Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 92

Thread: Gigabyte's ASPM Motherboard Fix: Use Windows

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    Gigabyte is just another pro-microsoftie crappy vendor, that joins the glorius parade of idiots among with Logitech, Adobe et al.

    How do you spot a crappy vendor? This easy:

    If you ever have a problem with hardware, and you mention in any location that you use Linux (or BSD etc, no matter) you immediately get response:
    Sorry, we currently do not support Linux.

    The problem does not have even to originate from Linux or OS itself, at all. You immediately will get this response.
    I think it is actually a global case and it is written on their note tables and discussed on meeting.

    This is work of microsoft, to protect one of columns of its monopoly.

    1) Hardware vendors/drivers.
    2) Preinstallations via OEM illegal agreements(either 100% microsoft preinstall or pay full price) to achieve MASS distribution.
    3) Control over major protocols and standarts.


    So, what can you do about it?

    Simple!

    Should you happen to purchase ANY hardware in RETAIL store, just shout out loud that microsoft, logitech, gigabyte et al are for retards


    BTW, do you know how to update/reflash your BIOS EEPROM when using Gigabytes?
    Right, their BIOS updates are packed in .exe binaries! Only Gigabyte does this!
    Luckily, that are not some custom installers, but just 7z self extracting archives! So p7zip can extract it directly, like it were .7z!

    If you happen to run on these instructions in Gigabyte forum, how to extract this BIOS .exe in Linux, do know I wrote it for them(Gigabyte).



    Buy Asrock / ASUS if you need consumer motherboard.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    Uh, forgot to add. Regarding other motherboard vendors. Unlike Gigabyte, that states their motherboards are for Windows only, other state that their motherboard may be compatible with non-windows systems, but they can not guarantee that. And if you happen to have a problem, they will listen it up and if its their fault they will correct it, regardless of OS you use. That was my experience with ASUS.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    206

    Default

    Good to know ... I won't buy gigabyte boards anymore.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,530

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazycheese View Post
    Uh, forgot to add. Regarding other motherboard vendors. Unlike Gigabyte, that states their motherboards are for Windows only, other state that their motherboard may be compatible with non-windows systems, but they can not guarantee that. And if you happen to have a problem, they will listen it up and if its their fault they will correct it, regardless of OS you use. That was my experience with ASUS.
    Only if you know how to reach the right people at Asus which is basically completely skip regional support and call Asus HQ directly.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,530

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lucx View Post
    I'am stil getting bios updates for my 4 years old mb a7n8x-e from asus.
    Last BIOS update for that board was in 2009.

    ftp://ftp.asus.com.tw/pub/ASUS/mb/so...orce2/a7n8x-e/

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    19

    Default Gygabyte and Phoronix just increased my workload

    My boss just called me after reading this, to make me change an order of 25 gygabyte boards we had. Now I'll have to choose one from Tyan and test it for another month.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Russe, Bulgaria
    Posts
    484

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tundra View Post
    My boss just called me after reading this, to make me change an order of 25 gygabyte boards we had. Now I'll have to choose one from Tyan and test it for another month.
    Your boss did the right thing!

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    271

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tundra View Post
    My boss just called me after reading this, to make me change an order of 25 gygabyte boards we had. Now I'll have to choose one from Tyan and test it for another month.
    That makes no sense. Why did you choose Gigabyte in the first place when they had made no claims of Linux support to start with? And why does publicly stating what was already implicitly stated change anything?

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Honestly we shouldn't be surprised, is there really any motherboard company that supports any other than windows...
    But indeed it does take it another level that gigabyte and others wont even fix something that is out of spec.

    I think the only way for something to happen would be to have pressure come from another large company. I think it would take Amd and Intel going through company channels to make sure things like this are fixed. Amd and Intel have more visible support for linux and one would assume they would want their products to work with it correctly.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    55

    Thumbs down not a fan of Tyan aka Mitac

    having been an buyer of Tyan (aka Mitac) motherboards when the first of the Intel San Clemente chipset came out, I would be reluctant to buy Tyan again.

    the motherboards had various problems which were denied for quite a few months, and Tyan's technical support (a single person to cover most of Europe as far as I could tell) was hardly available to help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •