Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: MPEG4 Part 2 In Gallium3D VDPAU State Tracker

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,348

    Default MPEG4 Part 2 In Gallium3D VDPAU State Tracker

    Phoronix: MPEG4 Part 2 In Gallium3D VDPAU State Tracker

    A few patches have been published today for the VDPAU state tracker in Mesa's Gallium3D...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTAwODc

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    35

    Default Seeing is believing

    Quote Originally Posted by phoronix View Post
    However, before getting too excited
    You can say that again.

    Quote Originally Posted by phoronix View Post
    MPEG1 and MPEG2 are the other formats currently supported by Gallium3D's VDPAU state tracker.
    Last time I checked (yesterday) MPEG2 was not working on my r600 hw. It only gave me green stripes and a hanging X server in full screen.

    I will only believe it if I see it :-)

    Taking away my sarcasm, I have to say that it's great that finally there are people dealing with this, and of course I'm grateful for that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    138

    Default

    Verygood.
    I have problem igp 785g (green stripes), but work with amd radeon 5450.
    :-) thanks for works

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    101

    Default

    It would be nice if you could give us an idea of what it will take to get support for this in, say, the r600g driver. I am under the impression that the ideal for Gallium3D is that you don't need any driver-side work in order to support things like this. Of course, given the relative youth of Gallium3D, one could imagine that this MPEG4 Part 2 support might exercise the drivers in ways they haven't been exercised before, necessitating new code and bugfixes. I would appreciate it if somebody could list at least some of those necessary features and bugfixes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Useless.

    My 8 years old machine can decode high definition DivX/XviD/MPEG4p2 on the CPU without breaking a sweat; doing this on a modern machine is a joke resource-wise.

    If someone's doing this for fun - fair enough, but it is a waste of time and resources which could have been allocated elsewhere. (*cough* H264 decoding *cough*)
    Last edited by kiputnik; 10-31-2011 at 08:36 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    138

    Default

    hello, nice to know how powerful it would be the video card to decode mpeg4 and how shaders are used, same with h264(future)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,064

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kiputnik View Post
    Useless.

    My 8 years old machine can decode high definition DivX/XviD/MPEG4p2 on the CPU without breaking a sweat; doing this on a modern machine is a joke resource-wise.

    If someone's doing this for fun - fair enough, but it is a waste of time and resources which could have been allocated elsewhere. (*cough* H264 decoding *cough*)
    YOU are useless.
    In order to perform mpeg4p2 decoding, you need to implement A, B, C, D, E, F, and G.
    In order to perform H264 decoding, you need to implement A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, and L.
    So you start by implementing A->G, which has to be done ANYWAY, test it, and then do the rest.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kiputnik View Post
    Useless.

    My 8 years old machine can decode high definition DivX/XviD/MPEG4p2 on the CPU without breaking a sweat; doing this on a modern machine is a joke resource-wise.

    If someone's doing this for fun - fair enough, but it is a waste of time and resources which could have been allocated elsewhere. (*cough* H264 decoding *cough*)
    But there is support for VC1 to, wich your old machine cant decode.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •