Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: AMD Radeon HD "Cayman" Finally Moves On With Acceleration

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,548

    Default AMD Radeon HD "Cayman" Finally Moves On With Acceleration

    Phoronix: AMD Radeon HD "Cayman" Finally Moves On With Acceleration

    It was last December that AMD had unveiled their newest "Cayman" graphics processors, which at launch powered the Radeon HD 6950 and Radeon HD 6970 graphics cards. The open-source driver support for Cayman GPUs had lagged behind the rest of the Radeon HD 6000 series "Northern Islands", but in February there was Cayman programming documentation released and in March there was then Cayman kernel mode-setting support. Only today is the AMD Cayman GPUs now getting up to speed with supporting hardware acceleration on the open-source driver stack...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=OTQ4Mg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Trumps up!

    this is good for all r600 and r300 users because now he do have the time to write the shader based video acceleration

    and this solution should work for all r600 cards and hopefully for r300 to.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    134

    Thumbs down

    What this news talking about? What matters if we couldn't use our Graphic cards on radeon?
    I have HD6850 and switched fglrx today again. Because of random GPU locks even on surfing at internet! https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=36542

    I don't talk about huge +100W power waste if I use radeon and If I use low GPU clocks than GPU is as slow as my IGP...

    So 6xxx series on -xf86-video-ati aka radeon series are too far being usable for home users.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Death Knight View Post
    So 6xxx series on -xf86-video-ati aka radeon series are too far being usable for home users.
    right but!... this dev ,,, work hard to chance that!

    he also write an shader based video acceleration next ;-)

    maybe after that he write an better power-management.

    i'm happy about that


    why not use the catalyst until he finish his job ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    424

    Default

    Harping on about something like "The open-source driver support for Cayman GPUs had lagged behind the rest of the Radeon HD 6000 series " won't make unpaid developers work any faster, because they're doing it in their free time and because they want to, and it (probably) won't make paid developers work any faster, because you aren't their boss (and they're probably already working on what they can work on, at the speed that they can afford to work at, anyway)...and besides, that specific note is about something that happened in the past, and has been covered already (on this site, even).

    Of course, I appreciate your work. There are often things that you write about here that I would otherwise have missed. But I think you can leave out the previous article mentions; at least, you can shorten them to something along the lines of "Things are still rocky with [so-and-so a driver], as you might already know (but if you don't, check out the archive <linky>)", right?

    /rant end
    /topic on

    Anyway, nice to know that Cayman is catching up. Hopefully it'll be in good shape when I finally get my laptop. ^.^

  6. #6

    Default 3D acceleration also available

    It looks like initial cayman 3D acceleration was also pushed.

    Updated Ubuntu packages are available on my graphics driver PPA.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    30

    Thumbs up GNOME Shell usable :)

    At last! I can finally use GNOME Shell on my 6950. Prior to this, I had a choice between slowness & texture corruption using the proprietary drivers, reasonable performance but lots of rendering issues with llvmpipe, or dropping down to GNOME 3's non-composited fallback session when attempting to use Gallium3D. I'm now using the 2.6.39 kernel on Gentoo, with media-libs/mesa-9999, x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-9999 and x11-libs/libdrm-9999 from the X11 overlay, and it's working well.

    It does sound like the fan's spinning quite hard, though it's difficult to tell with the stock 6950 being a fairly quiet card to start with. I haven't tried any 3D games, but GNOME Shell itself, glxgears and fullscreen Flash video all seem to work fine.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    151

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nobu View Post
    Harping on about something like "The open-source driver support for Cayman GPUs had lagged behind the rest of the Radeon HD 6000 series " won't make [paid or] unpaid developers work any faster
    Phoronix has always wanted to go ten times as fast as reality. Take for example "open source parity" on the 8000 series. Yes, they're hoping that on the R8000 series the open source team will at least make it to the starting line at the same time rather than starting five miles behind, but one is still a Olympic gold medal candidate while the other has more than their hands full just to finish. If you're going to hold them to the gold medal standard, I promise you'll see nothing but disappointments.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,341

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mangobrain View Post
    It does sound like the fan's spinning quite hard, though it's difficult to tell with the stock 6950 being a fairly quiet card to start with. I haven't tried any 3D games, but GNOME Shell itself, glxgears and fullscreen Flash video all seem to work fine.
    choose a lower power profile to quiet down your fan. E.g.:
    echo low > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    choose a lower power profile to quiet down your fan. E.g.:
    echo low > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile
    Just tried that a few minutes ago - the drop in noise level was noticeable, so I suppose my guess was correct. It doesn't seem to visibly affect performance for something as lightweight as GNOME Shell.

    I also had a poke around /sys for any temperature readings, and came up empty-handed - is this not supported on Cayman yet, or would I have to enable support for a specific i2c chip? I've never had much luck with hwmon stuff getting readings out of anything other than my CPU. AFAIK I have a bog-standard, reference-design 6950.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •