Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Abit NF-M2 nView and powernow-k8

  1. #1

    Default Abit NF-M2 nView and powernow-k8

    Does anyone have Cool'n'Quiet/powernow working on a dual-core system with the Abit nf-m2 nview?

    I have this in dmesg:
    Code:
    powernow-k8: Found 2 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ processors (version 2.00.00)
    powernow-k8: MP systems not supported by PSB BIOS structure
    powernow-k8: MP systems not supported by PSB BIOS structure
    Is there an easy fix for this, or do I need to edit the DSDT as described here?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by finance_coder View Post
    Does anyone have Cool'n'Quiet/powernow working on a dual-core system with the Abit nf-m2 nview?

    I have this in dmesg:
    Code:
    powernow-k8: Found 2 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ processors (version 2.00.00)
    powernow-k8: MP systems not supported by PSB BIOS structure
    powernow-k8: MP systems not supported by PSB BIOS structure
    Is there an easy fix for this, or do I need to edit the DSDT as described here?
    In the link where s939 cups.
    And I have a NF-M2 NView but I also see no chance to fix this ugly error with this board.
    Many others have the same problems with other boards but same chipsets.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I have this board and see no chance for a fix.
    Many other people have the same chipset but different boards.

    u are not the only one with this problem

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by posbich View Post
    I have this board and see no chance for a fix.
    Many other people have the same chipset but different boards.

    u are not the only one with this problem
    I forgot to mention...

    I got it working by compiling the power management stuff directly into the kernel instead of as a module.

    Also make sure Cool'n'Quiet is enabled in your BIOS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Sorry for my double post.

    The most time it works fine. But in different chases the system hangs up. Someday after 30 minutes 100% cpu load, someday after 16 hours hard cpu work.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by posbich View Post
    Sorry for my double post.

    The most time it works fine. But in different chases the system hangs up. Someday after 30 minutes 100% cpu load, someday after 16 hours hard cpu work.
    So do you have the same board?

    Just for clarity, I have the Abit NF-M2 nView, with the latest BIOS. I couldn't get powernow to work until I built the functionality directly into the kernel (versus as a module).

    So far, I've had no hard lockups, but some random flaky behavior. This is on a MythTV box, and there's a lot going on, so I can't tell if the problems are Cool'n'Quiet or something else.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Yes I have the same board with the .14 bios.
    I try it as module or compiled in the kernel. Same result.
    Now i wanna try the new abit board with 7025/50 chipset and hope that it will works.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by posbich View Post
    Yes I have the same board with the .14 bios.
    I try it as module or compiled in the kernel. Same result.
    Now i wanna try the new abit board with 7025/50 chipset and hope that it will works.
    Just out of curiosity, do you have links to other peoples' reports of similar problem with this motherboard?

    Anyway, I too am thinking about switching. But I'm looking at the ASRock NF7G-HDready motherboard, actually reviewed here on Phoronix. I like this board because it has a serial port, firewire, undervolting capability and the 7050 chipset. Note that the 7050 chipset has much lower power consumption than the 6150 (always a win for heat an noise in a MythTV setup).

    Good luck!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Not the same board but same chipsets.
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...20/+bug/109643

    There its Ubuntu. I used Gentoo and used power... as module and compiled it into the kernel. No effects.

    P.S. the board design of the asrock is just ugly ... the power plug in the middle of the board ...
    Last edited by posbich; 10-03-2007 at 11:34 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,610

    Default

    You can forget LRM from Ubuntu, all GFX drivers are outdated. If you remove the LRM things you could use a script to install the latest ones...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •