Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 56

Thread: Sampling info about that mouse freeze bug

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default Sampling info about that mouse freeze bug

    Ticket on the unofficial bugzilla: http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=141

    I'd like to make a thread a bit more structured than the comments gathered here and there on this forum, in order to pin down possible causes.

    Could anyone using fglrx in here please post the following info:
    Affected by the bug: Yes/No
    Graphics card:
    Number of displays:
    Distribution (name, version, architecture):
    Desktop environment:
    Compositing: On/Off
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug:
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug:
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings:
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected):
    Affected by the bug: No
    Graphics card: HD4670 512MB
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): openSUSE 11.4 64bit
    Desktop environment: KDE
    Compositing: Off
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: none
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 11.3 through 11.7 (from AMD's website)
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: Default
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected): obviously none, though my first thought would be to try using SWCursor
    Last edited by PsynoKhi0; 07-30-2011 at 07:37 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    Affected by the bug: Yes
    Graphics card: ATI 5770 1GB
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Ubuntu 11.04 64bit
    Desktop environment: Gnome
    Compositing: Off
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: 11.5 - 11.7
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 11.4
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: Default
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected): SWCursor will fix it, but it doesn't work very well, the cursor disappears, playing games you can't even see the cursor... Tried turning v-sync off, tear free off, doesn't fix it.
    Last edited by tcv90; 07-30-2011 at 07:56 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Affected by the bug: No
    Graphics card: HD4200 and HD6650M 1024MB (on my HP Pavilion dv6-6030er)
    Number of displays: 1, 2 (using only my notebook display, but tried to combine it with my external monitor via VGA)
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Debain GNU/Linux testing+unstable 64bit
    Desktop environment: KDE
    Compositing: On
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: none
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 11.4 through 11.7 (from Debian testing and unstable repositories)
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: Default
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected): none, I hadn't experienced the bug

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Thanks for the replies so far!
    BTW if anyone thinks something should be added (e.g. motherboard chipset maybe), feel free.

    Affected by the bug: No
    Graphics card: HD4670 512MB
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): PCLinuxOS 2011.6 (from liveCD, fglrx activated out-of-the-box)
    Desktop environment: KDE and LXDE
    Compositing: On & Off in KDE, Off in LXDE
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: none
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 11.6
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: Defaults
    Things I've tried to solve it (if affected): N/A

    (BTW typo on the last line of the original post, "solve" shouldn't be in past participle)

  5. #5

    Default

    Affected by the bug: No
    Graphics card: 5850M
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Kubuntu 11.04 x86_64
    Desktop environment: KDE
    Compositing: On
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: Catalyst 10.9, 10.10, 11.1-11.7
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: TearFreeDesktop Enabled.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    150

    Default

    Affected by the bug: Yes
    Graphics card: HD 5770 1GB
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Linux Mint 11 x86_64
    Desktop environment: Gnome 2.x
    Compositing: On and Off
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: 11.5, 11.6, 11.7
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 11.4
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: default and modified without tearfree and vsync
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected): tryed compiz on and off, disabled tearfree and vsync.
    Last edited by xpander; 08-02-2011 at 06:12 PM. Reason: typo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Affected by the bug: Yes
    Graphics card: hd5770
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): gentoo and64
    Desktop environment: openbox
    Compositing: Off
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: 11.05-11.07
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: <= 11.04
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: default
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected): I haven't tried something, just rolled back to 11.04.
    Last edited by lexek; 08-03-2011 at 05:35 AM.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lexek View Post
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: <= 11.04
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 11.05-11.07
    Maybe you mean that?
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: 11.05-11.07
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: <= 11.04

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    235

    Default

    Affected by the bug: No
    Graphics card: Radeon 4850 / Radeon 6870
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Gentoo, 2.6.32, 2.6.36, XOrg 1.8 - 1.10
    Desktop environment: KDE 4.4.4, KDE 4.6.3
    Compositing: On
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: None
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 10.x upto 11.6
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: Defaults
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected): Not affected

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RussianNeuroMancer View Post
    Maybe you mean that?
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: 11.05-11.07
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: <= 11.04
    Yes, thanks)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •