Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 92

Thread: Gigabyte's ASPM Motherboard Fix: Use Windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,620

    Default Gigabyte's ASPM Motherboard Fix: Use Windows

    Phoronix: Gigabyte's ASPM Motherboard Fix: Use Windows

    If you have an affected motherboard to the ASPM power regression in the Linux kernel and it's from Gigabyte, don't expect a BIOS update from them to correct the ASPM semantics in the BIOS. Gigabyte recommends you just use Microsoft Windows...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTAwMjg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    i do have a gigabyte mainboard right now but to read this about gigabyte makes me sad--

    maybe i really buy supermicro or tyan next time.

    i do have a Tyan mainboard in the past but the nvidia nfoce 3600 pro makes many trouble with the graphic driver and the bios do have tons of bugs like the 128gb first boot pardition bug if you have a pardition greater than 128gb it fails to start grub. also the bios do have a bug that force me to use ext3 or raiserfs it does not start with ext4...

    but maybe the modern mainboards with amd chipset are much better than that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,788

    Default

    These are Microsoft technologies anyway. No wonder they don't work.

    But please feel free to wake me up next time a Linux vendor innovates a new Desktop hardware technology itself. I'm pretty sure Red Hat and Canonical have done much in this regard.

    /sarcasm off

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    These are Microsoft technologies anyway. No wonder they don't work.

    But please feel free to wake me up next time a Linux vendor innovates a new Desktop hardware technology itself. I'm pretty sure Red Hat and Canonical have done much in this regard.

    /sarcasm off
    What scares the hell out of me is how many motherboard manufacturers are going to use Windows 8 digital signing and not give an option to disable it in their bios rendering trying to install any other OS useless. I can actually see venders doing this in the near future as a way of avoiding the "hassling linux bug issues".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phoronix View Post
    Phoronix: Gigabyte's ASPM Motherboard Fix: Use Windows

    ...Gigabyte recommends you just use Microsoft Windows...
    And now 40+ Million Linux users recommend you buy boards from manufacturers other than Gigabyte.

    Sad - I've got a couple of Gigabyte boards and never had problems with them, but see if I recommend their new boards to anyone now.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    772

    Default

    The only difference displayed here between Gigabyte and most other PC hardware vendors is that someone at Gigabyte actually admitted that they call it a day once the product works with Windows.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ex-Cyber View Post
    The only difference displayed here between Gigabyte and most other PC hardware vendors is that someone at Gigabyte actually admitted that they call it a day once the product works with Windows.
    Most motherboard manufacturers only list Windows as supported operating systems in their product descriptions and manuals. If it works in another OS, it's a bonus but rarely supported.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    879

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ex-Cyber View Post
    The only difference displayed here between Gigabyte and most other PC hardware vendors is that someone at Gigabyte actually admitted that they call it a day once the product works with Windows.
    +1

    unless something like them doing the secureboot lockdown nonsense happens, I'm sticking with Gigabyte thank you very much

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    87

    Default My experience

    I have an Intel motherboard (DP55WG) where ASPM is also disabled by Linux and I re-enable. They do fairly frequent BIOS updates and seem to be on the ball so I wonder what the problem is. Most frustrating is that the BIOS hangs at POST if my Android phone is connected via USB. Needless to say their support blamed my phone (I wonder which bit of the USB says how to hang the BIOS) and had the ingenious solution of unplugging the phone before turning on power. Who would have thought of that? I did say they need to tell the BIOS writers, but support were just doing their usual having 10 answers and ensuring that all enquiries get one of them rather than addressing the issue.

    I also have a Lenovo T61 laptop which had a BIOS issue with Linux (you got a flood of unexpected interrupts). They did fix that in a BIOS update and hence will be getting all my future business not to mention several people I recommend to.

    I greatly appreciate Gigabyte's response. The usual problem is too wide a selection of motherboards so it is nice to eliminate several manufacturers in one go.
    Last edited by grotgrot; 10-18-2011 at 09:57 PM.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grotgrot View Post
    I have an Intel motherboard (DP55WG) where ASPM is also disabled by Linux and I re-enable. They do fairly frequent BIOS updates and seem to be on the ball so I wonder what the problem is. Most frustrating is that the BIOS hangs at POST if my Android phone is connected via USB. Needless to say their support blamed my phone (I wonder which bit of the USB says how to hang the BIOS) and had the ingenious solution of unplugging the phone before turning on power. Who would have thought of that? I did say they need to tell the BIOS writers, but support were just doing their usual having 10 answers and ensuring that all enquiries get one of them rather than addressing the issue.

    I also have a Lenovo T61 laptop which had a BIOS issue with Linux (you got a flood of unexpected interrupts). They did fix that in a BIOS update and hence will be getting all my future business not to mention several people I recommend to.

    I greatly appreciate Gigabyte's response. The usual problem is too wide a selection of motherboards so it is nice to eliminate several manufacturers in one go.
    The same thing happened with my Lenovo T520. I called their technical support and they told me to use Windows.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •