Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: KDM In KDE SC 4.7 To Play With GRUB2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,621

    Default KDM In KDE SC 4.7 To Play With GRUB2

    Phoronix: KDM In KDE SC 4.7 To Play With GRUB2

    The KDM code for KDE SC 4.7 has just gained one small but noteworthy feature: GRUB2 support. While the KDE Display Manager gaining support for the GRUB2 boot-loader may seem nonchalant, it's actually quite useful. Now from the KDE Display Manager, users are able to select another GRUB boot entry without affecting the default choice or having to wait for the boot-loader to appear when rebooting...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=OTM2OA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Cool feature,

    is there any login manager or tool except KDM that already supports GRUB2?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Awesome. I hope GDM will get the same feature.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marwi509 View Post
    Awesome. I hope GDM will get the same feature.
    same , i also wish they will extend this gui to configuration of the kernel and firmwares [8
    that should be great to make kernel slimy ;']

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,266

    Default

    this is pretty cool, i've always been a fan of kdm because of how many more features it offers over other login screens.

    it'd be nice if there was an overall grub2 graphical interface. grub2 isn't difficult to modify but in some instances it is moreso than grub 1.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Got to admit this one took me a bit by surprise. You could do this with Grub .97 for so long that I assumed that grub 2 and kdm would of had this a long time ago.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Connecticut,USA
    Posts
    956

    Default

    This is one definitely cool feature to have as it'll make it much easier to switch OS's without always going thru the grub2 menu by simply logging out of your session and selecting a grub2 entry and off you go!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default KDM + Grub + SELinux interactions

    Out of the box, SELinux doesn't allow KDM to make these Grub modifications
    See: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=660148

    As mentioned in that report, there is a SELinux boolean you can use. Even with it set though it still won't work. It's easiest to just disable SELinux if you want KDM to control Grub.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,788

    Default

    KDM doesn't work with Grub 0.9. There's an entry, but it's bugged and does absolutely nothing.

    Distributions usually fix that on every release, but the fix never made it upstream for years.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanjo View Post
    Got to admit this one took me a bit by surprise. You could do this with Grub .97 for so long that I assumed that grub 2 and kdm would of had this a long time ago.
    Its not the KCM, its not really editing the confi file, it's just "reboot on windows the next time, keep the default for all other". Sure the Grub KDE KCM module still exist (well, its not the same, but one exist), but this is an other thing.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •