Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Solution: 8.42.3 openSUSE 10.3 fgl_glxgears

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    27

    Default

    This still results in a corrupted SO for me. I will just wait for 8.43 which will probably fix this.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    209

    Default

    another solution:
    step
    1. download latest fglrx driver (8.42.3). Remember where you place it.
    2. uninstall your old driver (you can do that via yast->software management), then reboot/restart
    3. openSUSE will automatically boot into init 2 (shell). Login as root, type the password.
    4. go to ur driver directory.
    5. type: 'sh ati-driver-installer-8.42.3-x86.x86_64.run'
    6. type: 'aticonfig --initial' (optional--u don't need this line if u use recent fglrx version)
    7. reboot
    8. see?
    Last edited by t.s.; 11-05-2007 at 10:56 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    209

    Default

    oh, and...
    I have artifact on bottom right screen while using fglrx 8.42.3. Never have this kind of problem with 8.41.7. So, if you want to install 8.42.3, I suggest you to wait for 8.43.

    cheers.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default

    6. type: 'aticonfig --initial'
    if you've installed once the fglrx you don't need this.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by t.s. View Post
    oh, and...
    I have artifact on bottom right screen while using fglrx 8.42.3. Never have this kind of problem with 8.41.7. So, if you want to install 8.42.3, I suggest you to wait for 8.43.

    cheers.

    I solved this by using this in my xorg.conf under the device section:

    Option XAANoOffscreenPixmaps "true"

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    209

    Default

    @chikazuku:
    thanks, i'll try tat later. Right now, I'm trying how good this version with 'composite enabled' (in Section "Extensions" ... EndSection). So far so good after adding these line except responsive time that too slow (refresh rate).

    @givemesugarr:
    yep, forgot to add '(optional)' to point 6---done. thanks.

    next task:
    enabling compiz/compizfusion (kinda lazy to do this)
    Last edited by t.s.; 11-05-2007 at 11:07 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I have it working now too. I stumbled across http://dev.compiz-fusion.org/~cybero...-the-hard-way/ and decided to not use the RPM for once and it worked.

    Are you using xgl or aiglx as your DISPLAYMANAGER_XSERVER ?

    Edit: I spoke too soon. After about 10 minutes the window borders disappear. I read something about this somewhere, lol off to search again.
    Last edited by scotsmist; 11-06-2007 at 03:04 AM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    209

    Default

    tried with 'composite enabled': too slow (and draws artifact/garbage at bottom right of my screen sometimes later---about 1 hours or so). turn it off. Then try 'Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"' and, have the exact problem (garbage at bottom right screen).

    @chikazuku, have another suggestion? It seems don't work for me.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    406

    Default

    'composite enabled' (in Section "Extensions" ... EndSection).
    without this on my board compiz/beryl doesn't work.
    for me to make compix work i had to add these:
    Section "Extensions"
    Option "DAMAGE" "true"
    Option "RENDER" "true"
    Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection
    these are fundamental for desktop acceleration. the only one not really needed is the render, but if you want 3d hw rendering you need to add it. (this should speed up the 3d desktop)

    these are needed in the device section to make the watermak issue disappear:

    Option "HWCursor" "On"
    Option "CapabilitiesEx" "0x00000000"
    Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"
    Option "mtrr" "off"
    Option "no_accel" "no"
    Option "BlockSignalsOnLock" "on"
    Option "KernelModuleParm" "locked-userpages=0"
    Option "UseFastTLS" "0"
    Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
    to make compiz/beryl work i had to put all these options all toghether.
    by the way, compiz is pretty unusable.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    209

    Default

    to make compiz/beryl work i had to put all these options all toghether.
    by the way, compiz is pretty unusable.
    Yeah, I agree..

    and thanks, @givemesugarr, my problem solved with your code.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •