Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: ASRock H61M/U3S3

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,186

    Default ASRock H61M/U3S3

    Phoronix: ASRock H61M/U3S3

    At Phoronix we have reviewed several different motherboards under Linux since the Sandy Bridge launch with either the P67 or H67 chipsets, but in this review we are looking at one that uses the Intel H61 chipset. The particular motherboard under test is the ASRock H61M/U3S3, which was launched a few months back, but we've been waiting for the Intel Sandy Bridge open-source support under Linux to mature a bit more.

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=16225

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Why there is no OpenGL intensive applications on this phoronix test?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Looks a great motherboard. Just what ASRock has been for years, with a good price.
    I have seen on the screenshots that you can set only 2 drives in the boot sequence. My ASRock K7S41GX from 2005 could put all available drives in the sequence, with its old AMI BIOS.
    But anyway, the BIOS is that easy to set-up today that you can just put another drive into the boot sequence if necessary. The ASRock BIOS has improved very much, except for the limited boot sequence.
    fernandoc1: The graphics card, Sandy Bridge, has been tested much this days.
    Last edited by AlbertP; 07-15-2011 at 11:13 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Barcelona
    Posts
    74

    Default Compatibility?

    Just wondering why new motherboards still include the old PS/2 and VGA ports. I can understand the rationale of including VGA since screens still ship with it (they shouldn't) but what about PS/2? That port should have already died.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bachinchi View Post
    Just wondering why new motherboards still include the old PS/2 and VGA ports. I can understand the rationale of including VGA since screens still ship with it (they shouldn't) but what about PS/2? That port should have already died.
    You can't enter your serial key on registering windows xp with usb keyboard. I have no idea if 7ista solved it, but looks like all pathetic world is waiting for pathetic windows and its bugs.
    Abit, now defunct company thanks to its crappy managers, were the first ones to make a board with usb and firewire only, dumping ps2, com and lpt altogether. That was in era of Socket A.

    Nice review btw. Having 4 memory ports of course would be better. Still, SATA are well arranged for high-end gfx cards.
    Last edited by crazycheese; 07-15-2011 at 03:19 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    VGA is outdated but still used often - many cheaper flatscreen monitors of the 21st century are still VGA-only. There is no reason why people shouldn't be able to keep using the same monitor when replacing their computer. I am still using the CRT monitor of my first computer from 1996.
    I agree that there has to be a DVI port too.
    Last edited by AlbertP; 07-16-2011 at 05:31 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by specs in the article
    - Supports HDMI 1.4a Technology with max. resolution up to 1920x1200 @ 60Hz
    - Supports DVI with max. resolution up to 1920x1200 @ 60Hz
    - Supports D-Sub with max. resolution up to 2048x1536 @ 75Hz
    Looks like D-Sub gets the highest resolution and refresh rate, despite being Dead....

    Myself, I'm just hoping everyone hurries up and switches to DisplayPort. (As I use DVI to a cheap LCD, the DP port fills up with dust....)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Does anyone know if the SATA chipset on this motherboard supports FIS-based port multiplier for eSATA? I have an external HDD enclosure with space for five HDDs, but it only has one eSATA connector to the motherboard. It's designed to work in the same way as a USB hub, with all the drives simultaneously sharing the eSATA controller.

    Problem is, they don't. My motherboard's eSATA controller (some Marvell crap) only supports command-based switching. So you can only use one drive at a time in the enclosure. Really inconvenient. I also can't seem to boot from the drives, regardless of how many I have installed.

    I think the enclosure itself has fine hardware, and I paid top dollar for it, I just think that I need to upgrade my mobo to one with FIS-based port multiplier. But I can't find this spec mentioned anywhere on any mobo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Here is a (probably somewhat outdated) list of SATA controllers:
    https://ata.wiki.kernel.org/index.ph...dware_features

    In the PNP SM column, you can see the way it switches: CBS or FBS.

    Marvell is not crap - they're also having FBS chips according to that list.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlbertP View Post
    Here is a (probably somewhat outdated) list of SATA controllers:
    https://ata.wiki.kernel.org/index.ph...dware_features

    In the PNP SM column, you can see the way it switches: CBS or FBS.

    Marvell is not crap - they're also having FBS chips according to that list.
    While outdated, that list is pretty useful. Thanks.

    I laughed at the Marvell 88SE6121 -- it supports no features whatsoever And of course that's the SATA controller on my motherboard.

    Really thinking now that it might be time to get a new mobo and double my RAM while I'm at it; my GPU, disks and CPU are fine, but this mobo's killing me. Other problem I have with this mobo is that the IOMMU is broken, so I can't enable VT-d or I get random kernel lockups inside DRM (complicated to explain, but basically a chip on the mobo is fatally flawed so that it can't be used, and Intel VT-d requires it.)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •