Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: EXA much slower than XAA on r300

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lodz, Poland
    Posts
    42

    Unhappy EXA much slower than XAA on r300

    My configuration is as follows:
    • Duron Applebred 1800 MHz
    • 1024MB DDR333
    • Radeon 9600 Pro (Sapphire)

    I am using latest radeon git version, I have enabled EXA, AccelDFS and all other performance options for this driver, yet it lags like hell when scrolling in browser, compositing is unusable, and glxgears drop to 1080 from 2240 on XAA.
    My screen res is 1280x1024, DRI is, of course, functional, generally all Xorg related things are in order.
    I have added MigrationHeuristic "greedy" to driver options in xorg.conf, which gave a minor improvement.
    Did I miss something? Or is it like that for everyone else?
    Last edited by ferreira; 04-04-2008 at 08:13 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Nope, that is not normal.

    Post up Xorg.0.log, xorg.conf and LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxinfo

    Something's gotta be up!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    54

    Default

    I'm using xf86-video-ati latest git and Xserver 1.4.0.90.

    I found that XAA and EXA with "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy" are roughly equal on gtkperf. Without "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy", EXA is slower on gtkperf, but much faster on xrenderbench.

    Also, some of the benchmarks are a bit strange, with EXA render accel, I got about:

    x11perf -aa10text 15000/sec
    x11perf -aa24text 175000/sec

    But EXA render accel was perfectly usable. I don't run any compositing managers.

    However, with EXA, I set "FBTexPercent" "80" since I need more graphics ram allocated to OpenGL textures to play extreme tuxracer 0.4 with my 128MB radeon 9550.

    I think EXA may only be working well with the later Xservers, with EXA I experienced minor incorrect rendering in seamonkey until I upgraded to 1.4.0.90.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lodz, Poland
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Xorg.0.log
    http://wklej.org/id/5090bd1635
    xorg.conf
    http://www.wklej.org/id/cde256911f
    LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxinfo
    libGL: XF86DRIGetClientDriverName: 5.3.0 r300 (screen 0)
    libGL: OpenDriver: trying /usr/lib/dri/r300_dri.so
    drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
    drmOpenDevice: open result is 4, (OK)
    drmOpenByBusid: Searching for BusID pci:0000:01:00.0
    drmOpenDevice: node name is /dev/dri/card0
    drmOpenDevice: open result is 4, (OK)
    drmOpenByBusid: drmOpenMinor returns 4
    drmOpenByBusid: drmGetBusid reports pci:0000:01:00.0
    http://http://www.wklej.org/id/80deba876d

    Here you are.
    Last edited by ferreira; 04-04-2008 at 10:30 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    54

    Default

    You don't need the section "Extensions" in your xorg.conf, they are all on by default.

    I would test the xrender acceleration with http://people.freedesktop.org/~zack/...chmark.tar.bz2 (needs QT4).

    My setup:
    P4 Northwood 2.0GHz
    512MB DDR266
    Radeon 9550SE 128MB

    Scores with "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy" (same as without render accel)
    http://pastebin.ca/971259

    Scores with EXA render accel
    http://pastebin.ca/971260

    Edit: changed to pastebin which doesn't expire in 24 hours
    Last edited by ejs1920; 04-04-2008 at 01:42 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    39

    Default

    It would help if you gave us your Xorg log with EXA acceleration (and AccelDFS) turned on. For reference I run compiz and an X800 XTPE and I didn't break 0.7s on any single benchmark.

    You can get it to work... you just need to figure out what is wrong.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lodz, Poland
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NaterGator View Post
    It would help if you gave us your Xorg log with EXA acceleration (and AccelDFS) turned on. For reference I run compiz and an X800 XTPE and I didn't break 0.7s on any single benchmark.

    You can get it to work... you just need to figure out what is wrong.
    As requested:
    modified xorg.conf:
    http://www.wklej.org/id/1a350977d2
    Xorg.0.log after changes:
    http://www.wklej.org/id/9c0f569fae

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lodz, Poland
    Posts
    42

    Question

    *BUMP*
    Anyone has an idea for what is happening or am I left alone with the problem?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    54

    Default

    You could try adding "Virtual 1280 1024" lines above your "Modes" lines, to reduce the maximum desktop size, and save a very small amount of memory.

    Also try with "RenderAccel" "false" to see if the problem is with the new r300 render accel code or somewhere else.

    Edit: You could also try commenting out Load "xtrap" if you don't need the XTrap extension.
    Last edited by ejs1920; 04-08-2008 at 08:25 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Hey. I have the same Radeon 9600 videocard with an AMD64 Athlon 3200+ and experience the same problem.

    EXA is unbearably slow, especially with scrolling in webpages. I asked in IRC and was told to add AccelDFS and all that gear. So, I did. No change. I'm still crawling in EXA and flying in XAA.

    Maybe just our videocard? Not sure.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •