Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Adobe Flash Player 11 For 64-Bit Linux Is Christened

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,048

    Default

    Nope, still barely usable.
    I used this german game test of a ridiculously bad game:
    http://www.gamestar.de/index.cfm?pid=1589&pk=18888

    Full screen on the second monitor still doesn't get the right size.
    Full screen doesn't play smoothly on my laptop while using 100% cpu on one core. It's an i5 that overclocks with the turbo thingy to 2,9 GHz...

    That's more than ridiculously bad. I understand that flash solves a different problem but that's not the problem the vast majority of the users want to have solved. I want a little flash-light that can only play videos but this one thing with good performance.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisXY View Post
    Nope, still barely usable.
    I understand that flash solves a different problem but that's not the problem the vast majority of the users want to have solved. I want a little flash-light that can only play videos but this one thing with good performance.
    I second this!

  3. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cl333r View Post
    It (the 64bit version) indeed supports VDPAU, but it managed to freeze within like 5 minutes of usage while in fullscreen after pausing and restarting a youtube video with the keyboard.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tares View Post
    Well, or this flash version doesn't work well with 275.x nvidia drivers or it is really crap release. Freezes my pc within seconds with any flash video and the quality is much much lower than the square version. So... I had to revert to the older version because I don't like to reboot my pc every 10 seconds and watch running squares on my screen instead of a actual video.
    Quote Originally Posted by grigi View Post
    flash's vdpau support is very broken for me, and has been since inception.
    it leaves overlays on the screen, and just loves to crash not just the browser, but the whole machine.

    So I eventually had to disable ALL hardware acceleration to stop it hosing my system.

    Grrrr
    The Flash plugin is a user mode program, it should never ever crash the whole machine. If it does the problem is not with Flash but with the nvidia driver.

  4. #14

    Default

    The acceleration seems to work fine here, but it is still using a software presentation queue, so I still get tearing .

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bug77 View Post
    Isn't HTML5 video element largely about replacing Flash for video? That's why Adobe won't hurry up to expedite its adoption.
    Flash support for VP8/WebM isn't meant to expedite HTML5 adoption so much as it's meant to reduce the dominance of H.264/MPEG-LA (as H.264 is currently the only modern video codec supported by Flash).

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Thanks for the 64bit support, in any case.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    says software decode for me aswell.

    anyone know requirements to get hardware decode running?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I just tried it out with the latest crystal drivers on my Dell Mini Inspiron 1012.

    By default, it does not use hardware rendering out of the box.

    Then, following instructions found here, I put the following in /etc/adobe/mms.cfg:

    Code:
    EnableLinuxHWVideoDecode=1
    OverrideGPUValidation=true
    The plugin will then crash when trying to play a youtube video. Firefox provides the following output:

    Code:
    Running DIL (3.22.0) Version
    DtsDeviceOpen: Opening HW in mode 0
    DtsInitialize: Ioctl failed: 10
    DtsSetupHardware: Failed from Open
    DtsAllocIoctlData Error
    Unable to detach from Dil shared memory ...
    DtsDelDilShMem:Unable get shmid ...
    dmesg shows that it is attempting to open and use the crystal hardware:

    Code:
    [304932.672979] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Opening new user[0] handle
    [304953.236065] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Firmware command T/O
    [304953.236080] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: FwCmd Failed.
    [304953.363060] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Closing user[0] handle via ioctl with mode 4
    1c200
    It also looks like the crystal driver is not working well with totem and the gstreamer filter, as playback is jerkily, and I get the following unusual output from gstreamer:

    Code:
    [305708.254117] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Opening new user[0] handle
    [305708.324135] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Closing user[0] handle with mode ffffffff
    [305714.094246] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Opening new user[0] handle
    [305714.164171] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Closing user[0] handle with mode ffffffff
    [305714.201215] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Opening new user[0] handle
    [305714.280362] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Closing user[0] handle with mode ffffffff
    [305714.317306] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Opening new user[0] handle
    [305734.772061] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Firmware command T/O
    [305734.772075] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: FwCmd Failed.
    [305734.894186] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Closing user[0] handle via ioctl with mode 1c200
    I think support for crystal hardware on linux still needs some work, both with and without flash :/

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default How does flash deal with video refresh rate? xrandr?

    Subject says it all - I always wondered if or in what way flash depended on the video refresh rate. I mean, a video will always play best with its original refresh rate, yet I haven't yet seen any reference whatsoever that the player bothers with this. What's a critical issue for any video player should matter for the flash player as well. Does anyone know something about this?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I just tried it out with the latest crystal drivers on my Dell Mini Inspiron 1012.

    By default, it does not use hardware rendering out of the box.

    Then, following instructions found here, I put the following in /etc/adobe/mms.cfg:

    Code:
    EnableLinuxHWVideoDecode=1
    OverrideGPUValidation=true
    The plugin will then crash when trying to play a youtube video. Firefox provides the following output:

    Code:
    Running DIL (3.22.0) Version
    DtsDeviceOpen: Opening HW in mode 0
    DtsInitialize: Ioctl failed: 10
    DtsSetupHardware: Failed from Open
    DtsAllocIoctlData Error
    Unable to detach from Dil shared memory ...
    DtsDelDilShMem:Unable get shmid ...
    dmesg shows that it is attempting to open and use the crystal hardware:

    Code:
    [304932.672979] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Opening new user[0] handle
    [304953.236065] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Firmware command T/O
    [304953.236080] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: FwCmd Failed.
    [304953.363060] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Closing user[0] handle via ioctl with mode 4
    1c200
    It also looks like the crystal driver is not working well with totem and the gstreamer filter, as playback is jerkily, and I get the following unusual output from gstreamer:

    Code:
    [305708.254117] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Opening new user[0] handle
    [305708.324135] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Closing user[0] handle with mode ffffffff
    [305714.094246] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Opening new user[0] handle
    [305714.164171] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Closing user[0] handle with mode ffffffff
    [305714.201215] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Opening new user[0] handle
    [305714.280362] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Closing user[0] handle with mode ffffffff
    [305714.317306] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Opening new user[0] handle
    [305734.772061] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Firmware command T/O
    [305734.772075] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: FwCmd Failed.
    [305734.894186] crystalhd 0000:0b:00.0: Closing user[0] handle via ioctl with mode 1c200
    I think support for crystal hardware on linux still needs some work :/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •