Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 92

Thread: Gigabyte's ASPM Motherboard Fix: Use Windows

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    427

    Default

    I have a Biostar (GeForce 6100 am2 (v1.x)) motherboard. I don't know whether it supports ASPM or not, but I wouldn't hope for them to release a BIOS that did. It works alright, but it has it's quirks (suspend isn't quite what you'd expect, and it displays a warning at every POST if you upclock anywhere beyond the base 200Mhz...whatever that means; actual processor speed doesn't seem to change).

    They haven't updated the BIOS for this board since December 2007, and it was a beta version. Of course, the 3.x revision of the motherboard has a more recent (not beta) BIOS, but I dare not try to use it on my board....

    Lessons learned: do (actual) research before you buy, and don't buy cheep. >_<

  2. #72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DanL View Post
    Bullsh!t. Ask them when you can expect the check for a Windows license.
    They told me that their technicians tested hardware with Windows, so if I sent my laptop to them to repair a Linux issue, they would send it back saying it worked. I assume that Microsoft's Windows license check is done against whatever disk they use for factory testing.
    Last edited by Shining Arcanine; 10-20-2011 at 12:26 PM.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI, USA
    Posts
    865

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnc View Post
    What motherboards are used in Apple's Mac products? Maybe they would be more suitable for linux builds?
    My 13" Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro (Purchased fall of 2009) works in Ubuntu without any major issues. Sleep/Hibernate, LCD brightness, keyboard backlight, wireless, bluetooth and other stuff all works fine. ASPM is properly supported on the motherboard.

    I'm using the Nvidia blob with my GF9400M, but in the future I may give nouveau a chance (once they have power management sorted out).

    Not sure what they use in their desktop models, but the laptops work fine.

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    193

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nobu View Post
    I have a Biostar (GeForce 6100 am2 (v1.x)) motherboard. I don't know whether it supports ASPM or not, but I wouldn't hope for them to release a BIOS that did. It works alright, but it has it's quirks (suspend isn't quite what you'd expect, and it displays a warning at every POST if you upclock anywhere beyond the base 200Mhz...whatever that means; actual processor speed doesn't seem to change).

    They haven't updated the BIOS for this board since December 2007, and it was a beta version. Of course, the 3.x revision of the motherboard has a more recent (not beta) BIOS, but I dare not try to use it on my board....

    Lessons learned: do (actual) research before you buy, and don't buy cheep. >_<
    On a 2.6.38 or newer kernel "dmesg | grep ASPM"

    And it's not a huge issue if it's a desktop, though it is a bigger issue on laptops or in data centers.

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    427

    Default

    Code:
    [    0.142522] pci 0000:02:00.0: disabling ASPM on pre-1.1 PCIe device.  You can enable it with 'pcie_aspm=force'
    [    0.143080] ACPI _OSC control for PCIe not granted, disabling ASPM
    ...must be time to upgrade. I guess I'll send the mobo to the coreboot people and graphics card to the nouveau people when I do. ^_^

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    229

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    It's not really realistic for vendors to go back and validate old hardware for a feature which was "unsupported" at the time. It's a waste of resources since there's no new revenue attached to it.
    New revenue might depend on potential customer's previous experiences with them, so that's not entirely true...

  7. #77
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nobu View Post
    Code:
    [    0.142522] pci 0000:02:00.0: disabling ASPM on pre-1.1 PCIe device.  You can enable it with 'pcie_aspm=force'
    [    0.143080] ACPI _OSC control for PCIe not granted, disabling ASPM
    ...must be time to upgrade. I guess I'll send the mobo to the coreboot people and graphics card to the nouveau people when I do. ^_^
    This means your BIOS is OK (or your kernel is not 2.6.38+) but the device itself indicates not to support ASPM. This is usually correct; enabling ASPM on those devices often causes a lot of trouble.
    This message also appears on pre-2.6.38 kernels, going back to at least 2.6.27.

    By the way, you can lookup in lspci which device is "02:00.0".
    Last edited by AlbertP; 10-23-2011 at 05:45 AM.

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Connecticut,USA
    Posts
    956

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlbertP View Post
    This means your BIOS is OK (or your kernel is not 2.6.38+) but the device itself indicates not to support ASPM. This is usually correct; enabling ASPM on those devices often causes a lot of trouble.
    This message also appears on pre-2.6.38 kernels, going back to at least 2.6.27.

    By the way, you can lookup in lspci which device is "02:00.0".

    Oh so it may be the DEVICE itself that doesn't support ASPM, rather than the mobo. In my opinion it is usually PCIe video cards have issues with ASPM, as putting such devices to sleep could very well leave you with a black screen when it is awoken.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    ASPM did not exist in the first PCIe specification: power management had to be sorted out by the drivers of those devices. PCIe 1.1 introduced this problematic feature. So there are a lot of cards out which do not yet have any ASPM built-in, and this is properly detected unless you use pcie_aspm=force.

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    427

    Default

    I'm using version 2.6.40.6, on Fedora 15. pci device 02:00.0 is my video card--I had verified that a while back, but didn't think it was important enough to edit my post.

    Probably unrelated: my monitor (almost?) always fails to enter suspend mode when I suspend my desktop--sometimes a vt is visible, sometimes the plymouth splash, and sometimes just black. Nothing unusual is ever logged (in kernel.log or xorg.0.log). I tried asking on IRC about it one or two times, but I usually have to leave before I get a reply and my connection is shaky.

    btw, what is the "_OSC control"?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •