Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: problem with xvideo/tvtime

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default problem with xvideo/tvtime

    hello there,

    i am unable to use tvtime anymore since the 8.41 driver is installed. i have a radeon hd 2600 card with the latest (8.42) fglrx-driver.

    when i try to run tvtime i get this error:

    Code:
    Running tvtime 1.0.2.
    Reading configuration from /etc/tvtime/tvtime.xml
    Reading configuration from /home/bier/.tvtime/tvtime.xml
    xvoutput: No XVIDEO port found which supports YUY2 images.
    
    *** tvtime requires hardware YUY2 overlay support from your video card
    *** driver.  If you are using an older NVIDIA card (TNT2), then
    *** this capability is only available with their binary drivers.
    *** For some ATI cards, this feature may be found in the experimental
    *** GATOS drivers: http://gatos.souceforge.net/
    *** If unsure, please check with your distribution to see if your
    *** X driver supports hardware overlay surfaces.
    xvinfo geves me the following output:

    Code:
    X-Video Extension version 2.2
    screen #0
      Adaptor #0: "ATI Radeon AVIVO Video"
        number of ports: 4
        port base: 131
        operations supported: PutImage 
        supported visuals:
          depth 24, visualID 0x23
          depth 24, visualID 0x24
          depth 24, visualID 0x25
          depth 24, visualID 0x26
          [...]
          depth 24, visualID 0x6e
          depth 24, visualID 0x6f
          depth 24, visualID 0x70
          depth 24, visualID 0x71
          depth 24, visualID 0x72
        number of attributes: 10
          "XV_SET_DEFAULTS" (range 0 to 1)
                  client settable attribute
          "XV_DOUBLE_BUFFER" (range 0 to 1)
                  client settable attribute
                  client gettable attribute (current value is 1)
          "XV_BRIGHTNESS" (range -1000 to 1000)
                  client settable attribute
                  client gettable attribute (current value is 0)
          "XV_CONTRAST" (range -1000 to 1000)
                  client settable attribute
                  client gettable attribute (current value is 0)
          "XV_SATURATION" (range -1000 to 1000)
                  client settable attribute
                  client gettable attribute (current value is 0)
          "XV_COLOR" (range -1000 to 1000)
                  client settable attribute
                  client gettable attribute (current value is 0)
          "XV_HUE" (range -1000 to 1000)
                  client settable attribute
                  client gettable attribute (current value is 0)
          "XV_RED_INTENSITY" (range -1000 to 1000)
                  client settable attribute
                  client gettable attribute (current value is 0)
          "XV_GREEN_INTENSITY" (range -1000 to 1000)
                  client settable attribute
                  client gettable attribute (current value is 0)
          "XV_BLUE_INTENSITY" (range -1000 to 1000)
                  client settable attribute
                  client gettable attribute (current value is 0)
        maximum XvImage size: 4096 x 4096
        Number of image formats: 2
          id: 0x32315659 (YV12)
            guid: 59563132-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
            bits per pixel: 12
            number of planes: 3
            type: YUV (planar)
          id: 0x30323449 (I420)
            guid: 49343230-0000-0010-8000-00aa00389b71
            bits per pixel: 12
            number of planes: 3
            type: YUV (planar)

    so is there any way to get tvtime working again?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    i have exactly the same program

    i think the program putimage close the only slot how can i kick this program?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    I don't think we support YUY2 on the newer chips today and AFAIK tvtime is pretty limited in the output formats in can use. Either tvtime will need to support more outputs or we will need to add support for more inputs in the driver. I think mplayer was the target app for the first video implementation.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stealth View Post
    I am unable to use tvtime anymore since the 8.41 driver is installed. i have a radeon hd 2600 card with the latest (8.42) fglrx-driver.
    I thought 8.41 was the first driver which supported the 2600. Were you using a different card before 8.41 ?

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I thought 8.41 was the first driver which supported the 2600.
    Correct, it was first supported in 8.41.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    24

    Default

    When ATI officially started to clean old code (and old card support) from FGLRX, they've broken the XV implementation (IIRC, 8.27 drivers broke the support and 8.26 had "flawless" playback quality and support). When it has recovered back, there were only two formats, instead of 5+ like before. It causes more problems than just tv-time.

    For example, kaffeine and any player runs on xine-lib cannot play WMV videos and some MPEG files. Xine backend cannot use "fast transforms" to play HD level mkv files. (It was running with 4% CPU load before!) etc, etc.

    Long story short: ATI just made an initial implementation and never added the missing formats back.

    Clarification before reply: XV core is improving over time of course but, color formats aren't.

    Edit: Added clarification before reply part
    Last edited by Silent Storm; 02-09-2008 at 08:21 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I don't think we support YUY2 on the newer chips today and AFAIK tvtime is pretty limited in the output formats in can use. Either tvtime will need to support more outputs or we will need to add support for more inputs in the driver. I think mplayer was the target app for the first video implementation.
    I'm using the 8.1 driver and mplayer is the only video player that works right anymore. VLC plain won't work with video, xine play video, but no longer renders subtitles. I guess this is probably why.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I thought 8.41 was the first driver which supported the 2600. Were you using a different card before 8.41 ?
    yes, i had an older X600 card before... tvtime worked very well with that card and the older drivers.

    using mplayer to watch tv via dvb-s (and vdr) is really ugly compaired to tvtime. i don't know why this is, but the quality of the image is much better with tvtime.

    anyway, it would really be great to see tvtime working again...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    Ahh, that makes sense. The X600 had the old-style overlay with hardware support for a number of colour formats, while X1xxx, HD2xxx and 690 have the AVIVO overlay which has higher quality potential but requires specific shader code for each new colour format.

  10. #10

    Default

    ATI DRI Drivers before 7.11 never worked on my x1950pro on PCLinOS. Although I get great acceleration so I can use compiz-fusion eye-candy, I can't use TVTime, and MPlayer either flickers when using overlay, or lags when using XV or GL. So I turn-off the compiz window-manager and use Kwin, the overlay stops flickering and xv goes from 100% CPU to under 50%. Overlay never takes over 10%, buts its no good if it flickers.

    I'm seeing progress anyways.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •