Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: Catalyst Control Center not working

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Thanks again, it's working now with the script.

    One last thing though, i can't change any anti-aliasing or anisotropic filtering setting on the control panel... they're all grayed out. I do have 3D because i can play all games I've tried so far so it's a bit weird


    regards,
    Carlos

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    @kmolazz

    You must activate the checkbox "Override ... " first before you can use the scrollbar. It's possible that you must run amdcccle as root, because amdcccle makes some changes in /etc/ati/amdpcsdb and /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

    Spooky

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    31

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Spooky View Post
    @kmolazz

    You must activate the checkbox "Override ... " first before you can use the scrollbar. It's possible that you must run amdcccle as root, because amdcccle makes some changes in /etc/ati/amdpcsdb and /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

    Spooky

    The checkbox it self is grayed out... that's what i don't get. I'd also noticed it changes the xorg.conf file as it took out the settings i had introduced to get rid of the "watermark corruption" i was having.. lol, i'll just refrain from using it.

    thanks for your help

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I tried this on fedora fc8 and it didn't work. I get this msg:
    $ LD_PRELOAD=~/libX11.so.6 amdcccle
    amdcccle: cannot connect to X server :0.0

    Any ideas?

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks a lot for the useful hints...I had the same problem here, too...Catalyst Control Center refused to start...it failed with the error mentioned before:

    amdcccle: xcb_xlib.c:50: xcb_xlib_unlock: Zusicherung »c->xlib.lock« nicht erfüllt.
    Abgebrochen

    I'm using Fedora Core 8 (werewolf) and the workaround for suse linux didn't fit for me...so here is what I did:

    -after fiddling around for some time with the libX11 source package which also refused to compile (various errors) I decided to give the following solution a shot:

    -downloaded libX11-1.0.3-8.fc7 RPM for i386 (old release of libX11 for fc7, no xcb support included) from:
    http://hany.sk/~hany/RPM/f-7-i386/li....fc7.i386.html

    -extracted libX11.so.6.2.0 from this package to a location like ~

    -started amdcccle from a shell with:
    LD_PRELOAD=./libX11.so.6.2.0 amdcccle

    got ya!

    So Catalyst Control Center is working now, besides that it is just a piece of f*g crap and should be considered alpha 0.2 ^^

    so far, hope that helps the other fedora users out there...

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    @gbuster: tnx for the link problem solved

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Snake View Post
    Hey, what a clever workaround Tried that, seems to work perfectly.

    For those running Gentoo here is a quick HOWTO:

    1. Determine your currently installed libX11 version:
      $ emerge -pv libX11

    2. Build the same libX11 without xcb support, e.g.:
      $ USE="-xcb" ebuild /usr/portage/x11-libs/libX11/libX11-1.1.2-r1.ebuild install

    3. Copy the "non-xcb" libX11 to some "safe" place, e.g.:
      $ cp /var/tmp/portage/x11-libs/libX11-1.1.2-r1/image/usr/lib64/libX11.so.* ~

    4. Run amdcccle
      $ LD_PRELOAD=~/libX11.so.6 amdcccle


    You may have to adjust the paths as needed, but I think you get the general idea.

    But, this bug should still be fixed for the next version. "Ceterum censeo Carthaginem esse delendam"
    Awesome. I'm using Fedora Core 8, and all I needed to do was link to the library from my old Gentoo stage 4 tarball!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •