Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 43

Thread: Will Mesa/Gallium3D Work With The Open-Source Doom 3?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisXY View Post
    Yes, it looks somewhat basic but I don't have good idea how it should look. Some side-by-side screenshots would be nice.

    But the point was: The article said you somehow need to use the lowest quality settings on the open source radeon drivers and I don't see that.
    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/gra...s_3.html#sect0

    Not jaw-dropping by today's standards, but you can see some bump mapping missing. I imagine that's easier to see on enemies then walls. Also check out the framerates on those video cards.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rural Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,017

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darkbasic View Post
    There are TONS of bottleneck, not just one...
    I never implied there was just one, just commenting on my own experiences. Just goes to show, feature-wise the free drivers are almost there, they just need some more optimizations. Compare that to how we were in 2007 before the ball started rolling.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    42

    Default

    From my experience, Doom 3 in Wine runs much better than the native version (getting around 40 fps on Radeon HD 4550), probably because Wine does some optimizations while native binary is unoptimized and pretty much old now. In fact, I never really got the sound working right when running Doom 3 natively on Linux, the sound just disappears after some time. Never saw that happening in Doom 3 in Wine.

    I was also surprised that Half-life 2 is actually playable and fluent on max settings using Mesa 7.12-git and Radeon driver.

    By the way, framerates tend to be up to around 30% higher when running the game in single-user mode using xgame script, probably because there's no DE overhead that way.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamish Wilson View Post
    Compare that to how we were in 2007 before the ball started rolling.
    Hell, tried running Doom 3 using Mesa 7.8 some year and a half ago. Completely unplayable, unlike now. Things are roling really fast lately here.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    4,988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bug77 View Post
    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/gra...s_3.html#sect0

    Not jaw-dropping by today's standards, but you can see some bump mapping missing. I imagine that's easier to see on enemies then walls. Also check out the framerates on those video cards.
    Ouch, the low screenshots there look like the ultra ones here.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rural Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,017

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reloaded211 View Post
    From my experience, Doom 3 in Wine runs much better than the native version (getting around 40 fps on Radeon HD 4550), probably because Wine does some optimizations while native binary is unoptimized and pretty much old now. In fact, I never really got the sound working right when running Doom 3 natively on Linux, the sound just disappears after some time. Never saw that happening in Doom 3 in Wine.
    What resolution were you playing at? Those FPS actually sound about right when considering my native performance on my Radeon HD 4670 with Fedora 16 and XFCE was about the same as my brothers Radeon HD 3650 with Fedora 15 and LXDE. Maybe your settings were simply different?

    Quote Originally Posted by Reloaded211 View Post
    By the way, framerates tend to be up to around 30% higher when running the game in single-user mode using xgame script, probably because there's no DE overhead that way.
    I have never really encountered frame rate boosts with xgamer, though it is quite useful in isolating games from the rest of your system. Still, now you make me want to mess with it again. What exactly do you mean by single-user mode with it?

    Quote Originally Posted by Reloaded211 View Post
    Hell, tried running Doom 3 using Mesa 7.8 some year and a half ago. Completely unplayable, unlike now. Things are roling really fast lately here.
    Indeed, I first noticed Doom 3 working properly in about early 2010. I was running Fedora 12 and had the mesa-dri-drivers-experimental installed at the time and at about early February on a whim I started a Doom 3 binary I had installed on a different drive and to my surprise it launched and I was able to load a level. There was some graphical problems with the lightmaps and the performance was nothing to write home about, but it ran.

    With the release of Fedora 13 everything did work, except for the shadowing, which has been working fine since Fedora 15 and the switch to Gallium 3D. Ever since then it has just been more and more optimizations. Lets hope we see some more soon.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reloaded211 View Post
    From my experience, Doom 3 in Wine runs much better than the native version (getting around 40 fps on Radeon HD 4550), probably because Wine does some optimizations while native binary is unoptimized and pretty much old now. In fact, I never really got the sound working right when running Doom 3 natively on Linux, the sound just disappears after some time. Never saw that happening in Doom 3 in Wine.
    this is a know openGL2.1 catalyst bug wine runs faster because wine translate it into openGL3.x

    most people are bitten by this bug if they try to play HON.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rural Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,017

    Default

    I am pretty sure he is using the free Gallium 3D drivers rather than Catalyst Qaridarium. Why else would he be posting in this thread?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Russe, Bulgaria
    Posts
    500

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamish Wilson View Post
    I am pretty sure he is using the free Gallium 3D drivers rather than Catalyst Qaridarium. Why else would he be posting in this thread?
    Well, there are many extensions from OGL3, in current mesa.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,607

    Default

    @Qaridarium

    thats complete bullshit. wine matches opengl 1:1 and does not transform opengl 2 to 3. but the sound system is really outdated in the old doom3 native binary, should be much better when the source code can be fixed. maybe even a recompile against new libs is enough. i also did crossplattform tests some years ago and i remember that you have got verify aa/af settings ingame via screenshots against the win version. i did several speed tests and linux was often a tiny bit faster because parts of those where not active. you should be sure that you compare the same visuals not something you can benchmark but is rendered differently.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •