confirm that it is indeed slower than Compiz. You could also try using compiz on KDE. I was a bit reluctant to try that, but it works really well.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •