Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: VBE Modesetting Dumps For Avivo R500 Driver

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,175

    Default

    I don't know what the Ubuntu recovery mode does, so try typing

    init 3
    /etc/init.d/gdm stop
    rmmod fglrx
    rmmod radeon

    I hope that helps...

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Thx, it worked

    I'll edit this post later about the way I proceeded with Ubuntu and will try a way around the issue mentionned by Peter Cruickshank about the blinking cursor and no display after vbetest run.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    PL
    Posts
    916

    Default

    are the console framebuffer drivers interfering with this one (e.g. vesafb) ? do they also need to be disabled?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,175

    Default

    I had a problem, too, after running vbetest. I couldn't read anything, so I just typed gdm and then after it started quit it again.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Some more results, a Dell Inspiron 6400, ati x1400, 1680x1050 display.

    http://www.thump.dyndns.org/vbetest

    All modes were tested and are available as individual files, or in a tarball.

    The native resolution of my display 1680x1050 is not a supported mode. That would be really nice to have.

    If there is more I can do to help, please let me know.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Some output from a Lenovo T60 (x1400).

    http://www.dresco.co.uk/linux/x1400-t60.tgz

    Where vbetest showed two mode numbers for the same res/depth then I've included them both..

    Regards,
    Jon.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi, just ran vbetest on X1250 (PCI ID 791e), here're the results:

    https://www.xentoo.info/files/vbetes...d_791e.tar.bz2
    or
    http://files-upload.com/files/441173...d_791e.tar.bz2

    This is related with this post.

    Hope it helps.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    vbetest results for a Sapphire X1650pro AGP card:

    http://www.munton.demon.co.uk/sapphire_1650_agp.tar.bz2

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ath (Belgium)
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Results for x1950pro PCI-E:
    http://users.zenwalk.org/user-accoun...950pro.tar.bz2

    lspci -v:
    Code:
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon X1950 Pro (Primary) (PCIE) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
            Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. Unknown device 0762
            Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
            Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
            Memory at f5000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
            I/O ports at 8000 [size=256]
            [virtual] Expansion ROM at f4000000 [disabled] [size=128K]
            Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
            Capabilities: [58] Express Endpoint IRQ 0
            Capabilities: [80] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable-
    
    01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon X1950 Pro (Secondary) (PCIE)
            Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. Unknown device 0763
            Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0
            Memory at f5010000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
            Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
            Capabilities: [58] Express Endpoint IRQ 0
    ++

    Bip

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I made dumps on my Thinkpad T60p (firegl v5200). The console got corrupted after showing the image - it wasn't showing any characters, only the mouse pointer and the place of typing. So I rebooted each time to get a new dumb.
    http://xtruder.homelinux.net/~ambro/fireglv5200.tar.bz2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •