Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Welcoming The ioDoom3 Project

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,836

    Default Welcoming The ioDoom3 Project

    Phoronix: Welcoming The ioDoom3 Project

    Following the release of the Doom 3 source-code last night by id Software under the GNU GPLv3, an "ioDoom3" project has already been formed out of this id Tech 4 engine code...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTAxOTA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI, USA
    Posts
    874

    Default

    I grabbed a copy last night on my macbook and attempted to build it in XCode 4.x after updating the project from XCode 3.2... Other than the fact that Lion doesn't support PowerPC anymore (breaks the build), and a library that isn't stripping right, it seems to build ok. There are about 800-1000 deprecation warnings thrown by llvm/g++ in the process.

    I then attempted to build on my x64 Ubuntu 11.10 PVR, and that failed as well. The build currently only works on a 32-bit machine, or a machine with a working multi-lib development environment, which I evidently don't have (since I always build native 64-bit stuff).

    I haven't tried building in Windows yet, but they do provide a Visual Studio 2010 project as well. I've got a copy of VS laying around, but I can't say that I'll have time to install it just for a test like this.

    If anyone is looking to join in the ioDoom3 effort, fixing the build for 64-bit and newer Macs, and cleaning up the large number of deprecation warnings might be a good place to start.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    396

    Default

    awesome, cant wait to see what will come out of this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    895

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Veerappan View Post
    I haven't tried building in Windows yet, but they do provide a Visual Studio 2010 project as well. I've got a copy of VS laying around, but I can't say that I'll have time to install it just for a test like this.
    Good Luck! The solution has solution folders (not supported with express editions of visual studio) and depends on MFC (not available without a Visual Studio license).

    Riot claims to have gotten it to build: http://icculus.org/~riot/doom3_vcpp_express.txt but he's missing an include to comutil.h

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI, USA
    Posts
    874

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yogi_berra View Post
    Good Luck! The solution has solution folders (not supported with express editions of visual studio) and depends on MFC (not available without a Visual Studio license).

    Riot claims to have gotten it to build: http://icculus.org/~riot/doom3_vcpp_express.txt but he's missing an include to comutil.h
    I've got a VS10 Pro license, so this shouldn't be an issue. The missing include could be a problem, though. Hopefully that's an easy fix.

  6. #6

    Default Dungeon Doom

    I would like to see the dungeon doom package put together with these sources and transformed into a stand alone game.

    http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/Dungeon_Doom

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    597

    Default

    As I have boxed versions of Doom3, Doom3 ROE and Quake 4, I *really* hope iodoom will be capable of playing the game content, giving me a chance to re-enjoy Doom3 (As weird as it sounds, I *really* liked it) - this time on a decent 27" display coupled with good video card (GTX470) and 5.1 sound.

    Granted, when I play, I'll have to lock my kids (and wife) so they won't have nightmares - but a man got to do, what a man got to do!

    - Gilboa
    Last edited by gilboa; 11-24-2011 at 03:00 AM.
    DEV: Intel S2600C0, 2xE52658V2, 32GB, 4x2TB, GTX780, F20/x86_64, Dell U2711.
    SRV: Intel S5520SC, 2xX5680, 36GB, 4x2TB, GTX550, F20/x86_64, Dell U2412..
    BACK: Tyan Tempest i5400XT, 2xE5335, 8GB, 3x1.5TB, 9800GTX, F20/x86-64.
    LAP: ASUS N56VJ, i7-3630QM, 16GB, 1TB, 635M, F20/x86_64.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    104

    Default

    I am sure the code will work for Doom 3 and Doom 3 expansion but I dont think it includes the Quake 4 code (although it would be GREAT if that was also opened up)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,112

    Default

    Was the expansion called d3xp? The files under that dir seem slightly newer than under game.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Was the expansion called d3xp? The files under that dir seem slightly newer than under game.
    I would indeed assume that "d3xp" is short for "Doom 3 expansion pack".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •