Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 56

Thread: Sampling info about that mouse freeze bug

  1. #21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oRLaN View Post
    Affected by the bug: No
    Graphics card: Sapphire Radeon HD5670
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Ubuntu 11.04 x86
    Desktop environment: Unity
    Compositing: On
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug:
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: as far as i know ubuntu installs 11.5 with jockey
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: defaults without VSync
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected):
    Pretty sure Ubuntu install 11.4.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael_S View Post
    If anyone can seriously suggest that installing the new driver outside of X is better, I'll give it a go. I'm not sure how to shut down X in Ubuntu. In Debian I go to a tty and do "init 3". Anyone know the Ubuntu equivalent off hand?
    Sorry, missed that:
    Code:
    sudo service gdm stop
    Replace gdm with the appropriate session manager (kdm, lxdm...) if needed.

    Summing up so far:
    It seems to affect desktop cards based on the HD5000 and HD6000 series, on distributions shipping kernel 2.6.38 and later, with fglrx version 11.5+

    More input appreciated!
    Last edited by PsynoKhi0; 08-07-2011 at 04:10 PM.

  3. #23

    Default

    Affected by the bug: No
    Graphics card: HD6850 (HD5450 before the HD6XXX were released)
    Number of displays: 3
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Arch Linux x64_86
    Desktop environment: XFCE
    Compositing: On (xwim)
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 10.5 .. 11.7
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: Tear free since it was available. Nothing else special
    Last edited by Love_Sex_Magic; 08-07-2011 at 07:57 PM. Reason: spelling

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Europe
    Posts
    936

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PsynoKhi0 View Post
    Summing up so far:
    It seems to affect desktop cards based on the HD5000 and HD6000 series, on distributions shipping kernel 2.6.38 and later, with fglrx version 11.5+
    At least your link to the bug tracker lists a user with a Radeon HD4250.

    Nikolay 2011-08-03 17:54:26 CDT
    I have this bug too.
    Ati Radeon HD 4250
    Ubuntu 10.10
    Catalyst 11.05 - 11.07

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Affected by the bug: No
    Graphics card: HD5830
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Gentoo, x86_64, 2.6.38
    Desktop environment: XFCE 4.8
    Compositing: OFF
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 10.6
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: Default (Vsync OFF)

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Bratislava, Slovakia
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Affected by the bug: No / No
    Graphics card: HD4570 1BG DDR3 / HD4290 512 shared
    Number of displays: 1 / 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Gentoo amd64
    Desktop environment: KDE 4
    Compositing: Off
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug:
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 10.3 - 11.7
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: default
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected):

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Affected by the bug: Yes
    Graphics card: HD5770
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Fedora 15 64bit
    Desktop environment: KDE
    Compositing: Off
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: 11.6, 11.7
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 11.4
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: Default
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected): SWCursor fix works but is annoying.

    Affected by the bug: No
    Graphics card: E350/6310
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Fedora 15 64bit
    Desktop environment: KDE
    Compositing: Off
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: none
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug: 11.4, 11.6, 11.7
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: Default
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected):

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    101

    Default

    I wonder if anyone that is experiencing the bug is running 32-bit Linux? It seems like everyone affected is running 64-bit. Maybe that's a coincidence, maybe not.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by entropy View Post
    At least your link to the bug tracker lists a user with a Radeon HD4250.
    Nice catch, I didn't check the link after the original post.
    And the couple of last replies throw the kernel version theory out of the window...

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default radeon HD 6450

    Affected by the bug: Yes
    Graphics card: radeon HD 6450
    Number of displays: 1
    Distribution (name, version, architecture): Kubuntu 11.04 x86_64
    Desktop environment: KDE 4.7
    Compositing: On
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, with that bug: 11.6 and 11.7
    fglrx version(s) I've used on that distribution, without that bug:
    ATI Catalyst Control Center settings: Default, Tear free video enabled
    Things I've tried to solved it (if affected): used KDE 4.6, disable compositing, disable tear free video. Neither of the those helped.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •