Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: What should I do wrt nvidia optimus laptop

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    In Linux, you are using Intel on most computers where the BIOS is set to use hybrid. (If you install the NVidia proprietary on such a laptop, Intel's 3D gets disabled)
    Many BIOS'es have an NVidia/ATI only / Win XP mode option, which lets you use the NVidia / ATI always. And within a year I expect it to be possible, to run a specific program on NVidia (don't know about ATI) when starting it with a special command. Automatic switching is not yet working, but we might get that with Wayland within some years.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Just curious, I've heard by various different people that the client prefers Nvidia video cards over ati cards and that's why frame rate drops happen on ati using people?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Try "bumblebee".

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,633

    Default

    Best send me the laptop for free, then i will test it for you

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marwi509 View Post
    Try "bumblebee".
    The original "bumblebee" is no longer supported or being worked on. It got replaced by the following two projects:
    https://github.com/MrMEEE/ironhide (By the original creator of bumblebee)
    or
    https://github.com/Bumblebee-Project/Bumblebee (By a group of devs that worked on bumblebee)

    I'm not gonna go into why there are two projects, but I personally prefer ironhide atm.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I hate to say this but everything an upgrade comes with intel chipsets some components and other elements have become so obselete you need to upgrade it so frequently..

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    That second link of Lynden, is Bumblebee 3.0, which was announced on phoronix some time ago. Since version 3.0, it automatically powers down the unused GPU. It's probably the hybrid graphics switching tool for Linux out there, at least if you have nvidia Optimus and not AMD.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    209

    Default

    Best to send it back and get the intel with their IGP one, like myself . If you want to go to binary side, get discrete nvidia or amd (or fusion).

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Getting nVidia only laptops (which I think is what you mean by "discrete nvidia" is hard nowadays. Hybrid nVidia+nVidia setups don't exist anymore in today's laptops, and nVidia only is also becoming very rare except for laptops that have Linux preinstalled.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    67

    Default Nouveau & Optimus

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat View Post
    I don't know if the nouveau folks can figure it out, but I wouldn't bet on it in the short term.
    There's nothing to figure out, at least not for the moment. The X server simply doesn't support this setup. WIP.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •