Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Graphical corruption with gnome-shell (Top bar "rainbow colors")

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Graphical corruption with gnome-shell (Top bar "rainbow colors")

    I have installed ATI Catalyst™Proprietary Display Driver, version 11.6 on Fedora 15 with Gnome3 shell, after restart laptop, the graphical corruption with gnome-shell (Top bar "rainbow colors"). My laptop info:

    Top bar "rainbow colors"

    Confirm with:

    + Gnome3 Shell
    + DELL R15 - 5010

    + r00t $ Xorg -version

    X.Org X Server 1.10.2
    Release Date: 2011-05-28
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
    Build Operating System: x86-17 2.6.32-71.14.1.el6.x86_64
    Current Operating System: Linux r00t 2.6.38.8-32.fc15.i686.PAE #1 SMP Mon
    Jun 13 19:55:27 UTC 2011 i686
    Kernel command line: ro root=UUID=44c48939-9cee-4784-bfe1-a43ab834d922
    rd_NO_LUKS rd_NO_LVM rd_NO_MD rd_NO_DM LANG=en_US.UTF-8
    SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 KEYTABLE=us rhgb quiet
    Build Date: 30 May 2011 12:42:31AM
    Build ID: xorg-x11-server 1.10.2-1.fc15
    Current version of pixman: 0.20.2
    Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
    to make sure that you have the latest version.

    + r00t $ cat /etc/*release
    Fedora release 15 (Lovelock)

    + Kernel: Linux r00t 2.6.38.8-32.fc15.i686.PAE #1 SMP Mon Jun 13 19:55:27 UTC
    2011 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

    + r00t $ lspci | grep -i radeon
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Manhattan [Mobility
    Radeon HD 5000 Series]

    + Catalyst 11.6 (lasted version)

    How to resolve this problem?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default Same here

    I had this with the 11.5 ver and hoped the 11.6 release will fix this

    i think will need to wait for AMD to release the 11.7 or 11.8 to fix this

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    if they really change something more than the version string because of holidays

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    if they really change something more than the version string because of holidays
    new catalyst version numbering... for 2011.1 call it catalyst 2012 and the next version 2011.2 call it catalyst 2012² and the next version 2011.3 call it catalyst 2012³ and so one

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Fedora 14 has support ATI Catalyst yet ?

    I want to downgrade version of Fedora 14, please tell Fedora 14 has support ATI Catalyst yet? I like Fedora, but when using the Radeon driver on my computer temperature increase dramatically. Can someone help me reduce the temperature when using the Radeon driver?

    Thank you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lkpfedora View Post
    I want to downgrade version of Fedora 14, please tell Fedora 14 has support ATI Catalyst yet? I like Fedora, but when using the Radeon driver on my computer temperature increase dramatically. Can someone help me reduce the temperature when using the Radeon driver?

    Thank you.
    "Change power-management method

    There exist two basic power-management (short: PM) methods "dynpm" and "profile" set via sysfs:

    echo "dynpm" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method
    or
    echo "profile" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method

    cat /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method
    profile

    The "profile" method exposes 4 profiles that can be selected from: 1. "default" 2. "auto" 3. "low" 4. "high" In the meantime there has been a 5th "mid" profile introduced (see [2]).

    How to get/select the PM profile method?

    cat /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile
    default
    echo "low" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile

    WARNING: !!! the low power management setting does not work properly with displays active on some laptops !!!

    NOTE: See also http://wiki.x.org/wiki/RadeonFeature -> "KMS Power Management Options"

    [1] http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive...ay/000492.html [2] http://www.spinics.net/lists/dri-devel/msg01028.html"

    http://www.x.org/wiki/radeonBuildHowTo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Bernardino, CA
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Gnome Shell does not work with FGLRX 11.7 either... same graphical corruption. Lets hope 11.8 fixes it!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    I think it's more appropriate to hope that the gnome developers fix it.

    Adam

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •