Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ubuntu 8.04 Adopts RadeonHD 1.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,539

    Default Ubuntu 8.04 Adopts RadeonHD 1.0

    Phoronix: Ubuntu 8.04 Adopts RadeonHD 1.0

    Back on Thursday, November 29 the RadeonHD 1.0 driver was released and not even a week later it can now be found inside the Ubuntu 8.04 "Universe" repository. Previously the Ubuntu repository had RadeonHD 0.0.4.

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NjIzNg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Yes xD
    Now, when the dev's doing radeonhd gets to 2D acceleration, and gets it in working order I'll be a uber happy camper.

    3D can wait.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Ubuntu getting a bit slow is it?

    Mandriva had it uploaded to the repos in 2 days.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,610

    Default

    Well basically the message is not really important, when you know how this driver has come to ubuntu. The package is 1:1 identical with the Debian sid one. Even I added it before to my repository - when sid was still as 0.0.4... Why on earth is it important that hardy UNIVERSE added a new 1:1 backport? Until it is in main it will not be preinstalled. Next Kanotix will use it, uninstallable testimages are available via PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque NM USA
    Posts
    347

    Default

    I had something very strange happen with Hardy. The original installation worked fine with the vesa driver, but when I installed radeonhd from repository (synaptic) and then checked to see if I needed to change etc/X11/xorg.conf...there was no /etc/X11/xorg.conf. The file simply wasn't there.

    I copied the one over from my Gutsy installation which unsurprizingly didn't work. dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg did, but radeonhd wasn't in the list of available drivers so I selected vesa and finished.

    That came up OK, installed readeonhd again from repository (synaptic), changed vesa to radeonhd in xorg.conf and now all is well and happy. Xorg.log shows the radeonhd driver is loaded.

    So, no real problem, but I thought not having an xorg.conf file at all was a bit strange, especially since gdm started and the desktop looked and worked fine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    122

    Default

    You don't need a configuration file anymore since Xserver 1.3 or so.

    If you still need a configuration file, it's probably better to use a "minimal" one. Take a look at my configuration, for example:

    Code:
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Failsafe Device"
    	Driver		"ati"
    	Option		"EnablePageFlip"
    	Option		"DynamicClocks"
    	Option		"GARTSize" "64"
    	Option		"AccelMethod" "EXA"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Device		"Failsafe Device"
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Virtual 2048 768
    	#	Virtual 2824 1024
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier	"Default Layout"
    	Screen		"Default Screen"
    EndSection
    Last edited by greg; 12-05-2007 at 05:04 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Albuquerque NM USA
    Posts
    347

    Default

    Ok....ah yes.

    The xorg.conf generated by dpgk-reconfigure was pretty minimal, come to think of it.

    Couple of questions. If there is no default xorg.conf, is there another way to tell the xserver to use a different video driver....i.e., is there a "better" way to tell it to use radeonhd or fglrx instead of vesa?

    If xorg.conf is now really more like a x-options.conf, do you need to have a fully formed file or can it just contain the sections with desired changes?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •