Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: The First Development Release For GNOME 3.4

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,686

    Default The First Development Release For GNOME 3.4

    Phoronix: The First Development Release For GNOME 3.4

    The first development release for GNOME 3.4, which is marked as GNOME 3.3.1 in the 3.3 unstable series, is now available for testing...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTAwNzA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1,615

    Default

    All they need now is to make it work like GNOME 2.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Bernardino, CA
    Posts
    234

    Default

    How about more options in the control panel.. Hopefully aim for feature parity with Gnome 2 in terms of settings. I mean c'mon, why is there no screensaver in Gnome 3??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gururise View Post
    How about more options in the control panel.. Hopefully aim for feature parity with Gnome 2 in terms of settings. I mean c'mon, why is there no screensaver in Gnome 3??
    Screensavers belong to the 90's. Everything that is not there was removed by purpose. Read Free Software UI, section "The Question of Preferences" to understand.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    178

    Default

    "Support for keyboard window switching during drag-and-drop"

    Yay!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    132

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    945

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 0xCAFE View Post
    Screensavers belong to the 90's. Everything that is not there was removed by purpose. Read Free Software UI, section "The Question of Preferences" to understand.
    That's all fine in general, but some configuration options are still needed. E.g. monitor refresh rate configuration. Without that option I have to open a terminal and type "xrandr -r 85" every time I reboot my pc because it always reverts to 60Hz which makes my eyes bleed. Wow, that sure is user firendly! Not everybody is using LCDs and besides that having one extra combo box in there wouldn't ruin the clean interface anyway.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,683

    Default

    Maybe you should get rid of your CRT... Ati disliked my modelines too i usually used for 1152x864@100, but then my CRT died and the problem was solved somehow

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by devius View Post
    That's all fine in general, but some configuration options are still needed. E.g. monitor refresh rate configuration. Without that option I have to open a terminal and type "xrandr -r 85" every time I reboot my pc because it always reverts to 60Hz which makes my eyes bleed. Wow, that sure is user firendly! Not everybody is using LCDs and besides that having one extra combo box in there wouldn't ruin the clean interface anyway.
    Monitor refresh rate configuration is not only useful for CRT. I have a LCD monitor and a LCD television attached to my PC. I usually set the TV refresh rate to 24Hz because it's better for watching movies. So I hate it to that they've removed this option.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •