Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: VBE Modesetting Dumps For Avivo R500 Driver

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisr View Post
    Fair enough, he needs information. So what kind of information can people provide? Are we talking about dumps from people who are successfully using these graphics cards with the fglrx driver and an LCD panel? I have a laptop with an embedded FireGL 5250 (R530, I believe) which sort-of-works with the fglrx. Maybe if someone could provide a script that would generate the useful information then we could get the 0.1.0 release out the door after all?
    What i need is a vbe modesetting bios dump for 800x600, 1024x768, 1280x1024 (and for native resolution). For doing this grab http://people.freedesktop.org/~glisse/vbespy.tar.bz2 and make then ./vbetest 2> /dev/null note mode number corresponding to resoltuion 800x600 8:8:8 ... then q then
    ./vbetest -m <800600modenumber> 2> firegl5250-800x600
    ./vbetest -m <1024768modenumber> 2> firegl5250-1024x768
    ...

    You should see some colored picture on screen. Once you got all dumps pack them together bzip2 and send them to me or put them somewhere on the net.

    PS: You need to be root under console and it's better if X is not running and that fglrx is not loaded (in fact it's better doing them after cold boot without X being loaded so flgrx can't mess up with the card).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default FireGL 5250 vbetest results

    I have a 5250 firegl on a thinkpad t60p

    I think I've done what you wanted. Let me know if not.

    http://files-upload.com/files/427667...e-results.tbz2

    Quote Originally Posted by glisse View Post
    What i need is a vbe modesetting bios dump for 800x600, 1024x768, 1280x1024 (and for native resolution). For doing this grab http://people.freedesktop.org/~glisse/vbespy.tar.bz2 and make then ./vbetest 2> /dev/null note mode number corresponding to resoltuion 800x600 8:8:8 ... then q then
    ./vbetest -m <800600modenumber> 2> firegl5250-800x600
    ./vbetest -m <1024768modenumber> 2> firegl5250-1024x768
    ...

    You should see some colored picture on screen. Once you got all dumps pack them together bzip2 and send them to me or put them somewhere on the net.

    PS: You need to be root under console and it's better if X is not running and that fglrx is not loaded (in fact it's better doing them after cold boot without X being loaded so flgrx can't mess up with the card).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by atippett View Post
    I have a 5250 firegl on a thinkpad t60p

    I think I've done what you wanted. Let me know if not.

    http://files-upload.com/files/427667...e-results.tbz2
    You where not under a terminal, you can't do this through ssh or under a console in X you need to be in text mode as without X running. See message at bottom of files you supplied. If it works you should see a picture on screen until you see no pictures on screen this means this does not work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,124

    Default

    http://www.d2kx-world.de/files/avivo...2-d2kx.tar.bz2

    ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512

    I've added

    640x480
    800x600
    1024x768
    1280x1024

    I hope that helps.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    PL
    Posts
    910

    Default

    is there a need for/has someone already provided an x1300pro dump? if not, i'll put my card back in and do it (using x300se right now, with opensource drivers).

  6. #6

    Default

    Here is a guide for anyone on using vbetest/vbespy: http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=10779

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Data for x1400

    This is for a x1400. I uploaded the bz2 here

    When I did the one for 1280x1024 it didn't work (no colored screen) and I couldn't find the resolution I'm using right now: 1280x800 (widescreen laptop monitor)

  8. #8

    Default

    Hi, I'm really happy to have this chance to be able to contribute something.

    I ran the vbetest tool on my Dell Inspiron 6400, with a Mobility Radeon x1300, for the following resolutions:
    800x600
    1024x768
    1280x1024

    I'd also like to mention that my native resolution is 1680x1050, but this wasn't a mode I could find in vbetest. I hope the end driver will someday support 1680x1050, but I guess you have to prioritize things.

    Also, when I booted into text mode and ran the vbetest tool the first time, after seeing the pretty coloured checkerboard pattern, all the text was missing when I returned to the console... that is, it looked like a blank screen, but I could still type and issue commands. Furthermore, I could see the background colours for coloured commands like "ls" (my "ls" has background colours for certain file types), but I just could not see the text. So I was working blind, but I still managed to run the other two tests, and each time I would see the coloured checkerboard pattern, and then return to the blank textless console.

    Anyways, without any more talk, here are my results:

    http://www.petercruickshank.ca/radeo...betest.tar.bz2

    Best of luck in your development of the avivo driver!
    Last edited by petercruickshank; 08-13-2007 at 03:12 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default x1400 vbespy dump on a IBM T60

    Hi,

    I ran vbespy on my IBM Thinkpad T60 with HV Expansion (enlarge smaller resolutions to native resolution) on and off for the resolutions:
    320x200
    320x240
    512x384
    640x350
    640x400
    640x480
    720x400
    800x600
    1024x768
    1152x864
    1280x1024
    1400x1050

    You can download the results here:
    http://files-upload.com/files/431879...vbespy.tar.bz2

    Please let me know, if you need other information as well.

    lcpci -v for the ATI x1400:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility X1400 (prog-if 00 [VGA])
    Subsystem: Lenovo Unknown device 2006
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
    Memory at d8000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]
    I/O ports at 2000 [size=256]
    Memory at ee100000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
    [virtual] Expansion ROM at ee120000 [disabled] [size=128K]
    Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
    Capabilities: [58] Express Legacy Endpoint IRQ 0
    Capabilities: [80] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-x1400

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hi, I'm new here.

    I tried to use vbetest and it didn't work:
    - Ubuntu 7.04 (booted in recovery console, no X, no ssh)
    - Motherboard: Asus M2R32-MVP (AMD64 Socket AM2)
    - Graphic cards: 2x ATI X1950PRO (R570?) (with internal Crossfire connectors)


    I never achieved to get the display pictures. It always end with a warning saying I have to be in console to change resolution (actually I am)

    As a side note, fglrx gives me a blank screen with my two cards in crossfire. A common solution seems to be to turn on to the open-source radeon driver. Unfortunately, the radeon driver doesn't support X1950 so I have to wait for avivo. Otherwise, fglrx works fine with only one card connected.

    I also removed the power cord of the second pci card and tried vbetest again. Same result.

    If anyone as an idea, I'd be happy to be able to help the avivo team.
    Last edited by francois; 08-13-2007 at 10:26 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •